Hastings & Hastings Reviews | Glassdoor

Hastings & Hastings Reviews

Updated Apr 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
David G. Hastings
8 Ratings
  1. "Great company and work environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Front Desk Receptionist in Casa Grande, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hastings & Hastings part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hastings and Hastings is a very great company to work with. It is a great job to get better experience talking to clients and learning new things. Leaving the company was bittersweet. I loved this job and company!

    Cons

    None, everything was great for me

    Advice to Management

    Jenny, Keep doing what you do to keep the company running good. You are such a great HR manager!

    Hastings & Hastings2019-04-25
  2. "Grateful for my time here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Assistant in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hastings & Hastings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If it is your first time working at a law firm or any office setting, this place is definitely a good start, at least for me it was. Working here made me realize that I loved working in an office environment.

    Cons

    It can fast paced and dynamic, but that is what makes it fun I guess

    Advice to Management

    Don’t stop caring about other employees. Jenny DeVault, the HR Manager, was very easy to work with and I liked that I can go to her for any concerns that I had.

    Hastings & Hastings2019-01-27
  3. "A Career at Hastings & Hastings, P.C."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Paralegal in Chandler, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings & Hastings full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hastings & Hastings, P.C., offers stimulating work and a great team environment. I had the pleasure to work alongside the HR Director/Business Manager, Jennifer DeVault. She taught me how to be an effective manager and leader. She is the greatest counterpart one could ask for because she truly makes and effort to listen to all employees to strive for an enjoyable work environment for all.

    Cons

    This is a career, not just a job. You will be most successful if you are ready to apply yourself and work hard!

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management would be to create an annual employee survey to keep the communication flowing. In my time working at Hastings & Hastings, P.C., management has always been open to hearing my suggestions on how we could improve. I think by actively/consistently reaching out to employees, you open the door for even greater growth.

    Hastings & Hastings2018-11-21
  4. "Professional, stable, friendly place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paralega in Glendale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hastings & Hastings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Attorney's are very knowledgeable and very approachable. They will answer legal questions you may have with detailed explanations. Jennifer Devault, HR Manager is an outstanding person to have as HR. Jennifer works hard to make this place an awesome place to work. Co-workers are experienced and are willing to share their knowledge.

    Cons

    Heavy workload but manageable. If you are willing to work hard and learn daily, this works for you.

    Advice to Management

    I have no advice for management. This law firm has been around for so long, you must be doing something right!

    Hastings & Hastings2018-10-15
  5. "Great company with growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings & Hastings full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Approachable management and staff. Continuous training. Friendly environment. Employer has been accommodating when family emergencies have come up.

    Cons

    There is nothing that I can think of at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Continue training staff and providing growth opportunities.

    Hastings & Hastings2018-06-06
  6. "Great Family Oriented Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hastings & Hastings full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. Very family oriented. Good Benefits and coworkers are nice.

    Cons

    see our own commercials and billboards everywhere, haha

    Hastings & Hastings2018-02-28
  7. "Paralegal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paralegal in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hastings & Hastings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved working for this company and my co-workers. I was always busy. It is very refreshing to have had worked for a boss and company that cared so much about me as an individual.

    Cons

    I have no complaints about this company.

    Hastings & Hastings2015-07-09
  8. "Great Opportunity and Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Paralegal 

      I have been working at Hastings & Hastings full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Knowledgeable and approachable attorneys make for an excellent learning environment in a high volume, fast paced law office. Jenny, HR/Business Manager quickly resolves employee issues and truly advocates for all employees.

      Cons

      Multiple offices throughout the valley make it difficult to build coworker relationships.

      Advice to Management

      Provide employee seminars and training programs to encourage and cultivate relationships and professional development.

      Hastings & Hastings2019-01-21
    • "Leaving Is Bittersweet"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Paralegal in Glendale, AZ
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Hastings & Hastings full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      I started at H&H part-time as a file clerk with no previous paralegal experience. I wound up taking a paralegal position within a short period of time as the senior paralegal left on maternity leave. I was thrown into 300+ cases and had no clue what I was even doing. However, the attorney worked with me and helped make me an amazing paralegal. Paralegals in other offices answered questions and the paralegal on maternity...

      Show More

      Cons

      No place is perfect and H&H is not without issues, but they are always trying to improve and keep up with the changing atmosphere of employment dynamics.

      Hastings & Hastings2018-10-16
    • "Paralegal"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Paralegal in Phoenix, AZ
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Hastings & Hastings for less than a year

      Pros

      Everyone keeps to themselves in this office.

      Cons

      High turnover rates, no formal training, low salary, incompetent lawyers, makeshift office setting, hardly any support from supervising attorney, Attorneys gossip about current and previous employees. Very unprofessional!

      Advice to Management

      Company needs to pay employees what they deserve per their experience and education. Attorneys need to be respectful of employees. Train your employees!!!! I cannot stress this enough. 6 paralegals had been through the Phoenix office in a matter of months due to a very difficult attorney and the culture in the office. The clients deserve better than that, but to Hastings and Hastings everyone is replaceable. There...

      Show More
      Hastings & Hastings2016-08-26
    Found 10 reviews