KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

HashiCorp

Engaged Employer

HashiCorp

Add a Review

HashiCorp Reviews

Updated Jun 22, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 143 of over 157 reviews

4.1
80%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
HashiCorp CEO Dave McJannet
Dave McJannet
116 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

403

60 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "good people and atmoshphere(in 20 reviews)
  • "growing company, HashiCorp has great culture and is in it for 'the right reasons.'(in 18 reviews)
  • "good pay(in 6 reviews)
  • "Awesome team(in 6 reviews)
  • "Great leadership on Sales team and Corporate as a whole(in 6 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Gret Company

    Jun 13, 2022 - Software Engineer II in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I can only speak for the the team that I am on, but all my teammates practice the HashiCorp values and make it an awesome team to be on.

    Cons

    I don't really have any real cons.

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Excellent

    Jun 10, 2022 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    none to speak of right now

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good

    Jun 9, 2022 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Flexibility - Good pay - Great tem

    Cons

    N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Austin Office Toxic

    Jun 22, 2022 - Business People Operations 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They talk a good game

    Cons

    Their actions don’t match words. Not supportive. People stab you in the back and take credit for your work or blame you for their mistakes and shortcomings

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Overall a good company to work for

    May 27, 2022 - Senior Support Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Compensation is good, culture is becoming more corporate (organized?) - but it's still pleasant. Lots of smart and talented people. Diverse team, and an obvious company emphasis on recognizing everyone. Remote first policy is great. Decent time off.

    Cons

    My only complaint is when I was hired there as an unlimited PTO policy in place and shortly after switched to 4 weeks PTO. Not a big deal, but it felt weird to have that change right after I started.

    3 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Nothing bad to say.

    May 27, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team. Company matches competitors’ offerings, I believe.

    Cons

    I honestly can’t complain; start-up(ish), but not to a huge fault.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Still a great place to work

    Jun 8, 2022 - Support Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Support culture as a whole is really open and flexible with staff.

    Cons

    It's not a small startup anymore since the company went public. More growth means more middle management.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Disappointed

    Jun 9, 2022 - Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People seems really nice, it’s bad

    Cons

    I did 7 interviews in a row in less than a week Lose so many time for at the end don’t have a proper answer I asked 4 times nobody answered it’s really not respectful

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Worst company I've ever worked at

    May 31, 2022 - Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company is remote first which is good

    Cons

    - CEO is a strange guy...more of a technical leader than a real CEO...stock price reflects his poor strategy - CRO thinks hiring all VMWare people will right the ship - if anything it is sinking the culture and company faster - Huge red flag where a majority of the business comes from other well funded startups - in this bear market that is a major problem as many startups won't survive - Biggest red flag for salespeople is that no one here is making great money ( don't let anyone lie to you...no one here has had their best earnings years while at Hashi) - One of the founders is full checked out...never a good sign when one has totally lost passion - The products are so complicated even the CEO and CRO don't know how to properly position them - There is definitely a bias problem at the company (VMWare people vs non) - The salary and benefits are terrible - this company pays below average for sales people and even their managers are on packages that are lower than OTE packages for non-managers at other companies - Frontline sales leadership can sometimes be okay but 2nd line leadership is the worst I've ever seen in my entire career - Im not sure there is anyone in the company that can effectively sell these products. It is that complicated - I say this even though I have a extremely technical sales background - Open source is code for sales people are the step child of this org - engineering and product people loathe sales - product updates routinely handicap the sales process bc they give away almost every feature free with open source - If you like a lower salary and OTE, no 401k match, small amount of RSUs whose value keeps tanking, being micromanaged by VMWare leaders, selling products that are so hard to understand that turnover is extremely high then this is the job for you!

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    It's Great

    Apr 28, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote first organization. Culture is recognized as paramount to the company's success. Talented team who works together to tackles issues and innovate.

    Cons

    None to share at the moment.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 143 Reviews

HashiCorp Reviews FAQs

HashiCorp has an overall rating of 4.1 out of 5, based on over 157 reviews left anonymously by employees. 80% of employees would recommend working at HashiCorp to a friend and 82% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 4% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, HashiCorp employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at HashiCorp. This rating has improved by 4% over the last 12 months.

80% of HashiCorp employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated HashiCorp 4.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.2 for culture and values and 4.0 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at HashiCorp to be career development, senior leadership, culture and the cons to be benefits, compensation, management.

Popular Careers with HashiCorp Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at HashiCorp? Share Your Experiences

or

HashiCorp Photos

+ Add Photo
HashiCorp photo of: Preeti Somal, the VP of Engineering
HashiCorp photo of: #4
HashiCorp photo of: Hashiconf 2019
HashiCorp photo of: Hashiconf
HashiCorp photo of: Women@ HashiCorp
HashiCorp photo of: HashiCorp Executive Team
HashiCorp photo of: Armon Dadgar and Mitchell Hashimoto
See All Photos