Harbor Industries Reviews | Glassdoor

Harbor Industries Reviews

Updated January 29, 2019
12 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Walter Miranda
2 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Harbor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Grand Haven, MI
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Grand Haven, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Industries full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Harbor is a forward-thinking company that is growing quickly, which is an exciting thing to be apart of! The company has a family-like atmosphere and is always improving. Great people to work with and lots of room to grow in the company.

    Cons

    Growing company - processes are still being improved but that means you can help make an impact.

    Harbor Industries Response

    Dec 14, 2018 – HR Recruitment Generalist

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear that you have had a great experience working for Harbor Industries! Our goal is to be continually improving, so your feedback is crucial to that... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Innovative and fast-paced retail design company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Grand Haven, MI
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Grand Haven, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Industries full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Harbor is a fast-paced company in a demanding industry. It's not just a design agency, and it's not just a manufacturing plant. I really enjoy working for Harbor because I get to see a project through from design ideation to in-store installation. I've also been given many training opportunities through Harbor - they value their employees and want to see them succeed.

    Cons

    Working for Harbor is like working for a successful and quickly growing startup - you have to be ready to adapt and take on new tasks. If you don't have a team player attitude and you're not willing to work late to see a project through to completion every once in a while, this isn't the company for you.

    Harbor Industries Response

    Jan 31, 2019 – HR Recruitment Generalist

    Thank you so much for your feedback! We are happy to hear that enjoy working for Harbor Industries. We aim to create a great working environment and we will continue to make sure our employees feel... More

  3. "Harbor Industries"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Grand Haven, MI
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Grand Haven, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Harbor Industries full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The interview and hiring process with Harbor went well. Their team kept me up to date about the steps in the process the entire time, and I felt welcomed from the second that I accepted the offer. The environment is exciting and fast-paced, but still is employee focused. There is a lot of growth happening at Harbor, which makes it a great time to be a part of the company.

    Cons

    None so far!

    Harbor Industries Response

    Dec 14, 2018 – HR Recruitment Generalist

    Thank you for your feedback! We are thrilled to hear that you love working for Harbor Industries. We will continue to support our employees and make our organization a great place to work!


  4. "Why are people still leaving if it's so great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Four day work week is good

    Cons

    The people still aren't being treated well.

    Harbor Industries Response

    Dec 14, 2018 – HR Recruitment Generalist

    Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry to hear you had this experience while employed with us. We have recently undergone many changes and we are in the process of improving various facets of... More


  5. "Harbor is under an entirely new management team which has rebuilt the culture based on trust and integrity."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harbor Industries full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Harbor's organizational character is built on trust and transparency. The company has a clear vision for growth and recognizes it's people and entrepreneurial spirit are it's greatest assets.

    Cons

    The company is experiencing explosive growth and transformation. Not a place for those looking for complacency.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to lead by example and push Critical Thinking.

    Harbor Industries Response

    Dec 14, 2018 – HR Recruitment Generalist

    Thank you for your feedback! We are thrilled to hear that you love working for Harbor Industries. We will continue to support our employees and leadership to ensure we make our organization a great... More


  6. "Don't go down with a sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Many Roles in Charlevoix, MI
    Former Employee - Many Roles in Charlevoix, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Harbor Industries full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Used to be a good company that took care of employees.

    Cons

    Little to no chance of advancement. No value of skills or knowledge. Chronic layoffs and then crazy overtime which shows a complete lack of planning.

    Advice to Management

    Pretty much all management there needs to be gone. Management by intimidation went out with the 1950's and so should they.

    Harbor Industries Response

    Sep 6, 2018 – President

    This is an old review... Harbor was purchased from previous regime 3.5 years ago and become an amazing company.


  7. "Process Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Engineer in Charlevoix, MI
    Current Employee - Process Engineer in Charlevoix, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Harbor Industries full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Management is open minded, willing to listen to new ideas.

    Cons

    Weak salary for experience & skills.

    Harbor Industries Response

    Dec 14, 2018 – HR Recruitment Generalist

    Thank you for your honest feedback! We are proud of our entrepreneurial spirit, and are happy you appreciate that quality in our management team, as well. We are doing our best here at Harbor... More

  8. "Toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A in Charlevoix, MI
    Former Employee - N/A in Charlevoix, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Harbor Industries full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    4 day work week, the friendships made over the years. knowing that more and more people are leaving and moving on to much better things where they are respected and appreciated by their employer.

    Cons

    management is very toxic and destructive. No raises in 6 years. No bonuses in 6 years. They have taken away everything from employees. Women are let go all the time. hardly any women work there anymore. mostly men. supervisors lie and backstab employees and make up lies to get rid of people.

    Advice to Management

    Karma. What goes around comes around. you will not succeed as a company until all the toxic people on the top are gone. Admit to employees you are having financial issues instead of lying and starting rumors. you all need to take a lesson on how to treat people and don't think you cant lose your job, because anywhere else you would of been gone a long time ago.

    Harbor Industries Response

    Sep 6, 2018 – President

    This is an old review... Harbor was purchased from old regime 3.5 years ago and has become an amazing organization.


  9. "This is why unions were created!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Several in Charlevoix, MI
    Former Employee - Several in Charlevoix, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Harbor Industries full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Only some of the people that actually work on the production floor... People have actually woke up and after years of working there, have left for better employment..

    Cons

    Very toxic work environment. not treated well at all. treated as you don't matter. Raises, bonuses, benefits cut, nothing given in over 5 years.

    Advice to Management

    Start taking care of your people. changes need to be made in management otherwise failure will be knocking on the door. Morale is Horrible. Noone dares to ask employees how they are doing. It's terrible!

    Harbor Industries Response

    Sep 6, 2018 – President

    This is an old review !


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Used to be a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Grand Haven, MI
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Grand Haven, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Harbor Industries full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    I liked the people I worked with, mostly good people who care about others and doing a good job. Lots of community involvment.

    Cons

    Upper management stopped caring about the workers, and only cares for them self and the bottom line. No raises, cuts in pay, reductions to benefits, no incentive to work hard.

    Advice to Management

    start taking care of your workers, both factory and office.

    Harbor Industries Response

    Sep 6, 2018 – President

    This is an old review prior to purchase and reinvention !