Harris Communications Reviews | Glassdoor

Harris Communications Reviews

Updated May 24, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

4.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Harris Communications CEO Robert Harris (no image)
Robert Harris
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "ENGLISH INSTRUCTOR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Pedro Sula
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A highly organized English school that is process centered, allowing for creative teachers to work their magic within a framework of curriculumn that develops conversational skills. Salaries and advances always available and a great team of coworkers and leaders in all areas.

    Cons

    Students in Honduras need to understand that hard work is the only solution to making progress thus the great challenge at HC is making students realize that there are no short cuts.

    Continue reading
    Harris Communications2018-05-24

    Harris Communications Response

    May 25, 2018President

    Thank you for your comments and observations especially related to the challenges that our instructors face in the classroom and the differentiation of education that we provide in a country with high unemployment and poverty levels the highest in the region.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A Great Place to Grow As a Young Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Pedro Sula
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harris Communications full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Merit-based compensation allows for growth, even in a sluggish local environment. - Working with HC's broad, multinational-based client portfolio allowed me to gain meaningful experience and knowledge of various business sectors and departments, such as manufacturing, marketing, sales, human resources, and supply chain. Furthermore, these clients required me to travel to seven countries throughout the LatAm region, working with a diverse collection of professionals and businesses. - Senior management takes a personal interest in the personal and professional development of key employees, going far above and beyond the typical Honduran management culture. - I received profound, invaluable mentorship and advice throughout my career with HC, developing my skills and knowledge to the point that, when I left the company, I was ready for the challenge of taking a management position in an important multinational corporation. This would have been unthinkable to the young man who started at HC in 2011. - The core team at HC is selected for their consistency, creativity, high performance, ability to work as a cohesive team, and results-driven attitude. It was a pleasure to work with them.

    Cons

    - The work schedule can be difficult, if your time management skills are not up to par.

    Continue reading
    Harris Communications2018-01-29

    Harris Communications Response

    February 17, 2018President

    On behalf of Harris Communications, thank you for providing a deep dive into your experiences at HC as well as describing our philosophy and strategic thinking in our talent development process. We wish you the very best in your new position and that your career continues forward with challenges and success.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Experience to be a part of Harris Communications"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in San Pedro Sula
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harris Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My time at Harris Communications was an extremely positive experience, that gave me the ability to grow as an individual. You are given ample opportunity to enhance your skills as you work, which allows you to develop your career further in the office. Harris Communications has a hardworking team, that is lead by an effective leadership team. With any situation the morale in the office was always upbeat and focused on reaching the goals of the company.

    Cons

    - Busy schedule that is demanding.

    Harris Communications2017-11-04

    Harris Communications Response

    November 11, 2017President

    Thank you for your feedback regarding your experiences at Harris Communications Honduras. We are pleased that your skill sets improved and that you felt the team spirit that drives our results but more importantly our engagement amongst the entire organization.

    Continue reading
  4. "Nobility and Meaningful Jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Communications part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Helping people in Honduras become bilingual and obtain work when unemployment is nearly 25% is a great feeling. Doing it with a group of co-workers, other teachers who believe like I do is also significant. Everyone at the company in in alignment.

    Cons

    Students are poorly educated, have no real study skills and because of the culture are often lazy. However, the HC students seem to work harder and their socio-economic position is better.

    Continue reading
    Harris Communications2017-07-01

    Harris Communications Response

    November 1, 2017President

    Thank you for your positive review and your comments regarding how we execute salaries on-time and the benefit of loans and advances for staff members. We continue to seek out new methods that will keep our employees engaged and learning.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "As a teacher it was my best experience ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in San Pedro Sula
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harris Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    An amazing experience. The company is highly organized yet artistic and creative. Because they let you be. And when you blend that with infrastructure, content, ambient, great results happen for students and teachers.m

    Cons

    I was not a Honduran. The government hounded me and would not renew my work visa. I had to leave due to the terrible immigration climate.

    Continue reading
    Harris Communications2017-06-06

    Harris Communications Response

    June 7, 2017President

    Thank you for the comments, and we are grateful regarding your experience at Harris Communications Honduras. Nearly all the reviews on this page are from trainers who teach English or provide executive development seminars. If you read other job descriptions, they have been posted in error. We have no analysts, Business Managers, or other positions unrelated to training and development.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Management Concerns"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Lynchburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harris Communications full-time

    Pros

    Great employees, good pay and benefits,

    Cons

    Lacking strong management. No stability...yearly workforce reductions since 2009.

    Continue reading
    Harris Communications2017-03-29

    Harris Communications Response

    April 4, 2017President

    This review is posted in error. Harris Communications does not have operations in Lynchburg or hire Analyst positions. We are a training company. We suggest Glassdoor remove this review as it was posted by mistake and confuses readers seeking real information about Harris Communications Honduras.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "A best small company to work for. Extremely good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer in San Pedro Sula
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Communications full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been working at HC full time for more than three years. The company is performance oriented. Has strong leadership at its core and allowed me to grow and develop in a profound way. Because the company is small, Mr. Harris is very approachable at any given time. He is constantly developing his key people and wants them to achieve new levels of self-awareness whenever possible. There is great learning within the organization.

    Cons

    Honduras is at a crossing point once again. GDP is practically zero, so it is difficult for benefits to improve and standard raises to be implemented. The merit based bonus system does make up for the country's deficiencies.

    Continue reading
    Harris Communications2016-12-21

    Harris Communications Response

    December 22, 2016President

    Thank you for your feedback and comments regarding Honduras. And although the country continues to face challenges, we are optimistic that 2017 and beyond will mark solid improvement for the country and the hard working people who are trying to bring about positive change.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Harris Communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Professional Bilingual Instructor in San Pedro Sula
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harris Communications

    Pros

    Great place to work, very good co-workers and the company has great cultural values. Would definitely recommend for people to the a chance on this company.

    Cons

    I truly believe that if you put effort and professionalism in to it, you get a lot of experience and training, but professional growth opportunities are very limited.

    Continue reading
    Harris Communications2015-09-17

    Harris Communications Response

    September 18, 2015President

    On behalf of Harris Communications we thank you for your comments and your feedback.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great education brand"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainer in San Pedro Sula
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Well known and established, a great place for young people who have drive and open to learning. Team spirit strong cult like workspace where collaboration is welcome .

    Cons

    A larger building could be needed as the offices appear tight. The company has reached capacity and larger offices would make sense if the opportunity presented itself.

    Continue reading
    Harris Communications2015-08-16

    Harris Communications Response

    October 10, 2017President

    I apologize for not responding sooner to your kind feedback and helpful suggestions. I also agree the gym that is near the office could be better and a larger building would be helpful. We are looking into both of these issues.

    Continue reading
  10. "An ongoing meaningful experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Executive Developer/Seminar Trainer in San-Pédro
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Communications

    Pros

    -great place for development - caring people especially from the top - challenge and open communication encouraged - opinions and debate welcomed

    Cons

    Long hours and short on balance however opportunity available for those who put in the hard work. Rewards and perks are available.

    Continue reading
    Harris Communications2015-02-27

    Harris Communications Response

    March 4, 2015President

    Thank you for your feedback especially related to balance and mobility within LatAm. We also appreciate your POV regarding professional development within the organization.

    Continue reading
Found 19 reviews