Harvard University Graduate Student Reviews | Glassdoor

Harvard University Graduate Student Reviews

Updated Nov 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
98%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Harvard University President Lawrence S. Bacow
Lawrence S. Bacow
1 Rating
  1. "Excellent Place to Learn and Have An Impact"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Graduate Student in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harvard University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Engaging environment to learn and work. Your abilities to create and foster knowledge are limitless.

    Cons

    Quite a bureaucratic place with lots of hurdles.

    Advice to Management

    Less bureaucracy leads to faster innovation.

    Harvard University2019-11-17
  2. "Good opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - PhD Graduate Student 

    I have been working at Harvard University full-time

    Pros

    High quality research and a highly intellectual environment

    Cons

    student funding can be stressful

    Harvard University2019-08-18
  3. "Typical STEM position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Current Employee - PhD Graduate Student 

    I have been working at Harvard University full-time

    Pros

    Talented collegues, best equipment around.

    Cons

    No union, yet. Big pay disparity between departments.

    Harvard University2019-08-11
  4. "Division of Medical Science Graduate Student Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - PhD Graduate Student 

    I worked at Harvard University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Science grads are treated fairly well compared to other graduate students, the DMS staff is very helpful with lots of information, the Harvard name gives you a leg up when applying to grants/funding/etc, really great clubs/people

    Cons

    Harvard loves tradition and that's a bad when it comes to progress, grad students aren't treated as well as undergrads, grad life will likely lead to feeling depressed at some point in time, if you have a difficult PI not much help is provided to solve your problems

    Harvard University2019-08-08
  5. "Really a great place to do science"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Graduate Student in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harvard University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    loved everything about this place

    Cons

    Nothing to complain at all

    Harvard University2019-04-02
  6. "Pretty solid education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harvard University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of great resources and colleagues

    Cons

    The administration is very corporate

    Harvard University2018-07-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "PhD Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Graduate Student in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harvard University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    High intellectual engagement, many many resources at disposal, very bright colleagues and undergraduate students, many opportunities for advancement, vibrant community of ideas

    Cons

    High workload and pressure, variable levels of support and guidance from advisor/mentor, variable lab culture

    Advice to Management

    I love Harvard. My biggest gripe is a general neglect for work/life balance. In my opinion this places an unfortunate strain on graduate students' health and well-being, personal lives, etc. For example, most of my peers no longer maintain hobbies. Of course, this varies to some extent across laboratory and departments, and I don't expect it to be much different given Harvard's focus on excellence. However, given that PhDs take 4-7 years, such sacrifices tend to eat away at the very things that allow for the dogged pursuit of truth and progress.

    Show More
    Harvard University2018-04-29
  8. "Great community, but choose your lab carefully"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Student in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harvard University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Incredible administrative and support staff that genuinely want to see you succeed. Brilliant (and friendly!) students and faculty to bounce ideas with on good days, and to commiserate with when experiments don't go well.

    Cons

    (PhD in Biological and Biomedical Sciences perspective): Professors can sometimes be split between industry and academic commitments, leading to spotty mentorship. This varies considerably on a case-by-case basis (and can be an advantage if you know you want to go into industry) so ask around and make sure you know what type of lab you're joining.

    Advice to Management

    In late 2017, when there was the possibility grad students would face an excessively high tax burden, Harvard's leadership spoke up on our behalf and assured us they would take care of our well being if the tax bill came to pass. Please continue with this type of leadership: actions that demonstrate commitment to student success.

    Harvard University2018-04-17
  9. "Graduate Student in BBS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Graduate Student in Boston, MA

    I have been working at Harvard University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities to learn about careers outside of academic science

    Cons

    BBS is a large program with many different labs. Talk to the BBS office and make sure you join a good one. Most people that are unhappy about grad school are in a bad lab. Don't put yourself in a bad situation.

    Harvard University2018-03-29
  10. "Graduate Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    PhD Graduate Student 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harvard University

    Pros

    Great pay for graduate students doing part time work, interesting work environment

    Cons

    Sometimes menial tasks, hard to have a separation of work and life when you are working and going to school in the same place and it all blends together

    Harvard University2017-05-25
Found 48 reviews