Harvard University Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2,319 of over 3K reviews

4.3
88%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Harvard University President Lawrence S. Bacow
Lawrence S. Bacow
198 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and collaborative environment(in 171 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is encouraged(in 114 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work/life balance is not always achieved(in 66 reviews)

  • "Low pay with a poor life/work balance(in 52 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Harvard University and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Full employment benefits

      Jun 16, 2021 - Research Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work! Harvard provides full employment benefits and career training.

      Cons

      Less benefits available for part-time workers.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      massive pros and cons

      Jun 15, 2021 - Postdoctoral Fellow 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - virtually infinite financial means to support employees - great benefits - great campus

      Cons

      - senior employees known to bully and harass, with no repercussions - diversity is low, and the people in charge of solving that issue are creating more issues than they are solving

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Great Benefits, Lovely Union, Horrible Work Culture and Experience

      May 18, 2021 - Program Coordinator in Cambridge, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      HUCTW (Harvard University Clerical and Technical Workers Union) is a literal godsend and is there to advocate on your behalf. I had a nightmare working situation and they were able to advise me through the process of establishing myself in the office and ultimately leaving after the working situation became untenable.

      Cons

      HR knew that the supervisor I was working under was toxic and had been trying to remedy the situation for almost a decade to no avail. After I left, I think there were some solutions implemented, but the fact that it took almost a decade and countless people pushed out of the office before any substantial change was implemented was ridiculous. Furthermore, the benefits and salary were alright for me as I was a single, fresh out of college person with no dependents (living with roommates, without a car, and with a manageable student debt payment) but I can imagine that the salary is meager for those with dependents (especially living in the Boston area where rent is high). I imagine that salary negotiation is more flexible depending on the individual supervisor, but regardless the salary scale is not very generous for some pay grades.

      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      My work reinforces course content

      Jun 1, 2021 - Graduate Research Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible work schedule Supervisors willing to answer questions about future opportunities/areas of best fit Access to Harvard's resources

      Cons

      Working remote translates into less access to physical library materials that could help with work A lot of screen time

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Teaching Assistant at Harvard Extension School

      Jun 11, 2021 - Teaching Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Teaching at Harvard Extension School is very intellectually stimulating. There are students from all walks of life and from different professional backgrounds and age groups.

      Cons

      The pay for Teaching Assistants and Faculty should increase, when more students take a class.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Nice place to go to grad school

      Jun 15, 2021 - PhD Graduate Student in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      High availability of resources and collaboration opportunities.

      Cons

      Can be high pressure/expectation environment.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Felt Supported Before and During the Pandemic

      Apr 25, 2021 - Museum Fellow in Jamaica Plain, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility to take care of children meant that I was able to keep my job. There are lots of opportunities for me to develop in my career and improve as a member of the workforce. I love that I have access to all of the academic resources that Harvard has to offer, not to mention all of the cultural programs.

      Cons

      The health plan is not as affordable as the one that I was able to enroll in as a member of the staff at Yale. There don't seem to be many opportunities to get to know what goes on in other departments. I think the community here would be stronger if there were more chances to get to know folks from other areas of the school.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Harvard

      Jun 14, 2021 - Tutor in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place for an education!

      Cons

      None. Really enjoyed experience at the university.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Amazing workplace

      Jun 14, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work environment Nice colleagues

      Cons

      Low salary range No other cons

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      very nice

      Jun 10, 2021 - Project Manager in Miami, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I loved working here. It was a great experience

      Cons

      I have no negatives to say

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,319 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Harvard University Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Harvard University? Share Your Experiences

    or