KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Harris Teeter

Is this your company?

Harris Teeter

Add a Review

Harris Teeter Employee Reviews about "profit sharing"

Updated Jan 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 155 of over 3,362 reviews

3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Harris Teeter CEO, Kroger Rodney McMullen
Rodney McMullen
828 Ratings
Pros
  • "We get bonus checks twice a year(in 169 reviews)

  • "profit sharing checks (2 a year) (80-200 dollars)(in 156 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Part time schedules can vary a lot(in 100 reviews)

  • "long hours to be standing at a register(in 76 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Harris Teeter and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "profit sharing"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Pretty good place to work

      Jan 11, 2021 - Customer Service Clerk in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Profit sharing checks, automatic 401k plan

      Cons

      Not enough hours, especially with our current curfew

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Terrible/Don't recommend.

      Jan 4, 2021 - Store Associate/Clerk in McLean, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The only good thing about working at this company is that you can form your own schedule that you want. Also you get a profit sharing check every 6 months.

      Cons

      -Terrible management, managers are often times nowhere to be seen when you need them and everywhere when you don't. They are often unhelpful even at times when the store is overwhelmed and understaffed like they can't be bothered with it. -Toxic work environment and culture of abuse: Harassment is tolerated here. whether its by managers or employees. They are always threatening you for the littlest of things even if you weren't the person who did it. I got a scolding for not helping a customer even though i wasn't the person operating in that department and the person who worked there purposely ignored that customer. -Underpaid: you rarely ever get a raise. they increase your hourly wage like 40 cents a year. I've been working here for 2 years and my hourly wage has only gone up 80 cents. They've done this ever since they got bought out by Kroger. -Overwork and understaffed: This company always understaffs their stores. I am cross trained to work bakery, deli, pizza, sandwich and even the cheese area not because they want me to gain new experience but because they can't get any new employee that stays more than 2 months to fill in the position. I'm constantly overworked and often times my whole body is sore when i get home. I've occasionally been sick because i'm overworked. The people i work with here almost always never show up to work so manangers put all the pressure on me to meet quotas.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      There's a big misconceptions about Harris Teeter.

      Nov 25, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      *Camaraderie- You meet lot's of people *Profit sharing every 6 months- bonus check *Paid vacation *Request days off regardless if you have personal/vacation hours

      Cons

      *Favoritism-This take place in alot of companies. Harris Teeter is one. *Low Pay-Teeter use to be known for good pay. That's a misconception. *Fraternizing-They say 85% of affairs happens on a job. Managers take advantage of innocent women trying to work their way up in the company. I'm a witness, was in the company for 13years. I've seen things. *No Seniority- You can be there for years kissing .... while someone walks right into management. *This company has no real structure. * I would say 80% of Management are disrespectful. * The Company is like high school. *This company is what you make of it. This company do not promote a large amount of minorities.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Many benefits, some drawbacks

      Dec 28, 2019 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The best thing about working at Harris Teeter is the variety of nice fellow employees. Most everyone is very nice, and you get to work with all ages of people, and it’s easy to make friends. For a full timer, the health insurance is fairly affordable and very good, medical, dental and eye insurance available. The paid vacation and paid personal days are nice as well. You are allowed to contribute 5 percent of your paycheck to your 401 K , which the company matches .50 to every 1.00 contributed. I have been able to build up a nice little nest egg in only five years of employment. Twice yearly profit sharing bonuses are also very appreciated.

      Cons

      The biggest con is the lack of proper labor. In the online shopping department, they regularly under schedule , so there are just a handful of employees to do up to 50-60 orders a day. Every day, becomes an “emergency “ situation with managers and people from other departments often having to jump in and shop orders. The solution offered daily is to ask the employees to stay later than their scheduled time to help get things done. So, you often can’t leave on time. The lack of proper help allowed in each dept is my biggest complaint. Nice employees are stretched thin trying to accomplish their tasks, which affects moral.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good pay for the industry, but high expectations

      Nov 1, 2020 - Deli/Bakery Clerk in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Twice annual profit sharing check, roughly equal to a week's worth of work - Relatively easy work, depending on your station - Ability to advance, learn other jobs - Decent pay for the work and experience - compared to other grocery chains, they pay you pretty well

      Cons

      - Customers - as a "higher end" grocery chain the customers are on the snobbier side, and demand absolute perfection in your work, and the customer is ALWAYS RIGHT no matter what - As a result, you are expected to do well at everything you do - Ever shifting management

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Very fast paced. Home Shop is enjoyable but have to keep up a very fast pace

      Dec 28, 2020 - Team Leader 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some older co-workers are great. The rest are immature and do not follow direction. Profit sharing twice a year. Great hours in Home Shop.

      Cons

      Front end management is not helpful. They focus on what’s wrong rather than try to make improvements. Play favorites. Leaves a lot to be desired, they do not care about the employees.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Good job

      Jan 11, 2021 - Customer Service Manager in Arlington, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Profit sharing twice a year, opportunities for growth

      Cons

      There are politics everywhere and sometimes you want to be known for what you know, not whose butt you kissed.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      great place to work if you are a hard worker, slackers not wanted

      Feb 14, 2020 - Baker/Cake Decorator in Chesapeake, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good pay, 401k, health insurance, great place for self motivated people, great associates, profit sharing 2 times a year

      Cons

      you really need to be self motivated not necessarily a con but a fact,. no pension plan. no cost of living raises just small once a year maybe 25 cents up to 50 cents. So make sure you get what you want when hired . you will work harder on weekends and holidays. holidays do not belong to you any more they belong to the customers. and you need to be able to stand on your feet for 8 hours again not a con but a fact

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      It’s a job

      Jan 12, 2021 - Part Time Cashier in Durham, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Meet great people profit sharing checks (2 a year) (80-200 dollars) fast pace Great work/life balance

      Cons

      Physical demanding, (I had to do my job, push carts, clean, push carts, vacuum, produce, working without a plexiglass, went without breaks, yelled at, mistreated, managers in front end are very lackluster, and lazy and it throws off the performance of the most important part of the store! No raises Under valued / Unappreciated

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Pretty good

      Dec 7, 2020 - Sales Associate/Cashier in Virginia Beach, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing management at my store at least, good pay, profit sharing

      Cons

      Dealing with customers and long lines

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 155 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Harris Teeter Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Harris Teeter? Share Your Experiences

    or