Harry and David "employee discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

Harry and David Employee Reviews about "employee discount"

Updated Apr 21, 2016

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Harry and David President Steven Lightman (no image)
Steven Lightman
31 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management changes about every 2 years and every time it does all priorities change(in 14 reviews)

  • "Very low pay and spread very thin(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "employee discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Seasonal Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Saint Charles, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harry and David part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work over the holidays. Very friendly environment even when very busy. Plenty of things to do like offering samples to customers, stocking shelves, running the register, making gift baskets, etc. Customer service is a priority so there was never a lot of pressure to hurry and get things done. The Managers always wanted you to spend time with the customers. Great employee discount.

    Cons

    Harry and David only paid min wage. Hours were always changing and it was only a seasonal position. CRAZY busy right before Christmas.

    Continue reading
    Harry and David2014-06-17
  2. "Harry and David"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Sales Associate in Glendale, AZ

    I worked at Harry and David

    Pros

    Good atmosphere and good products, good bonus and great employee discount

    Cons

    On your feet all day, okay if in a carpeted store, low pay

    Harry and David2016-04-21
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Needs to invest in infrastructure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harry and David part-time

    Pros

    Friendly people Great place to work if you enjoy the brand with the employee discount Flexible hours are great for those looking for a part time job

    Cons

    IT seems to be about 10 years too old Still very manual processes, money should be spent to improve automation More pay would be nice

    Continue reading
    Harry and David2014-10-24
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Horrible place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Forklift Operator in Medford, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Harry and David full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount If you enjoy over priced snack food...

    Cons

    Bait & switch hiring tactics. They promise you full time employment but you'll end up being seasonal. Bring your crystal ball to work with you because there high expectations but No training! poor uncaring attitudes from management. No one is friendly or willing to help show you the ropes. I worked graveyard and there was no training program in place. You have to physically beg for help to learn their RF system and warehouse layout. People all over the warehouse are rude and seem to get off at yelling at the new employees. Everyone will tell you what not to do, but no one will help show you what to do. You'll be nothing more than a janitor with a forklift key. Warehouse Management is comprised of low ambition, unskilled workers who were given their titles mearely because they have been with the company forever. Not because of education, or people/managerial skills. Don't let the recruiters hypnotize you with their "employee discount" pendulum. You'll be promised full time employment & end up a slave to the system. Honestly the worst employment I've ever had!

    Continue reading
    Harry and David2014-10-10
  5. "Enjoyable, good co-workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse in Medford, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harry and David part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Loved the store and the products, very generous 45% employee discount, great wine selection, clean and colorful store appearance, great community presence and involvement.

    Cons

    It was hard to get more hours during off season. Company keeps trying to sell the items that didn't 'catch on' much longer than economically feasible.

    Harry and David2014-04-20
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Frustrating Dead-End Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Second Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harry and David part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The employee discount is generous.

    Cons

    Capped employee hours in order to avoid providing benefits, poor communication, demanding employees take on additional responsibilities and tasks without increased compensation, patronizing leadership at the corporate level, no opportunities for advancement, poor planning, ridiculous amount of turnover in upper management

    Continue reading
    Harry and David2014-04-28
  7. "12 years a (wage) slave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales and Service Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Harry and David full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It's not rocket science. Even as lower management, it's not a total no-brainer, but it is also not terribly mind-challenging, either. The environment during the busy holiday season is hectic, but busy enough that it flies by and there is plenty of opportunity for overtime. Employee discount at the store is a huge perk.

    Cons

    Where do I begin? After 12 holiday seasons with the company, (over 10 years as full-time, year-round,) I barely made more than newly-hired seasonal (temporary) employees, despite my seniority and being 3-4 positions higher as a member of the leadership staff. And, with bonuses, (both cash and prizes like game consoles, big screen TVs, vacation packages,) available primarily to the seasonal staff, many were able to out-earn their bosses. (TWO miniscule wage increases in seven years, and the second only because I decided to move into lower management.) Next, the micromanagement. You know those TPS reports from "Office Space"? Well, that is no exaggeration. I would hear the same instruction from 7 people, my superiors and their superiors and my equals, throughout the course of an 8-10-hour shift. The reason? Complete and utter breakdown in communications on almost every level company-wide. Downsizing: Harry & David is notorious for the typical poor judgment downsizing. They eliminate a person's (integral) position, realize shortly thereafter how important a cog in the machinery that individual was, then hire 2-5 less-skilled people to replace them, at, (of course,) 5 times the cost to the company. OR... They eliminate people, then overburden the remaining staff with the former employee's responsibilities, thereby making a more stressful situation for everyone involved, short-sticking the quality of ALL work, and, eventually, leading to employee burnout. (This is NOT "streamlining"; this is lining investors' pockets at the expense. I personally saw my workload increase at least fivefold in my final 2-3 years, with no additional compensation.) Clique-ish promotional practices: No matter who was most qualified for a position available within the company, the person who was closest friends with the supervisor of that position would get the position. Side note: Although against "official" company practice, if a person is determined integral to their current position, they, (strangely enough,) would fail to get hired for any other position they applied for. Imagine that... Finally, dishonesty. The current management at H&D will smile in your face and hug you while sticking a knife in your back. When I started there, management was straightforward, whether the news was good or bad. Beginning with the purchase by Wasserstein, and the influx of management from outside the company, that changed 100%. I have never in my life dealt with more two-faced, phony individuals as the management there. On multiple occasions, I had both immediate management, and those of higher echelons, (VPs,) attempt to throw me under the wheels for their mistakes, a couple of which cost the company thousands of dollars. (I say "attempt" because, unfortunately, at H&D, the CYA rule MUST be adhered to for survival.) In addition, whereas we had always been fairly honest with our customers, I began to notice a trend in stretching the truth, or outright lying, to them in my last couple years. I could go on and on about the little things, (freezing of pensions, cessation of 401k contributions, how they recently took away employee discounts for retirees who'd been with the company for less than 20 years, etc., etc., but I think I've said enough to make my point.)

    Continue reading
    Harry and David2014-04-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great brand with poor senior leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Vice President in Medford, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harry and David

    Pros

    Strong brand Ability to personally influence the business Good employee discount program

    Cons

    Poor executive leadership Inconsistent execution of strategy Poor financial management

    Continue reading
    Harry and David2012-04-30
  9. "Good place to work if you like the Rogue Valley."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Medford, OR
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harry and David

    Pros

    Free Samples, Fun Atmosphere, Fairly relaxed, Employee Discount, Professional Environment, Green Conscious, Innovative with work schedules, Flexible with work hours.

    Cons

    Communication between different departments could be better and more open. Large campus can sometimes be confusing when locating a coworkers office.

    Continue reading
    Harry and David2010-03-26

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 Reviews