Harmony Public Schools Reviews | Glassdoor

Harmony Public Schools Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 185 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Harmony Public Schools CEO Fatih Ay
Fatih Ay
12 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harmony Public Schools for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity for hands on experience in the classroom Teachers are very supportive

    Cons

    Not applicable at the moment

    Harmony Public Schools2018-06-06

    Harmony Public Schools Response

    June 11, 2018Director of Talent

    Thank you for taking the time to offer your perspective.

  2. "Very little room for growth if not a teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lunch Clerk 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Harmony Public Schools full-time

    Pros

    Great atmosphere. Staff is great and supportive when needed to work together. Admin is great but I hear things are very different at other campuses.

    Cons

    If you are not in education, there is no room for growth. This position entitles so much more than being just a clerk and the position is deevaluated based on just its title. They should be considered Cafeteria Managers. This department isnt taken seriously and not enough attention is given to it.

    Advice to Management

    Change the title of your lunch clerks, if can help them prepare for other careers with the skills aquired. Child nutrition is extremely important especially when its government funded. It needs more attention.

    Harmony Public Schools2019-05-02
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Positive experience for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - ESL Teacher in Houston, TX
    Recommends

    I have been working at Harmony Public Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I attended a HPS job fair and subsequently interviewed at three of their campuses. Like most jobs, so much of your job satisfaction depends on your boss and colleagues. I fell into a wonderful situation with great staff and admin. Work day is 7:30-4:15 except Wednesdays which are staff meetings after work. Typical additional duties include arrival and dismissal as well as lunch/recess. We can leave after dismissal on...

    Show More

    Cons

    The usual issues that arise with discipline problems. Certain students that I believe should be expelled, are not, and the staff is frustrated with dealing with these students. Also, there have been a few issues with certain staff that could be handled better.

    Advice to Management

    When only particular staff are not complying with rules or performing their jobs as expected, don't send out a blanket email to all staff but directly address the person(s) that need the reminder or reprimand.

    Harmony Public Schools2019-04-21
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Educator in Katy, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harmony Public Schools full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    You are given free reign of your classes, no micromanaging. If it works, you are not bothered. Performance bonuses- not common in Texas schools

    Cons

    Can be a bit hectic (a bit disorganized from the top down)

    Advice to Management

    I love working at Harmony and plan on enrolling both of my daughters when they turn five.

    Harmony Public Schools2019-04-18
  5. "Unorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher, Secondary School in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Harmony Public Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I really liked all the people I worked with. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Best coworkers I ever had.

    Cons

    Discipline was a real struggle

    Advice to Management

    Back up your teachers, discipline issues should be addressed immediately, get rid of DPS.

    Harmony Public Schools2019-04-16
  6. "Friendly working enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Technology/Security Specialist in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harmony Public Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    More support, Friendly work environment

    Cons

    Not professional communication at all. Cluster IT do not have any knowledge about IT.

    Advice to Management

    Please do skill test before hiring instead of hiring people just because they are from Turkic countries

    Harmony Public Schools2019-03-27
  7. "Part time IT Intern along with full time school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Intern in Grand Prairie, TX

    I worked at Harmony Public Schools part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule Honest and helpful management style Competitive hourly wage for interns

    Cons

    Sometimes you may be asked to do jobs that weren't explicitly hired to do

    Harmony Public Schools2019-02-27
  8. "Understaffed but Easy Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Substitute Teacher 

    I worked at Harmony Public Schools full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Easy to find jobs each day Pay was average for the area

    Cons

    Schools are extremely understaffed There is no effective system for student discipline, so behavior is a major problem

    Harmony Public Schools2019-02-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "It was a good experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Principal in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harmony Public Schools full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Open to innovation, easy to customize, easy to communicate, positive school environment.

    Cons

    Difficulty to promote, blurred lines on separation of powers, heavy foreign affect.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff. Not via surveys only. Data can tell only so much. Talk to them one by one.

    Harmony Public Schools2019-02-06
  10. "If you can't get into an ISD, try Harmony!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 

    I worked at Harmony Public Schools full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Salary wages comparable to ISDs. They accept little to no teaching experience and alternative certification.

    Cons

    Must drive off your campus to other campuses for trainings (up to 2 hours away). Extremely large class sizes. Student data driven only, teaching to tests.

    Harmony Public Schools2019-01-23
Found 185 reviews