Harry and David Reviews | Glassdoor

Harry and David Reviews

Updated Jul 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 212 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Steven Lightman
28 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management changes about every 2 years and every time it does all priorities change(in 13 reviews)

  • "seasonal job, low pay, they send you home early, none benefit to seasonal workers(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fun place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Order Support Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harry and David full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people. Great Training. Best guarantee in the business.

    Cons

    Pay isn't great for all you are expected to do. Very few can call it f/t.

    Advice to Management

    Value those who have given there life to your company. They know your business and are assets to you not disposable garbage.

    Harry and David2019-06-14
  2. "So-so work enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clerk III in Medford, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harry and David full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with, they also do lots of giveaways

    Cons

    Very low pay and spread very thin

    Advice to Management

    Better pay and job specific training or this company will tank in the coming years

    Harry and David2019-07-22
  3. "Inconsistent leadership, but invaluable experience. Excess of knowledge gained"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Deer Park, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Harry and David full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I was able to work independently to lead my team. I established strong business to business relationships. I gained knowledge and experience with various processes that will be beneficial to me in my next endeavors Ability to create rapport with customers both in person and via email or phone communication.

    Cons

    There was a lot of turn over within upper level management. This did lead me to be able to independently manage and expand my problem solving, leadership and multitasking skills. No matter what goals we exceeded, it never seemed to be enough There was a consistently discrepant inventory count, coming from the warehouse.

    Advice to Management

    Background checks! Start hiring sooner for the holidays! Support your managers and employees in brick and mortar locations. They are the face of your company

    Harry and David2019-06-23
  4. "Great Place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harry and David part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hours, people, atmosphere, vacation time, benefits

    Cons

    pay, mgmt, customers, high expectations, unifrom

    Harry and David2019-06-01
  5. "A great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - E-Commerce Specialist in Hebron, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harry and David part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, great training, great incentives

    Cons

    Seasonal work and possibility of permanent hire if your stats are good enough.

    Advice to Management

    Open more permanent job offerings in the Hopewell Call Center

    Harry and David2019-06-01
  6. "Decent pay with commission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Hebron, OH

    I worked at Harry and David full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Commission, decent pay, easy work, discounts.

    Cons

    Treated like a number, promised $100 bonus but didn’t give it.

    Harry and David2019-04-29
  7. "Good place, stressful season"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Website Merchandiser in Medford, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harry and David full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are fun and get along. The work is good during season. Lots to learn

    Cons

    Very slow and hardly any work during summer. Overwhelming amount during season. Not much support. Company is all about the dollars

    Harry and David2019-04-03
  8. "Nothing more than a resume builder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Hebron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harry and David full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Time requested off during non-peak times was almost always granted.

    Cons

    Unprofessional. Poorly managed. The rich keep getting richer while more work is handed down to those few individuals that are dedicated to their jobs.

    Advice to Management

    Do more to recognize the hard work of some of the individuals that put all of the time in. Get rid of the "old boys" clubs.

    Harry and David2019-03-04
  9. "Great atmosphere."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Medford, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harry and David full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learn customer service skills,fair with their rules

    Cons

    Some of the team leaders sometimes play favorites

    Harry and David2019-02-13
  10. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Harry and David part-time

    Pros

    best team to work with

    Cons

    lack of communication with corporate

    Harry and David2019-02-27
Found 212 reviews