Harris Teeter "bonus checks" Reviews | Glassdoor

Harris Teeter Employee Reviews about "bonus checks"

Updated Feb 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
48%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Harris Teeter CEO, Kroger Rodney McMullen
Rodney McMullen
554 Ratings
Pros
  • "Lenient, chill, understanding, promotions, yearly raise, two bonus checks a year(in 144 reviews)

  • "Profit sharing check, opportunity to move up(in 133 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "bonus checks"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Hard work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fresh Food Manager in Charlotte, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Teeter full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Write your own schedule. Control your bonus check.

    Cons

    Always feel under staffed and underappreciated.

    Continue reading
    Harris Teeter2020-01-21
  2. "Great first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Matthews, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Teeter part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - bi-annual bonus checks - cost of living adjustments are made - world-class customer service training - opportunity to apply for summer internships if you are a college student

    Cons

    - on your feet during whole shift -- can leave you feeling sore and fatigued

    Continue reading
    Harris Teeter2020-02-25
  3. "Good but definitely could use improvement."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Produce Clerk 

    I have been working at Harris Teeter part-time

    Pros

    Bonus checks and good 401k options and benefits.

    Cons

    Corporate asks for hours to be cut. Too much expected of certain employees.

    Harris Teeter2020-02-09
  4. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Clerk in Mooresville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Teeter part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lenient, chill, understanding, promotions, yearly raise, two bonus checks a year

    Cons

    Management sometimes isn’t fair, no discipline

    Harris Teeter2020-01-03
  5. "Decent temporary or career job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Overnight Stocker in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Teeter part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Higher than average grocery pay Profit sharing bonus checks twice a year Flexible hours - most locations open 24hrs Yearly raises Paid weekly

    Cons

    Not much room for growth or promotion Store transfers are nearly impossible

    Harris Teeter2019-08-27
  6. "Overworked/ underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate in Matthews, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Teeter part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    the pros are the people you work with, that's about it bonus checks twice a year is alright Work-life is somewhat okay

    Cons

    401k is matched better at other companies. GOOD LUCK trying to move up and become successful in this company. no matter the degrees or the work you take on, it means nothing to management. Asking for more pay? Good luck, those are sinful words around here. They will pull every trick out the book to shoot that thought down.

    Continue reading
    Harris Teeter2019-10-02
  7. "I have been with this company for over 20 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Teeter part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good incentives including associates getting a bonus check two months out of the year along with great benefits and good compensation for those employees who are older...

    Cons

    Management being incredible lazy at times with some of them who won't even lift a finger at help others who basically sometimes have to do it for themselves. Some of the older employees who have been with the company are training the new recruits and sometimes they don't know what they're doing at times while some managers are basically morons and buffoons who only think of themselves and never of other employees. I have been with this company for over 20 years and I have seen management and corporate turned a blind eye on others who won't to get ahead but will step in their way for themselves and that goes for corporate too who basically don't care if someone wants to move up but won't let them.

    Harris Teeter2019-07-15
  8. "Positive personal experience, hard core customer oriented"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier/Meat Clerk in Wilmington, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harris Teeter part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Respectable benefits, even for part time workers. Employee discount on HT items and vacation time as well as two yearly bonus checks and free sample items every month (just for part time). I was not full time but I have heard from those that are that one thing they can’t complain about us the benefits. Ease of advancement, encouragement towards advancement. If you are a friendly employee who is decent with customers or even a quieter person who is base level polite to customers but is a hard worker, you will move up in the company fairly quickly. 99% of the time I saw hard work rewarded with promotion up to department management level.

    Cons

    Customer oriented sometimes at employees’ expense. If I had one complaint about my time with Harris Teeter it is with the handful of incidents involving customers and employees. Harris Teeter lives the “customer is always right” mentality to a tee, sometimes requiring employees to graciously accept verbal and physical abuse at the hands of customers or risk termination. Mostly this is universal in retail, but one incident in particular stands out to me as unfair. A slew of overnight employees were fired for physically defending an elderly security guard who was attacked upon choosing to stop a drunk customer from stealing. Among those employees that were fired were two who had worked for the company without incident for 10 and 25 years, respectively. Had I been there, I surely would have been fired as well because I would not have hesitated to prevent this man from attacking an older gentleman I respected by any means necessary. I found the company’s decision to side with a man stealing from their store and assaulting their customers inexcusable. This does not take away from my personal positive experience with the company significantly enough to warrant a fully negative review, but should be considered.

    Continue reading
    Harris Teeter2019-06-24
  9. "Good but not great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista - Starbucks in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Harris Teeter full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice if you are temporary/looking for something part time, but full time is relatively easy to come by depending on the department. There are so many stores that it is possible to transfer, which is good if you see moving in your future. When it actually comes down to paying your own bills living on your own and working full time for the company, the money just isn't there. You will eventually come to realize the affect it has on your mental health is not worth the pay. There are plenty of opportunities for advancement, but only if you're on the manager's good side and do more than you are required, and even then they will consistently raise the bar of their expectations without reflecting it in your pay. I was working 45 hours a week until I started looking for new jobs and would not stay late no matter what. Two bonus checks a year, each amounting to about one paycheck. This however, depends on how well the store is doing. Ten percent discount on Harris Teeter band products only. (Target gives 10 percent off on anything you buy in the store...)

    Cons

    You will get every Harris Teeter jingle stuck in your head. If you do go into management, they can move you whenever they want with as little as a day's notice, leaving your store short staffed. Absurd and irregular hours. Know that you will very often be working by yourself and doing the work of two-three baristas daily. I have worked in 3 different stores and this is consistent across the board. Also worked a a deli clerk and the pay was not fair. Mostly entitled customers shop here. You can't stop any of them even if you watched them steal, but you can get fired for re-making drinks for customers and not telling anyone. You can't win here. Have had customers pour drinks on my associates, record us on their phones, cry and get an entire cart of free groceries because you closed a fridge door too hard in front of them, and that is just the tip of the iceberg. Starting pay can be enticing but in the long run is not worth it. Target is currently paying baristas $3 more per hour for the same job and stand alone stores are paying at about the same rate as Harris Teeter, but the workload seems to be more evenly distributed among more employees. The benefits offered by these competitors are also better, but full time is hard to come by for Target and Starbucks. Oh, and management is terrible.

    Continue reading
    Harris Teeter2019-07-02
  10. "Good Job for college student, but only a year or so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Greensboro, NC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Harris Teeter part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Weekly Pay Bonus checks twice a year Flexible schedule for students

    Cons

    High turnover rate with both management and employees. New management every so often means new adjustments that may be for the better or for the worst. Low pay for long-term part-time employees

    Harris Teeter2019-06-18
Found 144 reviews