Harsco Reviews | Glassdoor

Harsco Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 164 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Nicholas Grasberger
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, and they gave me a lot of flexibility in my work(in 13 reviews)

  • "Good people Learning experience(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior managers out for themselves(in 6 reviews)

  • "Even if all the management came from very different industries, much more different than the steel industry(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent company, opportunity to do a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Harsco full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Learned so much, stretched and found many opportunities with great recognition

      Cons

      Certain members of management had poor culture in their area

      Harsco2019-02-22
    • "Maintain cost structure"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Junior Cost Accountant 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Harsco full-time

      Pros

      Good people Learning experience .

      Cons

      Distant management. Some unappreciative

      Harsco2019-05-08
    • "No loyalty or communication"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Welder/Fabricator in Tulsa, OK
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Harsco full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Made some great buddies there, and advanced my knowledge/skill in welding alot while there

      Cons

      If you make the wrong person mad then they will make up any reason to do an “investigation” on you and fire you. Any day shift supervisor or lead can say whatever they wish and the hr/office people wont bother to question them

      Advice to Management

      Nothing

      Harsco2019-05-07
    • Helpful (1)

      "Fast paced"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Mechanic 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Harsco full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good pay and benefits. Lots of overtime opportunities if needed.

      Cons

      Management lacking knowledge and planning skills.

      Advice to Management

      Hire management in the maintenance department that actually know what they are doing.

      Harsco2019-02-06
    • Helpful (1)

      "Clueless management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Field 
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Harsco for more than a year

      Pros

      Close to home that’s about it.

      Cons

      Management is extremely inept. Surprised this company is not bankrupt.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your field level employees.

      Harsco2019-02-08
    • Helpful (1)

      "Management is a dumpster fire"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Heavy Equipment Opetator in Pittsburgh, PA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Harsco full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      If there is a union at the plant pay is okay

      Cons

      High management turnover. Worrying about safety goes out window if cost money. Priorities are extremely mixed up.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to the guys in the trenches that do the job every day

      Harsco2018-12-21
    • "Fast paced and challenging"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Harsco full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Plenty of work to keep you busy, great way to learn new skills, never boring as there is not a lack of things to do.

      Cons

      Not great work-life balance, but I don't think that will always be the case

      Advice to Management

      Be quicker to clean out the unproductive people in departments so you don't overwork the good ones.

      Harsco2018-09-30
    • "Great Place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Utility Worker in Newport, AR

      I have been working at Harsco full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Wonderful to work with this company, great pay, great leadership

      Cons

      Time away from family and nothing else

      Harsco2018-09-24
    • "Human Resources"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Harsco full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Family atmosphere Strong management team

        Cons

        Lack of resources for department Process inefficiencies

        Harsco2018-09-23
      • Helpful (2)

        "Ok some positive some negatives"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Harsco full-time

        Pros

        The Company is trying to fix past mistakes and get back on track.

        Cons

        The pay is not great. Corporate culture needs improvement.

        Harsco2018-05-16
      Found 164 reviews