Harris Teeter Employee Reviews about "bonus checks"

Updated Jan 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
54%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Harris Teeter CEO, Kroger Rodney McMullen
Rodney McMullen
745 Ratings
Pros
  • "We get bonus checks twice a year(in 169 reviews)

  • "profit sharing checks (2 a year) (80-200 dollars)(in 156 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Part time schedules can vary a lot(in 100 reviews)

  • "long hours to be standing at a register(in 76 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Harris Teeter and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "bonus checks"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place for entry positions

      Nov 25, 2020 - Cashier in Winston-Salem, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible scheduling, educational leave, part-time and full-time positions, promotion opportunities, $0.05 increase in hourly rate each year, bonus checks each year

      Cons

      Pay rate is not sufficient for living

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Definitely worth it !

      May 9, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked for Harris teeter all through high school and then my first year into college and they were great ! My schedule was nearly always available to get moved around if need be and I got the hours I needed/asked for. The pay was good for a part-time student & the bonus checks were good too! I loved seeing my favorite people on Thursdays for their senior discount too! I sometimes worked in the floral department and I absolutely adored it !

      Cons

      Unfortunately when I wanted to move into a customer service clerk position (from cashier) it took me having to go to another store and ask them if they had an opening because my store manager never did for me. Customers are on the HIGHEST HORSE in the Charlotte area. I was a cashier NOT a bagger, I’d be made to go get carts in the pouring rain sometimes if a bagger wasn’t scheduled because I played sports. Not a huge fan of the discount on only teeter items but it is what it is (only 10%) Both locations I worked at were quirky in their own way but the CSM need to be picked more carefully. They catch an attitude about the smallest things because they lash out over something that doesn’t even pertain to the conversation you’re having with them. SUPER DOUBLE COUPONS ARE HORRIBLE! Breaks are so so so so soooo short !

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      There's a big misconceptions about Harris Teeter.

      Nov 25, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      *Camaraderie- You meet lot's of people *Profit sharing every 6 months- bonus check *Paid vacation *Request days off regardless if you have personal/vacation hours

      Cons

      *Favoritism-This take place in alot of companies. Harris Teeter is one. *Low Pay-Teeter use to be known for good pay. That's a misconception. *Fraternizing-They say 85% of affairs happens on a job. Managers take advantage of innocent women trying to work their way up in the company. I'm a witness, was in the company for 13years. I've seen things. *No Seniority- You can be there for years kissing .... while someone walks right into management. *This company has no real structure. * I would say 80% of Management are disrespectful. * The Company is like high school. *This company is what you make of it. This company do not promote a large amount of minorities.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      N/a

      Jan 12, 2021 - Overnight Stocker in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      We get bonus checks twice a year

      Cons

      I hate working in the dark since they turn off the lights at night.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good place to work

      Jan 9, 2021 - Deli Clerk in Chesapeake, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Get paid weekly, bonus checks twice a year, room to grow within the company

      Cons

      No overtime and long days.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Alright first job, Poor managment

      Dec 22, 2020 - Customer Service Representative in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      *hours *flexible with your schedule *after a year you get 20 hours vacation time for part timers *bonus checks (especially covid) *regular customers

      Cons

      *the associates are usually harder to work with than the customers are *very low pay *depending on the store, it can be very busy and hectic *managment is very unorganized *you are not really trained, your are just thrown in and expected to know what your doing, then get in trouble for doing it wrong, *associate drama

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Boh

      Dec 22, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Bonus check were better than most

      Cons

      Management is a bunch of butts

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Bye Bye Quality of life

      Jan 22, 2021 - Department Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Bonus check and vacation time

      Cons

      Unrealistic expectations with given staff. Poor quality of life. Extremely stressful with no care for associates from upper management. Working 6 days a week still isn’t good enough

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Horrible place to work

      Jul 12, 2020 - Front Service Clerk (Bagger) in Wilmington, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is a good first summer job for students who are in high school, or for those who are retired but are looking for some extra pay on the side. The only pro I can think of is that every 6 months we get a bonus check, other than that the other benefits we get is standard for corporate retail companies out there.

      Cons

      Atrocious, unprofessional management who do NOT know how to make schedules, play favourites with other employees, make employee write ups all personal, are incompetent with their jobs, and also do not know how to train new recruits for the jobs. Incredibly low pay, one of the lowest pay rate out there for grocery retail, and also was written up for asking for a raise. False job description. False public image and motto. Unequal opportunities for growth and pay unless your demographic information meets their quota. Unprofessional and rude high school part timers who do not get disciplined for their actions. Not a good place to work, very stressful and disorganized chaos overall.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Pros

      Dec 4, 2020 - Customer Service Clerk 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Bonus Checks and insurance and easygoing.

      Cons

      Upper management in store stress themselves hard.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 169 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Harris Teeter Job Seekers

    Cashier
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Customer Service Management Assistant
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Harris Teeter? Share Your Experiences

    or