Harte-Hanks Shoppers Reviews | Glassdoor

Harte-Hanks Shoppers Reviews

Updated Dec 2, 2014

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
17%
Recommend to a Friend
0 Ratings
  1. "Amazing growing and learning experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Mira Loma, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Harte-Hanks Shoppers

    Pros

    good opportunity, good in house training in previous years

    Cons

    becoming a publicly traded company completely changed the culture slow to respond to the online aspects of the business

    Advice to Management

    be more aware of what some of your leaders are actually doing day to day and how they interact with their direct reports, lots of favoritism, intimidation, improprieties

    Harte-Hanks Shoppers2011-11-26
  2. "If you like Working in the Ghetto, This is the place to be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Texarkana, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harte-Hanks Shoppers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Compensation is third world. Good benefits. If you can afford them Good training available to younger people. If your over 50 they try and weed you out after 3 years of service.

    Cons

    It's not about people ( employees) It's all about shareholders and the all mighty dollar. Promotions are few far and in between. This place is like the ghetto.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing is constant but change. Senior Management needs to roll with the changes. Quit laying off at the bottom and trim some of the fat at the Top.

    Harte-Hanks Shoppers2014-12-02
  3. "Gone are the good days"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Mission Viejo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harte-Hanks Shoppers full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    autonomy in schedule, clients are awesome

    Cons

    poor pay, poor supoort, poor communication, poor production

    Advice to Management

    work with reps to support them and get production to act like adults, take responsibility and do a good job

    Harte-Hanks Shoppers2013-11-23
  4. "Morale is extremely low"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harte-Hanks Shoppers full-time

    Pros

    - Everyone there has worked for 20+ years and are great people to work with. - Decent Benefits (Life Insurance, 401k, Medical/Dental/Vision)

    Cons

    - Everyone has seen their share of layoffs which makes employees very pessimistic about the future. - Salaries remain the same while healthcare premiums increase.

    Harte-Hanks Shoppers2013-05-07
  5. "The company is not growing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Harte-Hanks Shoppers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people I worked with

    Cons

    Lots of cutbacks in sales

    Advice to Management

    Staff cuts are demotivating.

    Harte-Hanks Shoppers2012-09-18
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Company in decline. Will Fold or be bought out."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Harte-Hanks Shoppers

    Pros

    Good place to work up until 3 years ago. The benefits and pay are fair better can be found elsewhere. Work from home.(which means work all the time).

    Cons

    First, let me say I quit after over a decade with this company. It was a good place to work until they put in new upper management 3 years ago. The Company let tons of people go. Leaving only a few managers, sales reps and very small support staff to handle all the business. Upper management is out of touch. They copy others, with no innovation. They are always behind the 8 ball. The only thing...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I think it's hopeless. This is an old school company run by "good old boys club". The company and the board are controlled by family members. They only way to succeed is if it is sold to someone else with some actual vision.

    Harte-Hanks Shoppers2011-09-07
  7. "if i would to stay on i could have grow more."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prepress in Mira Loma, CA

    I worked at Harte-Hanks Shoppers

    Pros

    the experience of how the newpaper business works

    Cons

    the company downside in the wrong areas.

    Advice to Management

    work with the employees more.

    Harte-Hanks Shoppers2011-05-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "No~~~~"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brea, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Harte-Hanks Shoppers

    Pros

    Good benefits (vacation days, 401k)

    Cons

    Layoff every 3 months. Bad investments, bad business decisions

    Advice to Management

    why? they won't listen

    Harte-Hanks Shoppers2011-06-02
  9. "neutral"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Texarkana, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Harte-Hanks Shoppers

    Pros

    steady because of the revoilving door

    Cons

    promnises given by supervispors and exc,. not fulfilled or carried out. What happen to intergrity?

    Advice to Management

    Where is the interigrity, honesty, the purple promise???? where is the emphisis on leadship and team work? Where is the promises made but not carried out? Let me give it a try...one month you woulds ee a difference in Harte hanks / Fed ex or I would give up my job.....that I so cherish!

    Harte-Hanks Shoppers2011-04-28
  10. "Its Frustrating trying to produce a product that I know could be better, but upper Management doesn't seem to care."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Harte-Hanks Shoppers

    Pros

    I do a service to the community by helping customers reach clients. Over all my job satisfaction is Okay, as I feel that for the most part, someone is saving money when they receive the Flyer.

    Cons

    Upper Management seems, to me, to not have priorities set that will help the company out of the hole created by this economy. As an employee I feel that HHS and the Flyer has contracted too far, with cutbacks and recent layoffs that I can not do my job in a quality and efficient way.

    Advice to Management

    Please someone tell us the reason HHS really is not pursuing extra commercial printing to help carry us through these hard times. Why is HHS content with losing millions every quarter? You have cut us back to the "marrow" while spending has increased in other areas. New EVO cellphones for Management and Reps for example is something that should have been put off until times are better.

    Harte-Hanks Shoppers2011-05-04
Found 14 reviews