Hargreaves Lansdown Reviews

Updated Aug 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Hargreaves Lansdown Chief Executive Officer  Christopher Hill (no image)
Christopher Hill
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great working environment with an amazing proposition and focus on service(in 11 reviews)

  • "Nice office, dress down Fridays, people up for going pub after work(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior management think they are above everyone else, lack of decent career opportunities, basically just a call hotline for pensions(in 6 reviews)

  • "No career progression, apart from going from a junior call centre operative to a senior one(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Training Team"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Investment Helpdesk Consultant in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hargreaves Lansdown full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very welcoming staff with such a high focus on individual wellbeing. The training team have been great at making everyone feel welcome and enabling their employers to gain understanding of their role despite working from home

    Cons

    There are no cons as of yet!

    Hargreaves Lansdown Response

    August 8, 2020

    Thank you for leaving this review and it is great to hear that you have had such a positive experience joining us as it is something we have been working on a lot internally. There is a lot to learn on the Helpdesk in order to help you be best placed to talk to our clients and the training is critical. Lovely to read that we have made you feel welcome and we have prioritised wellbeing. Good luck with the role , thanks again. Karen Cooke - Senior HR Business Partner

  2. "Great Team and Location"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hargreaves Lansdown full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    • People • Modern Office Located by the Harbourside • Client Focused • Great Culture and Values • Good Pension Scheme

    Cons

    As with all financial companies, there are a lot of processes and restrictions.

    Hargreaves Lansdown Response

    August 8, 2020

    Hello and thank you for leaving us a review. We are really keen that we constantly look to improve and ensure we are providing a great place to work. A lot of work has been done internally to create a culture where we can all bring our whole selves to work which I believe is going well and I agree the people are a positive. Thanks again! Karen Karen Cooke - Senior HR Business Partner


  3. "Good"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Front Office in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hargreaves Lansdown full-time

    Pros

    Great people, good financial incentives

    Cons

    Bad management, they basically just promote whoever has been there longest

    Hargreaves Lansdown Response

    August 8, 2020

    Hello and thanks for leaving us a review. I am sorry to hear that you didn't have the best experience. We have worked hard to create fair promotion processes across HL. Good luck with your next role, all the best. Karen Cooke - Senior HR Business Partner

  4. "Great environment to work in"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hargreaves Lansdown full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Supportive environment - Friendly teams, people are very sociable and approachable - Exciting direction - Good opportunities to get involved in other projects - Huge amount of client focus

    Cons

    - Workloads are high - there is always a lot to do

    Continue reading

    Hargreaves Lansdown Response

    August 8, 2020

    Hi and thank you for taking the time to leave a review as a fellow colleague. I agree we have high standards and as a result of being successful always lots to do, but we are doing well and I am pleased to note that you see there are opportunities to get involved in other pieces of work outside of your role. Hope things continue to go well for you and thanks again. Karen Karen Cooke - Senior HR Business Partner

  5. COVID-19

    "Excellent company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hargreaves Lansdown full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have always enjoyed working here but I think the companies reaction to the COVID-19 pandemic and the lengths they go to to keep staff safe are fantastic. Always ahead of the curve

    Cons

    Website for clients is good but systems for staff need more work.

  6. "Enjoyed working here for 12 years and counting"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Manager in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hargreaves Lansdown full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There is a helpful and supportive attitude to getting things done, everyone is friendly and professional, the office is a nice place to work, lots of flexible benefit options, good range of extra-curricular activities.

    Cons

    Sometimes I get the feeling too many people and meetings creep into a project, which means things can take longer to get done than they might.

    Continue reading
  7. COVID-19

    "Professional team and friendly culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Lead in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hargreaves Lansdown full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Despite joining HL during the coronavirus lockdown (and working from home) I have found the whole HL family to be very professional, friendly and helpful - they are extremely proud of this company and their acheivements. It is a fast moving and dynamic place to work, but with a supportive and people-focused culture.

    Cons

    Nothing at this stage .

  8. "Excellent"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hargreaves Lansdown full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, People, culture, Salary, Flexibility, Fun

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind yet

    Hargreaves Lansdown Response

    May 28, 2020HR Business Partner

    Thank you for your positive feedback! So good to see ‘benefits’ on your list of ‘pros’. Our Reward team have worked really hard to make sure that our benefits package matches up with what our colleagues value and need. And I think many people would agree with you - the people and the culture do make working at HL so much more enjoyable and fun. Best of luck with your continued career at HL. Kirsty

  9. "Apprenticeship"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Apprentice Front End Developer in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hargreaves Lansdown full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment, take care of their employees, I started in an apprentice role, and was given the support and time I needed to learn the skills for the job. I have since progressed to the next level up, and intend to remain at the company for the foreseeable future. The apprenticeship scheme is good for anyone looking to make a career change, not just for people new to the workforce.

    Cons

    no obvious cons spring to mind

    Hargreaves Lansdown Response

    May 28, 2020HR Business Partner

    Congratulations on finishing your Apprenticeship! Thank you for your feedback and for highlighting that an Apprenticeship can be the right opportunity for so many, whether starting out in the workplace, or looking for a career change like yourself. We really value our Early Careers and Apprentices, and one of our priorities is to ensure we can continue offering these opportunities. So it’s great to hear that the scheme worked well for you, and allowed you to re-train in a profession you enjoy. Good luck in the next level of your role – onwards and upwards! Kirsty

  10. "Great"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hargreaves Lansdown full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic people, nice offices, good atmosphere

    Cons

    Lots of menial tasks which should be automated

    Continue reading

    Hargreaves Lansdown Response

    May 28, 2020HR Business Partner

    Hello, So good to hear that you enjoyed the HL office and getting to know the fantastic people during your time with us. We hope you’ve moved on to an equally exciting opportunity elsewhere! Thanks for your feedback on ways that we can improve the experience for our colleagues. There is some work to do around the automation of tasks. We’ll continue to keep this a priority of ours. And you’re right, there are lots of pathways you can follow to progress at HL, like internal moves, promotion and external qualifications. We’re working to increase awareness of these, so that our colleagues can more easily reach their potential. We’ll take your feedback on board and consider how we can continue to promote these opportunities. Kirsty

Found 108 reviews