Harris Teeter "part time" Reviews | Glassdoor

Harris Teeter Employee Reviews about "part time"

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
48%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Harris Teeter CEO, Kroger Rodney McMullen
Rodney McMullen
555 Ratings
Pros
  • "Lenient, chill, understanding, promotions, yearly raise, two bonus checks a year(in 144 reviews)

  • "Profit sharing check, opportunity to move up(in 133 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "part time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Uplifting Work Enviornment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Harris Teeter part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    very helpful managers opportunities to work your way up rewarded for exceptional work ethic

    Cons

    longer onboarding process than most part time positions

    Harris Teeter2019-10-22
  2. "Alright but better out there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier in Waxhaw, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harris Teeter part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Profit sharing check -Got 10% off all harris teeter merchandise

    Cons

    -Management was not considerate of needs for part time employees -Can get very hectic on weekends with long hours -Paid new hires more than me even though I had been with the company for 6 months longer

    Harris Teeter2019-10-03
  3. "Barista at Harris Teeter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Barista - Starbucks 

    I have been working at Harris Teeter part-time

    Pros

    Pay was decent. Hours were not too bad for a part time job.

    Cons

    Management sucks. Too many rules that make no sense.

    Continue reading
    Harris Teeter2019-08-05
  4. "Positive personal experience, hard core customer oriented"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier/Meat Clerk in Wilmington, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harris Teeter part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Respectable benefits, even for part time workers. Employee discount on HT items and vacation time as well as two yearly bonus checks and free sample items every month (just for part time). I was not full time but I have heard from those that are that one thing they can’t complain about us the benefits. Ease of advancement, encouragement towards advancement. If you are a friendly employee who is decent with customers or even a quieter person who is base level polite to customers but is a hard worker, you will move up in the company fairly quickly. 99% of the time I saw hard work rewarded with promotion up to department management level.

    Cons

    Customer oriented sometimes at employees’ expense. If I had one complaint about my time with Harris Teeter it is with the handful of incidents involving customers and employees. Harris Teeter lives the “customer is always right” mentality to a tee, sometimes requiring employees to graciously accept verbal and physical abuse at the hands of customers or risk termination. Mostly this is universal in retail, but one incident in particular stands out to me as unfair. A slew of overnight employees were fired for physically defending an elderly security guard who was attacked upon choosing to stop a drunk customer from stealing. Among those employees that were fired were two who had worked for the company without incident for 10 and 25 years, respectively. Had I been there, I surely would have been fired as well because I would not have hesitated to prevent this man from attacking an older gentleman I respected by any means necessary. I found the company’s decision to side with a man stealing from their store and assaulting their customers inexcusable. This does not take away from my personal positive experience with the company significantly enough to warrant a fully negative review, but should be considered.

    Continue reading
    Harris Teeter2019-06-24
  5. "terribly mismanaged/ unorganized on boarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Holly Spring, NC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Harris Teeter full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    wouldn't know! Drove there over 5 times for interview, drug test, and other on-boarding actives. Hired full-time but computer said part time even after telling them 4 times they never fixed just said yeah you're full time

    Cons

    miss managed waste of time never sure if i had a full time job or not required to do training online there but pc never available even when i came in a the stated time first time i came into train no one could find me in system so i just was sent home! waste of time! i quit before really starting i never felt employed there

    Continue reading
    Harris Teeter2019-07-29
  6. "Good but not great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barista - Starbucks in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Harris Teeter full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice if you are temporary/looking for something part time, but full time is relatively easy to come by depending on the department. There are so many stores that it is possible to transfer, which is good if you see moving in your future. When it actually comes down to paying your own bills living on your own and working full time for the company, the money just isn't there. You will eventually come to realize the affect it has on your mental health is not worth the pay. There are plenty of opportunities for advancement, but only if you're on the manager's good side and do more than you are required, and even then they will consistently raise the bar of their expectations without reflecting it in your pay. I was working 45 hours a week until I started looking for new jobs and would not stay late no matter what. Two bonus checks a year, each amounting to about one paycheck. This however, depends on how well the store is doing. Ten percent discount on Harris Teeter band products only. (Target gives 10 percent off on anything you buy in the store...)

    Cons

    You will get every Harris Teeter jingle stuck in your head. If you do go into management, they can move you whenever they want with as little as a day's notice, leaving your store short staffed. Absurd and irregular hours. Know that you will very often be working by yourself and doing the work of two-three baristas daily. I have worked in 3 different stores and this is consistent across the board. Also worked a a deli clerk and the pay was not fair. Mostly entitled customers shop here. You can't stop any of them even if you watched them steal, but you can get fired for re-making drinks for customers and not telling anyone. You can't win here. Have had customers pour drinks on my associates, record us on their phones, cry and get an entire cart of free groceries because you closed a fridge door too hard in front of them, and that is just the tip of the iceberg. Starting pay can be enticing but in the long run is not worth it. Target is currently paying baristas $3 more per hour for the same job and stand alone stores are paying at about the same rate as Harris Teeter, but the workload seems to be more evenly distributed among more employees. The benefits offered by these competitors are also better, but full time is hard to come by for Target and Starbucks. Oh, and management is terrible.

    Continue reading
    Harris Teeter2019-07-02
  7. "Good Job for college student, but only a year or so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Greensboro, NC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Harris Teeter part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Weekly Pay Bonus checks twice a year Flexible schedule for students

    Cons

    High turnover rate with both management and employees. New management every so often means new adjustments that may be for the better or for the worst. Low pay for long-term part-time employees

    Harris Teeter2019-06-18
  8. "Part Time Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part Time Cashier in Mint Hill, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Teeter part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I like working at Harris Teeter because I like talking to people and meeting all kinds of people. Paid weekly. Full-time employees get benefits. Training is paid and does not take long. The people are great to work with. You will know your schedule two weeks prior. 15-minute breaks every 4 hours, 30-minute meal break every 6 1/2 hours.

    Cons

    When you first start working they will immediately put you on a register. Management hires too many employees than cuts hours. They will put a cashier with no experience in a department they have never worked if they need help. Part-time cashiers have to be "on call" which means that you have to call the store up to one time each week if you are going to work. You have 30 minutes to call. You have to pay for your uniform.

    Continue reading
    Harris Teeter2019-05-15
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Wilmington, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harris Teeter part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff, easy to get time off as part time employee

    Cons

    Little discount, other employees call out a lot and then you get called and asked to cover

    Harris Teeter2019-05-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "No long-term scope for advancement."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Harris Teeter part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Guess it’s great for kids needing an after school job.

    Cons

    This is a premium store charging top dollar and the staff is under paid. They hire lots of students on a part-time basis at $7.50 to avoid paying company benefits. Adult cashiers are never made permanent staff.

    Continue reading
    Harris Teeter2019-04-24
Viewing 1 - 10 of 173 Reviews