Harnham Reviews in London, England | Glassdoor

Harnham London Reviews

Updated January 19, 2017
17 reviews

Filter

Filter

London, England (UK)

4.4
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Simon Clarke
15 Ratings

17 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. Helpful (8)

    "No complaints here!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harnham full-time

    Pros

    I joined Harnham straight from university, without any sales experience. I knew from my trial day that this was the company I could really see myself working in for a long time and I haven't looked back since. The company is really transparent regarding growth, pay, structure and what they expect from you, so I know exactly where my career is going and what I need to do to get to the next level. Personal development is really an area I wanted to work on, so I personally don't mind playing back calls, managers shadowing and learning from my mistakes. It's just a stepping stone to get to the management position I want.

    The culture at Harnham is really what sets it apart from the competition. It is very team orientated and everyone helps each other out. I knew the hours would be long so finding a company with a strong emphasis on culture was vital for me. Of all the companies I interviewed with, Harnham was by far the friendliest. Lastly commuting to Wimbledon is fine! Trains leave every couple of minutes from Waterloo & it's a 15 minutes journey going against the traffic - ideal!!

    Cons

    The hours can be long, however I really value being able to leave at 5.30pm two nights a week, it really breaks up the week. Recruitment is challenging and there are a great bunch of recruiters here so expect to be challenged...but highly rewarded!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing & make sure the companies culture doesn't dilute with the growth plans!

    Harnham Response

    Jan 20, 2017 – Head of Talent Management

    Thanks so much for taking the time to review your experiences at Harnham. We're really glad you're enjoying it. Please let us know if you have any more feedback (good or bad), we're especially keen ... More


  2. Helpful (2)

    "Don't fall into the same trap I did!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Harnham full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Average social side, lots of young and like minded individuals, regular socials, a definiteive drinking culture, free fruit, one very clean male toilet for the whole office.

    Cons

    The management team are unrealistic.
    12 hour days, ridiculous "targets", key accounts are handed to the boys club, the company is ran by a team of favourites, if you don't identify with them, you'll not progress. The office is in zone 3, don't believe the lies on the website about it being close to London "the place for all the best graduate jobs etc." , Wimbledon is a leafy suburb, and this is not a job worthy of a graduate. You'll be shown through "training", where they will essentially "teach" you how to cold call 500 (give or take) people per week. A well trained space monkey could manage this. Don't believe the lies about data and analytics, harnham, the ludicrous salary expectations, many people you call have never heard of Harnham. As if it's not bad enough hearing your own voice recorded, managers will play back your calls and laugh at you, make out that you are stupid for not knowing the ins and outs of analytics, if you did, then you'd be a data scientist, not an irritating cold caller. Coercing people to take
    a job through a barrage of emails and phone calls is not a way to make a living. Make sure you know what recruitment is before you fall into this trap. You'll be earning 20k and desperately looking for a way out. But hey, at least you're in London!

    Advice to Management

    Remove the propaganda from the website. Treat all your staff as equals. Stop the exaggerated lies.

    Harnham Response

    Jan 20, 2017 – Head of Talent Management

    Many thanks for leaving a review and firstly, apologies that things didn’t work out for you at Harnham. We’ve always put a high emphasis on training & are really proud that a lot of the leaders of ... More


  3. Helpful (9)

    "Fun work environment, well rewarded"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harnham full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good senior team, great rewards for effort and achievement, achievable promotions and fun environment - lots of young professionals. Also a buoyant market for a business with strong growth plans. You have to work hard but if you are persistent and don't mind putting the time in it is a great place to be.

    Cons

    Had a tendency to get frustrating when things weren't going well, but that is maybe the nature of being in recruitment. Also I felt there was a slight over importance put on call stats and KPIs but this may have changed since my time there.

    Advice to Management

    Carry on the good work.

    Harnham Response

    Jan 20, 2017 – Head of Talent Management

    Many thanks for your honest review regarding your experiences at Harnham. We're sorry that things didn't work out for you here but we're really glad you enjoyed your time with us. Best of luck for ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Culture is shocking"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Harnham full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    None really - kpi driven environment and a culture of elitism and exclusion. Office isn't great and hard to get to from Waterloo.

    Cons

    Desk based role where your calls are monitored and played back to the team if you mess up. Hard to make target as key accounts are all allocated to managers favourites.

    Advice to Management

    Be a bit more open to suggestions - free fruit isn't a replacement for career progression.

    Harnham Response

    Jan 20, 2017 – Head of Talent Management

    Many thanks for your review. Having just had our annual Launch Day in London, every single team chose culture as the one thing they wouldn’t change at Harnham so I’m sorry that as a business we ... More


  6. Helpful (8)

    "The best recruitment role you could find"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Harnham full-time

    Pros

    The great thing about Harnham is that whilst everyone is competitive and wants to be top of the charts, it is still a supportive and team focused environment.
    If you don't want to win competitions and be the best, then it isn't the place for you, but equally if you want to screw over other people to achieve success for yourself then this definitely isn't the place for you.

    The incentives on offer for achievement are good - not just the commission scheme, but the trips to New York and Miami and opportunities to eat in some of London's best restaurants.

    Cons

    The cons are the same as any recruitment job. If you want to be successful and earn lots of money you need to work hard and work long hours.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the culture as it is as the company grows, as well as keeping the opportunity to work closely with Simon and the leadership team.

    Harnham Response

    Jan 20, 2017 – Head of Talent Management

    Thanks so much for your review! We hope you're still enjoying the environment at Harnham, please keep passing on your feedback & letting us know what we can do to improve. We're really keen to keep ... More


  7. Helpful (9)

    "Great place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I have only been working at Harnham for 8 months, but as soon as I joined I realised it was the company for me. From the extensive high quality training to the culture within the office, of course it is target driven but it is also great fun because of the emphasis on teamwork as well as individual performance. The socials are always great fun and whilst you work long hours, you are always encouraged to leave on time twice a week!

    Cons

    I guess it is the generic con to recruitment in that it does involve long hours, however you are rewarded for this in bringing home the monies.


  8. Helpful (7)

    "Such a good place to work!!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I’ve only been working at Harnham a few months but as soon as I joined you could really see that the culture here is great! Harnham really value individual success but there is also a lot of emphasise on team work which really made Harnham really stand out to me. The team is full of exceptionally high preforming individuals/teams and as soon as I started I could tell that Harnham really value each of its employees (this is illustrated in the high retention!). There is also an impressive training programme from as soon as you start & the management team are there to help you along the way! Finally not forgetting the company has a really great social aspect to it!

    Cons

    You need to be very resilient as there is a lot of rejection!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing things the way you are!


  9. Helpful (7)

    "Harnham is the place to be!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Managing Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harnham full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I joined Harnham from another agency. It was a great move for me as the working atmosphere was both fun and professional. I was given ample support to take on a new area and as I proved myself my role grew and developed just the way I wanted it.

    Cons

    Its hard work at Harnham! We are the industry leader for a reason but those interested in joining need to know that you get out what you put in.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the culture and ambition the way it is.

    Harnham Response

    Aug 13, 2015 – Head of Talent Management

    Many thanks for your review! Please keep us informed if you think we can do any more to support you as you progress up the career ladder at Harnham.


  10. Helpful (5)

    "If you're going to recruit, do it at Harnham!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harnham full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -excellent training and support - recruitment is hard and at Harnham you get help with absolutely anything and everything to give you the best possible chance of being successful
    -really good working environment - everyone is super nice and there are loads of socials and days out
    - Money money money! - if you are in recruitment you are probably doing it for the money and if you are going to make money anywhere its going to be at Harnham- as long as you are willing to work hard they will do everything to help you make it
    -They really are market leaders - candidates love them , clients want to work with them - this makes your job so much easier

    Cons

    -As great as Harnham is, it's still recruitment and recruitment is tough! Long hours, hard work and the dreaded cold calling!
    -You are expected to work late 3 days a week, time management is everything because there is a lot to do
    -Everyday your checked on everything you have done the day before, so there is no such things as slacking off because you will get found out, if you can't handle the pressure of being targeted and being expected to preform, this job is not for you

    Advice to Management

    keep doing what you are doing because you have a very happy workforce!

    Harnham Response

    Aug 13, 2015 – Head of Talent Management

    Thanks very much for the positive but balanced comments! You’re right that recruitment is a tough sector to work in but we genuinely always try to make it as rewarding and enjoyable as possible ... More


  11. Helpful (7)

    "Been working here for just over a year, eyeing up my first promotion and really enjoying it"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    *Great company culture, very supportive atmosphere - not the salesy type of people you'd sometimes expect in a recruitment company, great social life
    *Great commission structure - I'm a year out of university and already earning a fair bit more than any of my friends with much more earning potential this year
    *Potential for growth - I'm working towards my first promotion 8 months after doing my first deal
    *Great client base, as soon as you start you have the chance to work on some really interesting and high-quality business
    *Very approachable managers and excellent commitment to the training and growth of employees, with feedback encouraged - I can ask for more training or support in a certain area if I feel it would benefit my work
    *Good colleagues - people are very well-rounded and there are plenty of company socials. My and the guys in my team also use each other as a sounding board for work advice too, which helps us keep on track/make certain decisions.

    Cons

    *This is more a point for recruitment in general, but target-driven work can sometimes be stressful, especially in your first few months if you're still finding your feet and find yourself under-performing. You are supported through difficulties though, and if you can stick it out it's extremely rewarding
    *It's not the ideal type of job in general if you hate being scrutinised - stats are broken down to how much work you do every day in order to help you hit your targets



Showing 17 of 28 reviews
Reset Filters