Harvard University Teaching Fellow Reviews | Glassdoor

Harvard University Teaching Fellow Reviews

Updated Jan 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
34%
Recommend to a Friend
Harvard University President Lawrence S. Bacow
Lawrence S. Bacow
0 Rating
  1. "Great teaching position for graduate student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Fellow 

    I worked at Harvard University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible, good relative pay.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Harvard University2019-01-27
  2. "low pay, experience depends on course"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teaching Fellow 

    I worked at Harvard University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with motivated, intelligent students.

    Cons

    Low pay. Long hours. Sometimes students can be difficult.

    Harvard University2020-01-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Harvard School of Engineering and Applied Sciences (SEAS)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teaching Fellow in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Harvard University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    More Than Half of Grad Student Survey Respondents Report Discrimination

    Cons

    Abusive faculty and bureaucratic management

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Harvard University2019-11-08
  4. "Good learning experience and good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Teaching Fellow 

    I worked at Harvard University part-time

    Pros

    Harvard pays its teaching fellows a decent salary

    Cons

    Hire more full-time teaching staff or grad students as undergraduates have conflicts of interests very often

    Harvard University2019-09-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "low pay , unpredictable hiring structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Teaching Fellow 

    I have been working at Harvard University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    getting to know the students

    Cons

    low pay, long hours

    Harvard University2019-06-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Fellow in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Harvard University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay. I get paid well.

    Cons

    Not enough pay. I wish I was paid more.

    Advice to Management

    Pay me more.

    Harvard University2019-04-07
  7. "Stimulating work in an abusive environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teaching Fellow in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Harvard University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The students are incredibly gifted and the work is stimulating

    Cons

    The people I worked for and with were extremely abusive. It was a very difficult place to work and the pay was terrible. There were no benefits at all, no time off, and the hours were very long.

    Advice to Management

    Employees need to be fairly compensated for their work. There needs to be a system of checks and balances in place to ensure the safety of employees.

    Harvard University2019-04-14
  8. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Teaching Fellow in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harvard University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learned a lot of math by having to teach it.

    Cons

    Low pay for teaching fellows.

    Harvard University2019-03-23
  9. "Great place to be a Teaching Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Teaching Fellow in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harvard University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    As a TF designing an interactive and engaging course it is a joy to work at Harvard. The students are willing to take a chance and the faculty support staff are terrific as well.

    Cons

    It is highly structured, so sometimes it feels as though things are happening without a well communicated reason or strategy.

    Harvard University2016-11-02
  10. "Teaching Fellow Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Teaching Fellow in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harvard University for less than a year

    Pros

    Harvard University offers good pay to its student Teaching Fellows. Highly recommend for undergrads.

    Cons

    Holding a job on campus while keeping up with schoolwork is difficult but nonetheless rewarding.

    Advice to Management

    I don't have advice to management -- I believe they are doing the best they can.

    Harvard University2016-10-22
Found 22 reviews