Harrods "good discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

Harrods Employee Reviews about "good discount"

Updated Nov 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Harrods CEO Michael Ward
Michael Ward
338 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Buying & Merchandising 

    I worked at Harrods full-time

    Pros

    Good discount of 30% and further clothing discount.

    Cons

    Outdated buying office, very manual in their work. No room for improvement.

    Harrods2019-11-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Micro managing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Hammersmith, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harrods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good discount, friendly team mates.

    Cons

    Some managers are malicious and would micro manage and scrutinise you for the tiniest things.

    Advice to Management

    Harrods needs to send HR to collect feedback from the customer service team in Hammersmith.

    Harrods2019-11-20
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "A Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Summer Sales Associate 
    Recommends

    I worked at Harrods for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent amount of break, if full time and not concession Decent hourly wage Good discount/ staff benefits

    Cons

    Temporary staff work pretty hard but don't benefit from achieving sales goals Some truly awkward hours for temp staff (though admittedly it does state in the contract that you have to be FULLY available)

    Harrods2019-10-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Archaic Institution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Harrods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good discount and culture between shop floor staff

    Cons

    Senior management are out of the loop and treat staff as numbers

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time on the shop floor

    Harrods2019-11-05
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Debilitating and Highly Political"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harrods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good discount in the store

    Cons

    Unfortunately Harrods has bred a negative environment where fear is the main method of managing people. People either fit the highly competitive and vindictive workplace or they’re out. I worked in Harrods Head Office for 2 years and I saw countless people pushed out of the business because they were either a “wrong fit” or left as they were worked to the point of stress levels affecting both their ability to work... as well as their personal lives. I was told many times not to expect praise by my own manager (a Head of a department) and I saw many other Heads and Directors manage the same way.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Understand that people are not just resources, be open to feedback and look at improving the working environment and workload to reduce the high level of turnover and burn our experienced by staff

    Harrods2019-10-15
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Toxic Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Harrods full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working at Harrods makes you appreciate any other company or organisation you’ll ever work for. Looks good on your CV, however this is becoming less and less so Good discount The retail side of the business is a pleasant environment. It’s hard work but there is a family feel to teams and the business managers support their teams in most areas.

    Cons

    The corporate side of the business felt very toxic to me. The Senior Managers are very good at managing people out when you are no longer flavour of the month. When you create a very hostile environment for someone they will usually leave! Ruthlessness is valued, and is then used by Senior Management. Lack of concern shown for the impact this has on stress levels and anxiety of current employees and the... long term impact on individuals. Personally still dealing with the after effects on my self esteem and mental wellbeing.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try to be nicer people and allow some of that to be brought to the workplace. Think about why there is a constant stream of people leaving in bad circumstances, there’s too many for it to be all of us who are wrong!

    Harrods2019-10-07
  8. Helpful (11)

    "A stepping stone to another job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing - Head Office in Hammersmith, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Harrods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great for your cv, good discount has some great people

    Cons

    Terrible bonus schemes, uncompetitive salaries, no creativity, difficult to progress. No budgets for Christmas parties, office culture is poor. Toxic culture where negativity is rife, very much a hire and fire scheme but not always based on merit but more politics.

    Advice to Management

    Find what motivates employees, build an actual work culture in head office rather than dependent on who the director is. People who are bad for culture but good for the business is what's been going on for way too long

    Harrods2019-07-10
  9. "Good but not amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Coordinator 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harrods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good discounts across brands. Nice colleagues most of the time.

    Cons

    No way to progress unless you’re a manager

    Harrods2019-06-24
  10. Helpful (17)

    "READ BEFORE ACCEPTING A JOB"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Events, Marketing & PR Head Office Hammersmith in Hammersmith, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Harrods full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Worked here for just over 3 years -Discount is good - the only thing I’m rating it highly for - Some lower down levels of staff are nice and kind and in a bad position too Harrods looks great on your CV (on paper) - not worth this however

    Cons

    I’m not one for writing reviews but I wish I was told this before I gave up a good career in fashion to work at Harrods Head Office. Please do not accept a job for this company even if you think it may look good on your CV. In the last year, Harrods have lost 80% of their marketing & PR department - just look how many jobs have been posted online! Everyone has left because they have been treated horrifically and... this is no place to be to develop a career. To summarise: -Senior management (director level) act awfully to staff, ignoring them, throwing their weight around, making everyone on edge and ruining any happy balance when in the office (often) and will never give acknowledgement on skill, only very inappropriately to their favourite members of staff which is completely corrupt - management are horrific at developing careers, you will NEVER get a promotion (this is reflected around all of marketing head office), and team members have gone over 4 years with no pay rise - overworked = people in head office department have taken time off for stress etc caused purely by work, and I have seen members of staff reduced to tears in meetings over and over again. A crisis meeting was even called on this department and nothing was done. - if senior staff don’t like you they WILL find a way to get rid of you, I have seen so many people mysteriously vanish from head office with no explanation of why their employment was terminated or they were bullied to hand notice in - overall nasty atmosphere in an almost all female environment, purely because people are so deeply unhappy that they have nothing better to do then spend their work time whispering amongst eachother and lunchtimes expressing frustrations on the company - its such a negative environment to be around it truly brings you down - no job satisfaction : 99% of work task activities you put your heart and soul into will get pulled from you without warning and your efforts have gone to waste as marketing campaigns and projects are cut and changed with no notice - HR provide no support to employees even though I for certain am aware of 20+ complaints which have been filed against management in the past year - senior management rule the place around here and everything is swept under the carpet, I can’t even believe what they’re doing is legal

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    HR - how has nothing been done even though you’ve lost over 80% of your marketing and PR team? Michael Ward (CEO) and management - what are you doing to review this? How is this allowed to be going on? How are you still employing people under these working conditions? Anyone reading - do not give up your careers to work here

    Harrods2019-06-16
  11. Helpful (3)

    "Long hours for little reward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Brand Specialist in Knightsbridge, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Harrods full-time

    Pros

    Great pay Good discount

    Cons

    Horrible managers and staff Very money grabbing Will talk to you like you are nothing

    Advice to Management

    Treat staff with respect Have realistic targets Understand everyone sales differently we are all pushy sales people

    Harrods2019-07-03
Found 45 reviews