Harry and David "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Harry and David Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Apr 27, 2017

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Harry and David President Steven Lightman (no image)
Steven Lightman
31 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management changes about every 2 years and every time it does all priorities change(in 14 reviews)

  • "Very low pay and spread very thin(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "For the most part it's nice to be working there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Hebron, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harry and David part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    family company they try very hard to make sure we are all treated the same in our pay grades there

    Cons

    Would like to see more of the upper management come to Ohio during the season and give us more up to date on how the season is going

    Continue reading
    Harry and David2013-04-20
  2. Helpful (4)

    "supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Medford, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harry and David part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I think they have great opportunity to be great with the right leadership.

    Cons

    The moral of the employees is very low. At all levels of leadership there is a huge disconnect from employees. Many supervisor will talk bad about employees and are not professional. Upper management is bad, they seem to have no idea of what really goes on in the company and tend to ignore many pressing issues. Furthermore, there is a huge amount of politic (company politics) that you must follow or you will be pushed out. Harry and David needs to focus on their employees and having good internal customer service. However, they fall under what most companies do...the big dollar. Most employees could careless if it fails, they are just there to collect a check and have no mind set to achieve more. this is due to the fact, the company don't care about its employees.

    Continue reading
    Harry and David2017-04-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Seasonal Call center leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Harry and David full-time

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere, depending on management

    Cons

    Always temporary and competing for year round status. Upper management changes about every 2 years and every time it does all priorities change. High expectations for minimal pay and offen people in seasonal leadership roles aren't qualified for that kind of responsibility. Lots of drama!

    Harry and David2017-01-05
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Horrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Harry and David

    Pros

    Friendliness of customers and in store staff

    Cons

    Upper management does not listen, Dm's have their favorites and targets those who are not, VP is ignorant on how to run business, H&D would rather comprise their customer service to make themselves a boutique store, help desk is full of worthless people who feel their are better then everyone but never know how to fix a technical problem, expectations that staff should solicit business clients on their time off the clock, expectations of store managers to be in store 24/7, benefits are horrible, no payroll for scheduling or to train new staff, inability to take action against staff that violates company policies except document, pay is not worth time vested into company, company only pushes to promote the catalog/online portion not stores,

    Continue reading
    Harry and David2016-10-05
  5. Helpful (2)

    "What a joke!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Medford, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Harry and David full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They will hire anybody. Beware, they will make promises upon employment that they will not keep. If you are a tweaker who can't land a real job this may be the place for you!

    Cons

    If you are upper management this can be a decent job. For everybody else, they just don't care about you...at all, you are a number to them, pay is unlivable, management acts like they are doing you a favor while they treat you like garbage!. I worked in the warehouse end of this place for years. I was constantly told how great of an employee I was as I watched other people get promoted right past me. The people who get promotions all have family who are management. People who I trained, with less education and experience than me became my boss. The one thing they all had in common was that their mother, father, aunt, uncle, etc. was management. I'm not stupid, I know this happens in most jobs, but not to the extent that it happens here. You want a raise? After over 10 years my hourly wage increased less than $1.00. If you don't have family or very close friends in management you will go nowhere here. They don't even tell you your schedule like a normal job. They make you call a number every day with a recording that tells you if you are working the next day! You will get barely any hours (if you don't get laid off) then right before Christmas they will expect you to work 7 days a week if you complain, you're gone. The boss in my department is a complete scumbag. He cares only about himself and his job security. Just remember, I worked here for YEARS, I am not some temp employee just ranting, they absolutely DO NOT care about you unless you have family who is management...TRUST ME...this is only a last resort job!

    Continue reading
    Harry and David2016-04-22
  6. "Horrible Upper Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Ramsey, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Harry and David full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Clients, The staff I hired was reliable and fun

    Cons

    very clicky upper management, had no clue how stores operated.

    Continue reading
    Harry and David2016-03-07
  7. Helpful (3)

    "I should have left sooner."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Seasonal Team Leader in Medford, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harry and David for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people. I had a hard time leaving because of the people I worked with. Hard working and intelligent.

    Cons

    Horrible upper management, zero interest in retaining talented employees long-term, cuts benefits for long time dedicated employees while badmouthing the Affordable Healthcare Act.

    Continue reading
    Harry and David2016-01-15
  8. Helpful (4)

    "BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Medford, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harry and David full-time

    Pros

    Product is generally good and the store discount is good. Peer group was fun to work with. The location is beautiful if you are in to outdoor activities but difficult for someone relocating from a bigger city.

    Cons

    Upper management is creating a toxic environment. There are trust issues, no real direction, and meeting after meeting that never accomplish anything. Certain areas/positions and ideas are dismissed just based on personal agendas. It is very difficult to get anything new implemented unless the idea comes from upper management. Many ideas are killed because upper management "just doesn't like it" even if you back up ideas with sound analysis.

    Continue reading
    Harry and David2014-10-08
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Frustrating Dead-End Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Second Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harry and David part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The employee discount is generous.

    Cons

    Capped employee hours in order to avoid providing benefits, poor communication, demanding employees take on additional responsibilities and tasks without increased compensation, patronizing leadership at the corporate level, no opportunities for advancement, poor planning, ridiculous amount of turnover in upper management

    Continue reading
    Harry and David2014-04-28
  10. "Fun place to work, Good pay, Failing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Second Assistant Store Manager in Aurora, CO
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harry and David

    Pros

    Overall it is one of the easiest jobs I have ever worked at. Especially for the pay. On a store level the management is wonderful and your manager would usually work around your schedule and allow you to have time off if you need it. The customers are usually really easy-going and nice, and you will definitely have regulars. Christmas can be hectic, but can also be some of the most fun you will have working.

    Cons

    Very poor information relay from upper management to store level. They do not listen to advice given and tend to go in the opposite direction. Downtime can be excruciatingly boring at times. Raises and promotions are nonexistent. Sometimes you will get the horrible customer that manages to ruin your day.

    Harry and David2011-08-15
Found 14 reviews