Harvey Norman Holdings Reviews | Glassdoor

Harvey Norman Holdings Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 137 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Harvey Norman Holdings CEO Katie Page
Katie Page
53 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "How life is for a staff member is dependent on what franchisee they have in their shop at the time(in 12 reviews)

  • "Pay not great, long hours when stocktaking(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Harvey Norman Holdings part-time

    Pros

    Nice People and competitive environment. Good Team!

    Cons

    Working after-hours, although paid, is exhausted.

    Advice to Management

    Employee Benefits

    Harvey Norman Holdings2019-04-29
  2. "Visual Merchandiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harvey Norman Holdings part-time

    Pros

    Great diversity in job

    Cons

    There are no cons to me

    Harvey Norman Holdings2019-04-28
  3. "Good place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ECommerce Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Harvey Norman Holdings full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Boss gives opportunity for career advancement

    Cons

    No cons at the moment

    Harvey Norman Holdings2019-04-26
  4. "Alright job, way too much pressure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salesperson 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Harvey Norman Holdings full-time

    Pros

    Commission earning on top of fixed minimum wage, helping customers, staff discount, opportunities for free/discounted products through retail training, coworkers/culture is friendly and supportive

    Cons

    Way too intense KPIs, no extra pay for weekends or public holidays, very rarely closed on public holidays, expected to work extra hours (12 hour shift), 30min lunch breaks, made to be super pushy to customers (policy was to try to sell every customer who came through the door optus, internet security, tech support, post-warranty cover, surge protector, etc. regardless of need. a failure to sell was looked down upon.)...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    KPIs are understandable in retail but the job is too high-pressure for what it is.

    Harvey Norman Holdings2019-04-29
  5. "Was Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Warehouse Worker in Silverwater

      I worked at Harvey Norman Holdings full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Most of the people are helpful and friendly.

      Cons

      The warehousing roles a quite repetitive. I also heard from many people in warehouse that there is not much room for advancement.

      Harvey Norman Holdings2019-04-27
    • "sales person"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Harvey Norman Holdings full-time

      Pros

      good staff discount and nice boss. friendly team. loving to talk with different people

      Cons

      have to work on weekends and public holiday which cannot make life and work balance.

      Advice to Management

      boss a little bit moody, but still nice to me most of time. and always share suppliers' gifts

      Harvey Norman Holdings2019-04-01
    • "Good company to work for while studying"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Harvey Norman Holdings part-time

        Pros

        Flexible hours, Friendly and understanding team members and good working environment

        Cons

        Sometimes you can be by yourself in a department, Sales people are hungry for their commission on financing.

        Harvey Norman Holdings2019-03-11
      • "Great comp, fun co-workers"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales Associate in Sydney
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Harvey Norman Holdings full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        I enjoyed the culture oriented toward rewarding performance

        Cons

        Terrrible boss, would not reccommend anyone working with him

        Harvey Norman Holdings2019-03-11
      • "Sales Conultant/2IC"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I worked at Harvey Norman Holdings full-time

        Pros

        Staff and franchisee will do everything they can to help you achieve your sales targets. You get to experience most aspects of the business.

        Cons

        A little to much focus on "Add on" selling. Head office often don't communicate promotions with the store with enough information.

        Advice to Management

        While the company has made good steps towards focusing on customer service. I would suggest taking greater steps to ensure proactive customer service rather then reactive.

        Harvey Norman Holdings2019-03-09
      • "Fun if Focused"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Harvey Norman Holdings full-time

          Pros

          Money, networking, people, never boring

          Cons

          7 days a week

          Harvey Norman Holdings2019-02-25
        Found 137 reviews