KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Harbor Freight Tools

Engaged Employer

Harbor Freight Tools

Add a Review

Harbor Freight Tools Employee Reviews about "part time"

Updated Oct 24, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 150 of over 2,206 reviews

3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Harbor Freight Tools CEO Eric Smidt
Eric Smidt
1,152 Ratings

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Harbor Freight Tools and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "part time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    a decent place to work for college students

    Jul 22, 2020 - Sales Associate in Madison, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    flexible. Good pay. Pto for part time. Easy

    Cons

    management can potentially be bad. Upper management is over baring. Inconsistent expectations

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Director of People and Culture

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are always happy to hear from our hardworking associates! Harbor Freight is committed to continuous improvement at all levels, including management. If you have any concerns, we encourage you to reach out to your HR Partner. We greatly appreciate your continued hard work in Madison, GA!

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great opportunities and awesome work environment.

    Jun 28, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Porterville, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work life balance and quarterly raises! Really good benefits packages and many opportunities to sprint up the chain. This company has been an amazing blessing and it’s growing FAST! Great place where work doesn’t feel like work. I love this company. And they ACTUALLY value you as an asset to the business from part time associates to management.

    Cons

    Employee discount could be better

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Director of People and Culture

    Thanks for sharing your positive feedback with us. We are always happy to hear from our hardworking associates! We’re glad to hear you are enjoying your benefits and we agree that we value our associates above all else. Thank you for your continued hard work in Porterville, CA!

  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Accessing paycheck stubs

    Feb 24, 2020 - Sales Associate in Largo, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I cannot think of any pros working for this company.

    Cons

    They hired me for part time and without asking me they scheduled me for 14 straight days, 10 hours a day. I came into work one day having the flu and they were going to make me work. Is that even legal? I have been trying to get access to my paycheck stubs, but since I no longer work there I cannot get on the site. Does anyone know how I can get copies of my 3 paycheck stubs? I have been trying for a month now, this is ridiculous. Also, the management staff gets to take hour long lunch breaks while their employees get a half hour. The management expects their employees to work twice as hard as them. I have no respect to work under management that does not work as hard as myself.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Director of People and Culture

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We greatly appreciate all of your hard work and are happy to help you get copies of your paychecks. You can reach out to payroll@harborfreight.com to do this, and we’ve also shared your comments with the appropriate HR associates. Our associates can see their schedules two weeks in advance and will receive overtime for any shift exceeding 8 hours. By law, hourly associates are required to take a 30-minute lunch break depending on the hours worked and they also accrue sick hours from the day they start. If an associate ever needs additional support, they can reach out to their HR Partner or the HR Hotline. Thanks again for sharing, and we wish you the best in your career path!

  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Decent

    Dec 12, 2019 - Sales Associate in Huntington Park, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I made a lot of cool friends worked at harbor for 2 years felt the need to find a new path or career to focus with. The store was understaffed so part-time was like full-time. Managers were understanding but then forget your needs and focus on there needs. Good benefits whether part-time for full time paid time off and paid sick time.

    Cons

    They would forget your schedule. Costumers in my area were extremely rude. Collecting phone number and emails and getting told a NO on your face. Look heavily down if you don’t sell memberships or get name collection.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Director of People and Culture

    Thanks for taking the time to share your detailed feedback with us. Please know that Harbor Freight Tools is dedicated to continuously improving our stores at all levels, and your feedback helps us do that. We greatly appreciate all your hard work in Huntington Park, and we wish you the best on your career journey!

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great job

    Nov 23, 2019 - Sales Supervisor in Norristown, PA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, high pay rate compared to competitors, great hands on experience, awesome team environment, paid Thanksgiving and Christmas even though the store is closed, and AMAZING benefits. Company prefers to promote from within; You can start as a part time associate and work your way to management in just a year or two. Also corporate provides an employee relief fund for those who hit hard times and/or emergencies.

    Cons

    While not often, you can close one day and open the next. You will work at least one day a weekend, which is par for the course in retail, customers can be tougher then most.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Director of People and Culture

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and for trusting Harbor Freight Tools with your career for over 5 years. We greatly appreciate all that you do and your feedback helps us to continuously improve. We hope you enjoy the holidays and look forward to watching you grow with the team!

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    I love my career with HFtools

    Nov 10, 2019 - Logistics Supervisor in Columbus, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Greatest challenge I have ever experienced in My career history. I look forward to each moment that I am there supporting our Management team.

    Cons

    I would like our part time associates to work a minimum of 20 hrs a week. I obsess in building a team of high- achievers, optimizing talent that is proficient in the execution of all operational processes. Constantly ensuring a rewarding experience to every customer that I serve. All efforts to deliver a rewarding experience for part time associates seem to go in vein as each individually express their disappointment concerning the lack of hours they each receive...

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Director of People and Culture

    Thanks for taking the time to share your detailed feedback with us. We greatly appreciate your continued hard work and are happy to hear you're enjoying working at Harbor Freight Tools. We value our associates' suggestions and ideas, and we'll consider your comments in our efforts of continuously improving our stores. We also encourage you to reach out to your Store Manager or District Manager to share your thoughts. Thanks again for your feedback and for continuing to deliver value to our hardworking customers. We look forward to watching you grow with the team!

  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Overall decent company with a few flaws

    Nov 4, 2019 - Logistics Associate in Amherst, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management is easy-going and easy to work with Paid time off for part-time employees

    Cons

    4am start most days Short 4 hour shifts often Low pay starting at 12/hr

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Director of People and Culture

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate your continued hard work and suggestions in helping us make Harbor Freight Tools a great place to work. Thanks for all that you do! We look forward to watching you grow with us.

  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Assist in store costumers and phone customers

    Sep 10, 2019 - Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    PTO, Commission on ITCs and Extended Warranties, Employee Benefit Website

    Cons

    Not many besides recent decrease in store income causing part-time employee's to receive less then part-time hours

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Director of People and Culture

    Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. Harbor Freight Tools recently implemented a new time-keeping system, which guarantees all part-time associates a minimum of 12 hours per week. We encourage you to reach out to your Store Manager to further discuss your concerns. We appreciate your continued hard work and look forward to watching you grow with the team!

  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    It's a retail job.

    Aug 19, 2019 - Senior Sales Representative in Leesburg, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can earn bonus pay for selling replacement plans and memberships.

    Cons

    More than likely start off as part time and hard to advance internally.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Director of People and Culture

    Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We greatly appreciate it when our associates take the time to share their suggestions with us. Harbor Freight Tools is dedicated to training and promoting internally, and we encourage you to speak to your Store Manager about growth opportunities. Thank you for your continued hard work, and we look forward to watching you grow with the team!

  10. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Know what you are getting yourself into

    Sep 2, 2019 - Sales Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company offers paid time off and a matching 401k plan to full and part time employees. Can earn additional money by selling warranties and memberships. I enjoy talking with the customers and don't mind doing the job aside from the repetition.

    Cons

    Long hours on your feet without breaks while other employees are allowed to socialize and leave his/her work station. Expected to sell sell sell even though we were told our only responsibility is to offer certain products. Have to repeat the same 10 word phrase to every customer.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Harbor Freight Tools Response

    Director of People and Culture

    Thanks for taking the time to share your detailed feedback with us. Please know that we greatly value your continued hard work and encourage you to discuss your concerns with your HR Partner or the HR Hotline at (800) 693-8377. You can also reach out to myself directly if you feel comfortable at culture@harborfreight.com. Thank you again for sharing and we look forward to watching you grow with the team.

Viewing 31 - 40 of 150 Reviews

Popular Careers with Harbor Freight Tools Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews