Hastings Mutual Reviews

Updated Apr 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
88%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Hastings Mutual President Joe Babiak
Joe Babiak
43 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance is encouraged(in 7 reviews)

  • "Pay and benefits are good overall(in 3 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There is not a lot of women (a few) in upper management(in 4 reviews)

  • "The parking lot can be a bummer sometimes(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years
      Featured Review

      Balance and Growth

      Aug 7, 2020 - Department Supervisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance is encouraged. Company will pay for your insurance education. Amazing people and community.

      Cons

      Walk from the parking lot.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hastings Mutual Response

      Human Resources Specialist

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! We agree; HMIC is a great community with awesome people.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company!

      Apr 15, 2021 - Software Developer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company! Everyone is nice and works well as a team.

      Cons

      There isn't any cons that I can think of.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company!

      Mar 2, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hastings Mutual is a great company to work for. 100% guarantee you will love the atmosphere and individuals who work here. Competitive benefits and compensation. Beautiful building. Great cafeteria. HMIC offers so much to their employees. Grateful to work here.

      Cons

      The parking situation is silly.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hastings Mutual Response

      Human Resources Specialist

      We appreciate you leaving this feedback! We agree, HMIC is a great atmosphere with great individuals. Thank you for the work you do each day here at Hastings Mutual.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company to Work For

      Jan 20, 2021 - Specialist in Hastings, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company has a solid strategy for growth and financial stability is strong. Has responded to COVID very well, with increased communications and resources available since most staff went remote. Benefits all-around are good. Good people throughout the business too, it is very family like.

      Cons

      Inconsistency in leaders. Some are great and actively lead, while others don't share a vision or motivation to develop people. Change is happening, but its slow.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hastings Mutual Response

      Human Resources Specialist

      We really appreciate you providing this feedback and are happy to read such great comments. We will also be sure to share your comments on leadership and change with our senior officers, too. Thank you for the work you do for HMIC!

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great Work Environment

      Feb 2, 2021 - Manager in Hastings, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work/life balance Friendly, hard-working employees Newly remodeled office Big enough to have the resources, small enough to have an impact

      Cons

      No real significant cons. The distance to larger cities, i.e. Grand Rapids, Lansing, etc. makes the commute a bit long for some employees.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hastings Mutual Response

      Human Resources Specialist

      Thank you for providing this feedback and taking the time to do so. We agree HMIC is made up of friendly and hardworking people!

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Company to work for

      Feb 22, 2021 - Commercial Insurance Manager in Grand Rapids, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Family Company. Employees can be challenged to work on projects that affect the future of the company.

      Cons

      There are no many cons.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hastings Mutual Response

      Human Resources Specialist

      Thank you so much for providing us this feedback! We are certainly excited about the projects and initiatives that will help us grow and innovate.

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Hastings Mutual

      Feb 24, 2021 - APD in Hastings, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company to work for.

      Cons

      The claims department is over worked and is high stress.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hastings Mutual Response

      Human Resources Specialist

      Your feedback is greatly appreciated, thank you for taking the time! Your comments about stress within the Claim area are also noted. We strive to provide a challenging, yet manageable, workload for all of our employees and have shared this further with our senior leadership.

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great Company

      Feb 16, 2021 - Underwriter in Hastings, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people, work balance, and working from home

      Cons

      Too conservative and should open up to more risks

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hastings Mutual Response

      Human Resources Specialist

      Thank you for providing us this feedback and for your contributions to making HMIC great!

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company

      Jan 26, 2021 - Claim Leader in Grand Rapids, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Family atmosphere and great people

      Cons

      Flat organization so limited upward movement

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hastings Mutual Response

      Human Resources Specialist

      Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback!

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Lost in the Land that time forgot

      Jan 14, 2021 - Commercial Underwriting in Hastings, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Payroll, Benefits none other to mention.

      Cons

      Management Direction, Middle Managers lie about employees and make up ways to rid you. HR is perthitic, wont go to bat for you . Then the Middle Mgt leave to another regional carrier without notice.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hastings Mutual Response

      Human Resources Specialist

      We are saddened to hear these feelings around your time at Hastings Mutual. We continuously work to foster a workplace that is transparent, equitable, and works in the best interest of everyone. We wish you the best professionally.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 68 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Hastings Mutual Job Seekers

    IT Systems Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Application Development Manager
    Learn About the Job
    Outside Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Hastings Mutual? Share Your Experiences

    Hastings Mutual logo
    or