Harrington Memorial Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

Harrington Memorial Hospital Reviews

Updated March 23, 2017
24 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.2
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Ed Moore
14 Ratings

24 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. "Overall great place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harrington Memorial Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Good for family life, very accommodating

    Cons

    Very clicky with the "older" workers


  2. "Loved working at Harrington!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Assistant in Southbridge, MA
    Former Employee - Human Resources Assistant in Southbridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harrington Memorial Hospital full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fair pay
    Great people
    CEO is very personable
    Good leadership team
    Nice cafeteria
    Flexible hours
    Clean
    Committees and additional volunteer opportunities open to all departments
    Leadership team was open to feedback
    Healthcare staff was educated and kind

    Cons

    There were some people here in various departments who would complain about the workplace, but not do anything to improve it which was frustrating to me.


  3. "A jem of an employer - lots of opportunity!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Southbridge, MA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Southbridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harrington Memorial Hospital full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    I've been at Harrington for almost 10 years and worked in 3 different departments. That's what I love about Harrington - there's flexibility and opportunity to move up and try something new. I consistently see co-workers begin in one department and then move up to another department either by their request or because of a promotion. Harrington managers are looking for the best fit and are flexible to let employees go to a different department if that is what the desire is and the fit is good (even if they are a wonderful employee and would like to keep them!). I have had great experiences in every department I've been promoted to and I am grateful for all the opportunities I've been given at Harrington.

    Cons

    Working in healthcare is difficult in general. Harrington is wading through the challenges well while still growing and expanding.

    Advice to Management

    I know many of the Managers are "working Managers" which means they sometimes (or always) get down in the weeds to help out in their department on every level which is great! I think all Managers should do this when they can to stay connected to their employees.

    Harrington Memorial Hospital Response

    Mar 20, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Thanks so much for your response. We appreciate hearing your feedback and we are so proud you have been able to find so many opportunities within our growing system!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Growing system, job pays well"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Therapist in Southbridge, MA
    Current Employee - Therapist in Southbridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harrington Memorial Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Good salaries
    Flexible work schedules
    Productivity bonuses
    Great team

    Cons

    Clinic is offsite from hospital

    Advice to Management

    Need to hire more staff to accommodate growing waitlist.

    Harrington Memorial Hospital Response

    Mar 8, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Thanks for your feedback! We appreciate hearing from you. We are currently looking into increasing staffing to accommodate patient volume.


  6. "They Value Their Employees"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Southbridge, MA
    Current Employee - Manager in Southbridge, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harrington Memorial Hospital full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    This is truly a company that puts their employees first - and they understand FAMILY comes first. This healthcare organization has grown significantly over the past 5 years. Everyone should give it a second look! From an outstanding cancer center to wound care therapy and advanced surgical services like Total Joint replacement, there is good reason to choose Harrington.

    Cons

    As often with the case of non-urban hospitals, one person does the task of 5 or 6. But it's each staff members commitment to patients and each other that make it great.

    Harrington Memorial Hospital Response

    Mar 20, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    We are glad to hear you echo the thoughts of many here at Harrington! We know the pace is often quick but we value our employees who recognize the work and value in patient care.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Job Review"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harrington Memorial Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay, good starting experience

    Cons

    Management is not always supportive of employee needs

    Harrington Memorial Hospital Response

    Mar 20, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Thanks for your feedback. Management engagement is always something we strive to improve. We will make certain to continue this initiative.


  8. Helpful (4)

    "Not Impressed"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Harrington Memorial Hospital full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Decent salary, adore the client population, reasonable benefits.

    Cons

    Horrible management from department heads to Human Resources. Complete lack of respect and accountability- very immature and over empowered. Huge relief to be out of there!!

    Advice to Management

    Grow up. Take ownership of your own shortcomings . Be transparent and consistent, do not hide behind emails. Poor show of character across the board. You will continue to have people leaving the mental health department if you continue to treat people so disrespectfully.

    Harrington Memorial Hospital Response

    Mar 8, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    We appreciate your comments. We strive to have effective leadership, especially when several new faces join a company. We value the feedback of all our employees and have taken your comments ... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Behavioral Health"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Harrington Memorial Hospital full-time

    Pros

    -Higher paying than most salaried clincian jobs.
    -The clients I work with.

    Cons

    -no work life balance
    -no support from managment
    -little care for patients, the best treatment for them, availability of therapists due to being over booked
    -punitive
    -too many hands in the pot but no one is on the same page

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention the staff as human beings. Provide support. Do better at matching intakes to appropriate clinicians.

    Harrington Memorial Hospital Response

    Mar 8, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to review. We take our commitment to our employees just as seriously as our high standards for patient care. With such a busy and growing organization it can be challenging ... More


  10. "Unbelievable"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinician in Southbridge, MA
    Former Employee - Clinician in Southbridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harrington Memorial Hospital full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Please see previous review entitled "Clinician".

    Cons

    I have already submitted a review on Harrington however, once I saw that the Marketing Department was writing rapid fire responses to negative reviews and then suddenly several positive reviews were submitted thereafter, I had to write again. This is a pathetic and desperate attempt to get staffing because Harrington cannot hire nor keep mental health professionals. Don't believe the positive reviews, I can guarantee it's marketing employees or management trying to save face.

    Advice to Management

    Actually try to fix Harrington's problems and develop your management team instead of faking reviews on Glassdoor. People value honesty and strong leadership; foster an environment that turns all those fake "pros" you listed in to truths.

    Harrington Memorial Hospital Response

    Mar 20, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Thanks for leaving us your thoughts again. We can assure you no responses are fake - just as we believe yours is honest, so are the rest. We do think we have a great organization and a strong team of ... More


  11. Helpful (4)

    "nursing"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nurse in Southbridge, MA
    Former Employee - Nurse in Southbridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Harrington Memorial Hospital full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    some very nice coworkers and patients

    Cons

    Very poor management team at OBH ., poor communication, management has shown me they have no concern for the employee, especially if disabled. if you contact CEO, you will never get a response,,,and Human Resources is there for company , not you, even if you are disabled and have been treated poorly

    Advice to Management

    Replace your management staff at OBH...I have seen the largest turn over ever ,,, good people who have worked there for years,,,,right out the door,, very sad

    Harrington Memorial Hospital Response

    Mar 8, 2017 – Marketing Manager

    Thanks for your comments. We are surprised and disappointed hear you did not receive the type of feedback you were looking for. By and large, we are a very transparent institution, including our ... More



Showing 24 of 25 reviews
Reset Filters