Harmony Public Schools Reviews | Glassdoor

Harmony Public Schools Reviews

Updated Jun 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 188 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Harmony Public Schools CEO Fatih Ay
Fatih Ay
12 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Preference is regularly given to Turkish male teachers with problem teachers shuffled around to other campuses rather than being fired(in 16 reviews)

  • "Employer (Harmony) calls your current employer for a reference(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Educator in Katy, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harmony Public Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You are given free reign of your classes, no micromanaging. If it works, you are not bothered. Performance bonuses- not common in Texas schools

    Cons

    Can be a bit hectic (a bit disorganized from the top down)

    Advice to Management

    I love working at Harmony and plan on enrolling both of my daughters when they turn five.

    Harmony Public Schools2019-04-18
  2. "Great opportunity to excel in your area."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - TSDS/PEIMS Coordinator in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harmony Public Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly and safe environment for employees.

    Cons

    General management could be better.

    Harmony Public Schools2019-06-20
  3. "a great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - High School Math Teacher 

      I have been working at Harmony Public Schools full-time

      Pros

      It is an awesome place to work.

      Cons

      There is nothing that comes to my mind right now.

      Harmony Public Schools2019-06-12
    • "Be prepared to work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Teacher 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Harmony Public Schools full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Pretty clear about expectations what must be done.

      Cons

      Must not forget about any policies or directives.

      Harmony Public Schools2019-06-24
    • "Very little room for growth if not a teacher"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Lunch Clerk 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Harmony Public Schools full-time

      Pros

      Great atmosphere. Staff is great and supportive when needed to work together. Admin is great but I hear things are very different at other campuses.

      Cons

      If you are not in education, there is no room for growth. This position entitles so much more than being just a clerk and the position is deevaluated based on just its title. They should be considered Cafeteria Managers. This department isnt taken seriously and not enough attention is given to it.

      Advice to Management

      Change the title of your lunch clerks, if can help them prepare for other careers with the skills aquired. Child nutrition is extremely important especially when its government funded. It needs more attention.

      Harmony Public Schools2019-05-02
    • Helpful (2)

      "Positive experience for me"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - ESL Teacher in Houston, TX
      Recommends

      I have been working at Harmony Public Schools full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      I attended a HPS job fair and subsequently interviewed at three of their campuses. Like most jobs, so much of your job satisfaction depends on your boss and colleagues. I fell into a wonderful situation with great staff and admin. Work day is 7:30-4:15 except Wednesdays which are staff meetings after work. Typical additional duties include arrival and dismissal as well as lunch/recess. We can leave after dismissal on...

      Show More

      Cons

      The usual issues that arise with discipline problems. Certain students that I believe should be expelled, are not, and the staff is frustrated with dealing with these students. Also, there have been a few issues with certain staff that could be handled better.

      Advice to Management

      When only particular staff are not complying with rules or performing their jobs as expected, don't send out a blanket email to all staff but directly address the person(s) that need the reminder or reprimand.

      Harmony Public Schools2019-04-21
    • "Unorganized"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Teacher, Secondary School in Houston, TX
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Harmony Public Schools full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      I really liked all the people I worked with. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Best coworkers I ever had.

      Cons

      Discipline was a real struggle

      Advice to Management

      Back up your teachers, discipline issues should be addressed immediately, get rid of DPS.

      Harmony Public Schools2019-04-16
    • "Friendly working enviroment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Information Technology/Security Specialist in Houston, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Harmony Public Schools full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      More support, Friendly work environment

      Cons

      Not professional communication at all. Cluster IT do not have any knowledge about IT.

      Advice to Management

      Please do skill test before hiring instead of hiring people just because they are from Turkic countries

      Harmony Public Schools2019-03-27
    • "Part time IT Intern along with full time school"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - IT Intern in Grand Prairie, TX

      I worked at Harmony Public Schools part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexible schedule Honest and helpful management style Competitive hourly wage for interns

      Cons

      Sometimes you may be asked to do jobs that weren't explicitly hired to do

      Harmony Public Schools2019-02-27
    • "Understaffed but Easy Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Substitute Teacher 

      I worked at Harmony Public Schools full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Easy to find jobs each day Pay was average for the area

      Cons

      Schools are extremely understaffed There is no effective system for student discipline, so behavior is a major problem

      Harmony Public Schools2019-02-26
    Found 188 reviews