Harvard University Staff Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Harvard University Staff Assistant Reviews

Updated Feb 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
59%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Harvard University President Lawrence S. Bacow
Lawrence S. Bacow
2 Ratings
  1. "Staff Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Staff Assistant III in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harvard University

    Pros

    great colleagues, amazing work/life balance

    Cons

    none so far at the moment.

    Harvard University2015-12-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not much room for growth in the Harvard alumni association"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Staff Assistant III in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Harvard University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are nice, the benefits and the exposure and collaboration with other departments.

    Cons

    Not much interaction with students, very customer service heavy (phones & email)

    Continue reading
    Harvard University2015-10-28
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Staff Assistant III"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Staff Assistant III in Brockton, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harvard University

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, generous time off, annual raises for union, my supervisor is very flexible with schedule

    Cons

    None come to mind - if I had to commute to Boston that would be a con for me.

    Continue reading
    Harvard University2015-07-24
  4. "Great Place, wish work culture was better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Assistant III in Cambridge, MA

    I worked at Harvard University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, University has excellent resources, interesting and educated colleagues

    Cons

    Corporate culture (in the negative) has infiltrated in the last several years, it is noticeably different from when I started 14 years ago, very little upward mobility, Many long-time employees jumped ship when I was there working for the libraries.

    Continue reading
    Harvard University2015-07-08
  5. "Pleasant atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Assistant in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Harvard University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits are pretty good. Can take classes at the Extension School at a discounted rate

    Cons

    Health Benefits are catching up with other companies. Employee pays more.

    Harvard University2015-04-23
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Staff Assistant in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harvard University

    Pros

    The best environment possible. The people are amazing and helpful to work with, they take care of you, teach you and help you grow.

    Cons

    Learning curve can be hard at first.

    Harvard University2015-02-22
  7. "A valuable experience where I was able to pick up job training."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Assistant in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harvard University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very professional attitudes when in the work place. I felt as if my performance was noted. If I had stayed on, I feel as if I could have easily transitioned to more roles.

    Cons

    Payroll was not properly integrated, and it took weeks for changes to be made. Luckily I had other sources of income.

    Harvard University2014-07-31
  8. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Staff Assistant in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harvard University for more than a year

    Pros

    Great location, looks good on a resume, decent pay and benefits. For administrative positions, the work/life balance is decent because staff are unionized.

    Cons

    Sometimes you have to work longer than the union 9 to 5 hours to get your work done on a deadline, and you are not compensated for that extra time. Depending on your unit or department, there can be quite a lot of hurdles to get through before your voice can be properly heard, or an issue can be resolved, especially if it involves communicating with another department.

    Harvard University2014-07-09
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Keep your head down and mouth shut"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Assistant III in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Harvard University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great health insurance and benefits.

    Cons

    Minimal training and no mentorship provided. Extreme levels of compartmentalization where you are unable to pursue any work outside of your job description. You will be yelled at if you have any academic or work interests outside of your job description as well. Lots of behind-the-back talk among employees and no direct feedback is ever provided. Unless you are faculty or you have your doctorate, you are unable to provide feedback or have your own opinion about the way things are run. Remember that Harvard has outgrown its status as a university. It is a factory which prides itself on intellect and innovation, yet this could not be any further from the truth.

    Continue reading
    Harvard University2014-07-27
  10. Helpful (5)

    "The right job is everything"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Assistant I in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harvard University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are fantastic, and union membership is a huge plus. The pay is very good, considering how easy my job is.

    Cons

    My particular position has absolutely no opportunity for growth, or even expanded responsibilities in the role, because my office fights to justify every one of its staff to a department that seems to think we're unnecessary. My job is permanent, but has a mandatory 8-week absence every summer, and it is the lowest pay grade at the University. I have interviewed for several other jobs elsewhere at the University, with no success, in spite of my extensive resume. Internal competition for other jobs here is fierce.

    Harvard University2014-04-03

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 43 reviews