Harkins Theatres Reviews | Glassdoor

Harkins Theatres Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 264 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Daniel E Harkins
127 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Team Leader is like babysitting the team members(in 16 reviews)

  • "Low pay for expectations and workload(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great first job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member in Avondale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harkins Theatres part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Free movie, free popcorn for your break, did I mention free movies?! great teamwork environment!

    Cons

    Children spilling their popcorn every where!!

    Harkins Theatres2019-03-31
  2. "Great Env."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Concierge in San Marcos, TX

    I worked at Harkins Theatres part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great Environment and staff. We also have great benefits, such as free movies and half-price food.

    Cons

    High turnover rate, but overall great experience

    Harkins Theatres2019-04-11
  3. "Great Environment to work in if you dont mind Teenage drama"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in Phoenix, AZ

    I have been working at Harkins Theatres part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    -Nice management -Flexible Hours -Easy going work not hard

    Cons

    -Younger employees with drama

    Advice to Management

    Give more hours in the summer instead of hiring new employees

    Harkins Theatres2019-04-05
  4. "It was fun at one point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harkins Theatres full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Free movies, rare screenings, benefits, 401K

    Cons

    Assisted Managers are overlooked by both corporate and upper management. Many of the contests only reward the Seniors and General Managers, no gratitude is provided to the assistant managers. Hours are regularly cut and the mandatory 30 minute meal periods is just another way for corporate to cut hours. In our position, we are viewed as "professionals." However, our hours are never guaranteed/set during the offseason,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start focusing on ways to bring unity to the teams. The stress placed on management negatively impacts employee morale. While it is understanding mistakes happen, a manager should never feel insignificant because of their mistakes.

    Harkins Theatres2019-04-15
  5. "Harkins Theatres"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Usher in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harkins Theatres part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere, most other employees are kind and will go beyond to help out. Flexible work hours.

    Cons

    Management is not understanding. They are more like supervisors than managers and will gripe at everything you do as it is not up to their impossible standards.

    Advice to Management

    Hire a development agent to understand how to truly manage a business. Become more team driven and acknowledge employee frustrations.

    Harkins Theatres2019-03-29
  6. "Good for college and high school jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harkins Theatres part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, Free movies, Easy work, Friendly coworkers

    Cons

    Standing all shift, Greasy foods

    Advice to Management

    The culture could be a bit less intense.

    Harkins Theatres2019-03-26
  7. "Great for the busy college student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Harkins Theatres part-time

    Pros

    Scheduling for school and academic events is fairly easy

    Cons

    Can be sent home early

    Harkins Theatres2019-03-11
  8. "Had a great time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harkins Theatres part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Free Movies Lots of friends to be made Fast work

    Cons

    Popcorn grease Not many hours Always have to upsale

    Advice to Management

    None, enjoyed my management

    Harkins Theatres2019-02-25
  9. "Amazing First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harkins Theatres part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Met lots of friends, saw tons of movies, and gained valuable work experience.

    Cons

    Can get monotonous, but that's not different from most jobs.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Harkins Theatres2019-02-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Credibility of management does not exists"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Arvada, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harkins Theatres full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers, free movies, free popcorn

    Cons

    Hired for full time but was constantly scheduled for 30hours or less. Management does not value their employees. If you are scheduled for hours they are consistently cut because they overstaff intentionality to send staff home before promised hours are worked. There is no training due in part to fact that managers need training.

    Advice to Management

    Be impeccable with your word, staff are relying on their employment and guaranteed hours to provide for their families. This is our livelihood, not a game.

    Harkins Theatres2019-01-07
Found 264 reviews