Hastings Mutual Reviews

Updated Mar 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Hastings Mutual President Joe Babiak
Joe Babiak
32 Ratings
Pros
  • "The family and work-life balance has always been something I've appreciated about Hastings Mutual(in 6 reviews)

  • "Paid time off, 401K, health, dental and life insurance and more(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "There is not a lot of women (a few) in upper management(in 4 reviews)

  • "Operationally HMIC is by modern standards somewhat immature and out dated(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Mutual full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I feel extremely grateful to have had the opportunity to work at Hastings Mutual. The connections and friendships made here have helped me grow and succeed professionally and individually. The atmosphere is inviting, positive, and understanding. HMIC offers opportunity for advancement, growth, and further education and is dedicated to helping their employees improve and succeed. I would recommend this company to anyone looking for a great work/life balance, great coworkers, and a great company!

    Cons

    The parking lot isn't great but I'm lazy.

    Hastings Mutual2019-04-26

    Hastings Mutual Response

    April 29, 2019Human Resources Specialist

    We're extremely grateful to have you on the HMIC team! Thank you for your feedback.

  2. "Enjoyed"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Hastings Mutual

    Pros

    Salary is good for work load.

    Cons

    Constantly changing management style makes morale low.

    Hastings Mutual2020-03-12

    Hastings Mutual Response

    March 13, 2020Human Resources Specialist

    We appreciate you taking the time to provide this feedback. Most of all, we appreciate you!

  3. "Enjoyed the job, not the “politics”."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Property Claims Adjuster in Hastings, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hastings Mutual full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Worked remotely during my employment

    Cons

    Micromanaged by certain supervisors on occasion.

    Continue reading
    Hastings Mutual2019-06-12

    Hastings Mutual Response

    June 14, 2019Human Resources Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your position and the ability to work remote. Your constructive feedback is noted and will be shared with our leadership teams as this commentary helps us to improve and optimize HMIC as an employer. Thank you for your service to HMIC and we wish you the very best!

  4. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hastings Mutual full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Small company, not just a number.

    Cons

    Some struggles with system improvement.

    Hastings Mutual2019-05-14

    Hastings Mutual Response

    May 15, 2019Human Resources Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are certainly proud to offer an environment that offers the ability to make an impact on the business and have your efforts seen easily. Thank you again!

  5. "A Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims in Hastings, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Mutual full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I really enjoy the people I work with. Hastings Mutual does a great job of creating a atmosphere of teamwork, which really goes a long way when it comes to whether or not you enjoy coming to work. The family and work-life balance has always been something I've appreciated about Hastings Mutual. I've never felt I need to choose one over the other.

    Cons

    The parking lot can be a bummer sometimes.

    Hastings Mutual2019-04-22

    Hastings Mutual Response

    April 29, 2019Human Resources Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and more importantly- the contributions you bring to HMIC!

  6. "No Future!"

    2.0
     

    I have been working at Hastings Mutual

    Pros

    The “worker bees “ are the heart and soul of the company. They are the best part of this company.

    Cons

    Upper management. No vision for the company.

    Continue reading
    Hastings Mutual2019-04-04

    Hastings Mutual Response

    April 4, 2019Human Resources Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on working at Hastings Mutual and your service to the company. We are certainly happy to hear you enjoy the relationships with your colleagues. Your comments regarding leadership are important to us and will be shared with the appropriate parties. If you have any additional concerns please don't hesitate to share them with your leader or a member of the Human Resources team.

  7. "Claims"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Hastings Mutual full-time

    Pros

    Onsite cafeteria has good food at a reasonable price.

    Cons

    Management lacks integrity, skill and professionalism. Parking arrangements.

    Continue reading
    Hastings Mutual2019-04-06

    Hastings Mutual Response

    April 11, 2019Human Resources Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to voice your feedback on working at Hastings Mutual, and are sorry that you feel this way. We take pride in fostering a culture of respect and professionalism and will certainly share your thoughts with our leadership teams. HMIC is committed to being an employer of choice and all feedback is used to help us maintain that objective.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Underwriting"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Operations in Hastings, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Mutual full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people all-around. I've never witnessed any backstabbing or drama. Good reputation and name in the industry, even for a smaller carrier. Many big changes in motion like other reviews have mentioned, BTP being the biggest. Benefits are decent, and there is a bonus program. Pay is average. The cafeteria is nice, especially during the winter.

    Cons

    Underwriting has had many leadership changes, for various reasons. For a while there was a lot of uncertainty. There is new leadership in place which helps, but it's too early to tell. There tends to be a divide among some departments like marketing and underwriting. BTP is on paper going to really help but getting there is tough.

    Continue reading
    Hastings Mutual2019-02-01

    Hastings Mutual Response

    April 4, 2019Human Resources Specialist

    Thank you for your positive and candid comments. Your feedback on BTP and departmental differences is certainly noted and we will be sure to share this with members of the leadership team. Thank you again!

  9. "Good Company Overall"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Ops in Hastings, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings Mutual full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly people and environment. You can move up pretty easily if you put forth the effort. I like having a cafeteria onsite and the little perks they offer like jean days, free lunches and events are a nice touch. Pay is good usually.

    Cons

    Guidewire is a big project so many part of the business are stressed. Benefits can be pricey depending on your situation but there are options to choose from and they have pretty much the standard packages with everything else. They were slow to change for many years and now their playing catchup which is good but it can be much to keep up with at times.

    Continue reading
    Hastings Mutual2018-09-23

    Hastings Mutual Response

    October 1, 2018Human Resources Specialist

    Thank you for your detailed comments on Hastings Mutual. This feedback is shared with our leadership teams regularly so we can continuously improve the overall environment in which we work. Don't hesitate to share your thoughts with your leader, HR, or anonymously via Suggestion Ox on the company Intranet. Thanks!

  10. "A decent place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hastings Mutual full-time

    Pros

    local, cafeteria, decent benefits, coworkers are helpful

    Cons

    Standards across departments are very different, pay could be more competitive as you prove your worth,

    Hastings Mutual2018-09-14

    Hastings Mutual Response

    October 1, 2018Human Resources Specialist

    Hello, and thank you for your feedback! We are always receptive and appreciative to comments from our past employees. Best wishes to you professionally and personally.

Found 50 reviews