Harvard University Teaching Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Harvard University Teaching Assistant Reviews

Updated Jan 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Harvard University President Lawrence S. Bacow
Lawrence S. Bacow
3 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harvard University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, smart people, allows for autonomy

    Cons

    Student teaching jobs are less applicable to jobs outside of academia.

    Harvard University2019-09-01
  2. "Studio Teaching Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teaching Assistant in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harvard University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great experience in learning and dealing with students if you are thinking of getting into teaching at some point in your career. Very smart student body which will be an additional learning experience from a student TA perspective

    Cons

    Head professor throws work on you, asks you to lead students without actually leading or giving formal and directive feedback, industry standard pay for a TA, however a cap of 10hrs/week of pay even though working above 20

    Harvard University2020-01-21
  3. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harvard University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Low hours, rather flexible for a partime position

    Cons

    Variable teaching resources Limited benefits, which can be frustating

    Harvard University2019-12-06
  4. "Underpaid, too many students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant 

    I worked at Harvard University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If it's a STEM class, you can prepare easily, and it scales relatively easily for larger classroom sizes and grading is easier because there are more obviously right and wrong answers

    Cons

    If it's a social science class, and you are stuck with more than 30 people in your class there is no way you are going to be a good TA unless you take way way longer to prepare, in which case you are being underpaid. Also grad inflation devalues grades (BOOO). Either pass/fail or REAL grades, please.

    Advice to Management

    cap class sizes

    Harvard University2019-12-04
  5. "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant 

    I have been working at Harvard University part-time

    Pros

    flexible hour adjustable in semester

    Cons

    low rate comparing to other universities

    Harvard University2019-05-31
  6. "Amazing group of highly educated individuals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harvard University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great network and community to helpful, passionate, intelligent individuals. Great preceptors that are flexible and always willing to help.

    Cons

    only that I commented from an hour away and the parking is not great.

    Harvard University2019-05-24
  7. "Employment experience at Harvard University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Graduate Teaching Assistant in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harvard University for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work and academic environment. Social life is wonderful as employees come from very diverse cultures. Very supportive employer attitude in a collegial fashion.

    Cons

    Rental accommodation within commuting distance of the University is prohibitively expensive. However the many eating places provide a huge variety of restaurants and the cost of meals are reasonable.

    Advice to Management

    Sustain the excellent work environment currently existing at the University.

    Harvard University2017-11-08
  8. "Teaching Fellowship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Teaching Assistant in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harvard University for less than a year

    Pros

    This was a premier opportunity to work alongside a truly incredible researcher (Dr. Tokuhama-Espinosa) and revisit the content of my graduate program in human developmental psychology. The student engagement was remarkable and reflection the significant effort that we put into designing the courses.

    Cons

    The hourly compensation worked out to be abysmally low, but that was because I put so much time into it. I signed a contract for something which was far more time consuming than I had imagined. That said, the work was meaningful and I wanted to put the time into, regardless of compensation.

    Advice to Management

    Take on one more TA / TF than you feel is necessary because, that would make the worklaod / compensation more reasonable.

    Harvard University2016-10-24
  9. "TA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Teaching Assistant in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harvard University

    Pros

    Being a TA's is an awesome experience to learn and teach. I feel like I learned more from teaching than from when I took the class because of the in depth knowledge needed.

    Cons

    No real cons, it is time consuming and is not for everyone, specially if already stretched thin in time.

    Harvard University2016-01-22
  10. "Teaching Fellow Harvard University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teaching Assistant in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harvard University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, intimate relationship with professors. Also a good side job to make a lot of money as a student.

    Cons

    your experience really depends on the professor you are working with. for example i have heard excellent stories and horror stories.

    Harvard University2014-02-27
Found 17 reviews