Harris Reviews | Glassdoor

Harris Reviews

Updated Aug 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1724 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Harris CEO Bill Brown
Bill Brown
747 Ratings
Pros
  • "Coworkers, 9/80 work schedule, department training program(in 118 reviews)

  • "good work life balance available, Vacation policy(in 98 reviews)

Cons
  • "Technical opinions from good engineers are largely not considered by upper management(in 59 reviews)

  • "Lack of vision, senior management lacks sensitivity to business or employee needs(in 40 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (4)

    "Harris is a great place for mechanical engineers!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Thermal Engineer in Palm Bay, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, Environment, Workload, Benefits, Pay

    Cons

    Sometimes there may be a lull in the work load which then transitions into a full on sprint.

    Advice to Management

    Great job so far, could use another computer though! Also some programs to help with student loans as well.

    Harris2018-11-29
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer II 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harris full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work/life balance Nice people Interesting programs Lots of opportunity

    Cons

    Pay Could be better. Sometimes process gets in the way of progress (but that's defense contracting work)

    Harris2019-07-26
  3. "Associate Electrical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harris full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The team I worked with was great, but can't say the same for the rest of the company, since I don't interact with them much.

    Cons

    I don't really pay attention to office politics to know what is really bad, but apparently people have mixed feelings about the CEO.

    Harris2019-08-13
  4. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Operator in Roanoke, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harris full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good perks/benefits, yearly raises, job security.

    Cons

    There is little room for promotion for hourly workers due to company and union structure.

    Harris2019-07-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great people to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Procurement Specialist in Herndon, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harris full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team of professionals to work with

    Cons

    Manufacturing, not services for production

    Advice to Management

    Work with and engage with companies one merges with.

    Harris2019-07-07
  6. "Excellnt company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supply Chain in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harris full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful company to work for.

    Cons

    No cons - I'm a pretty positive person.

    Advice to Management

    Continue with the greatness!

    Harris2019-07-02
  7. "Great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - EHS Specialist 

    I have been working at Harris full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work. Management style is nice

    Cons

    It all depends on the department you work for

    Harris2019-06-28
  8. "Good work and cool projects, but the corporate structure can be taxing to deal with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Herndon, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harris full-time

    Pros

    Good pay Very fair benefits Decent security

    Cons

    My work environment was toxic Different regional teams didn't interact well

    Harris2019-06-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contracts Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good benefits, challenging work, great resources to learn from

    Cons

    company could hold employees more accountable

    Harris2019-06-22
  10. "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer in Palm Bay, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harris full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Large company resources, small company environment, good time off

    Cons

    low pay, high healthcare cost

    Harris2019-06-25
Found 1724 reviews