Hatch Electrical Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Hatch Electrical Engineer Reviews

Updated Jan 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
96%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Hatch CEO John Bianchini
John Bianchini
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (11)

    "Management not acting in Good Faith"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Electrical Engineer in Trafford, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hatch for more than a year

    Pros

    I felt the Pittsburgh office staff was great, and I enjoyed working with everyone. When the work was there, it was interesting.

    Cons

    The company's "new era" leaves much to be desired for the employee. It currently is catering to the "young professionals", without showing much regard to established engineers and designers. Multiple policy changes from the home office have not been in the employees best interests, and overall there has been a lack of respect for established employees in the past year. The final insult to me (and the one which prompted this review) was that I knew business was very light and that I disagreed with the direction the company was taking, so I found a new job and gave my resignation, allowing 2 weeks to help transfer any jobs, and to act in good faith to a company that in the past I have highly respected. Unfortunately, management chose to release me a day later, but refused to "pay me out" for the time that I had agreed to work. Mind you I still had work available that could be done. They refused in what I consider a cowardly way, in that I had asked what day they would be paying me to, and they dodged the answer multiple times. I assume they hoped I would just leave and not ask questions. Eventually they gave me a straight answer after continued questioning. I consider this very poor business ethics, they should have acted towards me with the same respect that I had shown the company. Combined with other issues that I mention above, I consider this a hostile corporate environment. If you are an existing employee and plan on giving your 2 week notice, I would be very cautious as Hatch will likely not honor the 2 weeks. Either clear it with your new employer that you could possibly start early or do not give advance notice. To potential new employees, heed the warning. This company has seen better times, but right now the current management is struggling to say the least.

    Continue reading
    Hatch2016-07-05
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Overworked underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Electrical Engineer 

    I worked at Hatch full-time

    Pros

    Good learning experience, good people

    Cons

    Not paid well, management doesn't care about their employees, shares are near impossible to get

    Hatch2020-01-02
  3. Helpful (1)

    "very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hatch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    best place to work and its fun and challanging

    Cons

    sometime tasks are overloaded but it is the nature of the job

    Continue reading
    Hatch2019-02-24
  4. "Good career start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Electrical Engineering Co-Op in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hatch for less than a year

    Pros

    Newly renovated clean office space, nice area downtown, average employee ages were younger, had enough money to spend on employee events.

    Cons

    Traffic to and from work since it’s downtown, kind of boring for a co-op since they only hire a couple at a time.

    Hatch2018-08-03
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Discrimination against non-white and women employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Intermediate Electrical Engineer in Thornhill, ON

    I worked at Hatch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Challenging projects and lots of Travels

    Cons

    When it comes to lay-offs, they target non-white and women employees.

    Hatch2016-05-04
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Electrical EIT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Electrical Engineer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hatch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunities if you can put the time in. Tons of experience within the firm, can work in any field within the company

    Cons

    No slack. Tough to move up. You need to be driven if you want to keep the job. Organizational structure isn't totally clear

    Hatch2016-03-27
  7. "One of the best EPCM companies out there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Mississauga, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hatch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Industry standard compensation, career growth for engineers is strong and performance based (some politics as usual). Great learning experience for those starting their careers, lots of training opportunities.

    Cons

    Need to be very proactive to manage your career and choose projects, otherwise you will just get staffed on projects randomly and end with no cohesive experience. Lot of travel required, sometimes for long periods in remote areas.

    Continue reading
    Hatch2014-09-28
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Electrical Engineer."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrical Engineer in Wollongong
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hatch full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Can gain good experience at the junior engineer level. Exposure to EPCM rather than purely maintenance engineering is a benefit. If you seek it out you can accelerate your learning by getting a good mix of design office experience coupled with site experience. Hatch can be a good place to build a resume as a junior engineer / graduate, if you manage and drive your work correctly. There are no real rigid work hours and your office time can be flexible. Some projects have core hours that all employees must be available for meetings and project work during but other than that you can work when you like. But you must bill 40 hour a week, every week. As others have said Hatch can be the goose that lays golden eggs - once you are an associate.

    Cons

    The company is very focused on billable hours. Fair enough, they are a business after all. But this can lead to being forgotten if you are on a site and have ongoing billable work. This is because the focus of management will be to find work for those that are running out of work or currently booking time to over heads. So if you are on a op support role on site you tend to be forgotten about. Overseas assignments and plumb jobs are given mainly to those in hub offices and to those in close proximity to the managers making the decisions. Training and career direction / advancement is a very smoke and mirrors type of set up. The phrase "it is your career and you must drive it" is often used to place the onus of career development and training upon the employee. Not once during my 5 years was I approached to attend a course or was I given career advice to attend certain courses. Remuneration is on the low side compared to industry standard. HR told me that they don’t want people in the Hatch "family" that are concerned about money as that does not fit into the Hatch "culture". I believe that this is why Hatch suffers from a skills gap for the 5 to 10 year experience range. Juniors come to Hatch, gain experience, but are not rewarded financially and so they leave for better paying competitor. Bonuses or “discretionary payments” as they are called were almost non-existent during my tenure. When one was paid it was a very small amount i.e. <$1k. But it is still better than nothing. The Professional Development Program is a joke. It is a purchased program bought from Engineers Australia as a pathway to gaining Chartered status. This is encouraged so that Hatch can justify billing you out for more. If you are not in the hub offices the internal PDP support is non-existent other than tedious phone hook-ups that provide little to no tangible value. Hatch will "try" to get you the experience required to complete the requirements for chartered status, but this is not really driven as a priority. Granted, Hatch does pay your fees for obtaining and maintaining chartered status. There is only passive mentoring i.e. only if you seek it out. Every graduate must choose a mentor but the mentors usually take little active role in mentoring the junior engineers. Communication throughout the organisation is cumbersome and a lot like Chinese whispers. Rumour hits you too long before a factual communication is released. The "chain of command" is difficult to understand due to the matrix structure that Hatch has adopted. There are many layers of reporting independent of each other. This is particularly prevalent if you are on site or posted to a project. You can have project, site, discipline and hub leads all in you reporting structure, all with different KPIs, all demanding different things. It is not clear which one (if any) takes priority. Over the last few years it appears that Hatch’s staff levels expand and contact like and accordion. If you don’t have a lot of work in your look ahead (work in view – one of the corporate KPIs) it is easy to feel insecure about your long term employment prospects.

    Continue reading
    Hatch2014-04-30
  9. "Hatch, a great place to work at."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrical Engineer 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hatch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good work environment and easy to be mobile.

    Cons

    Job security is poor and their focus is mainly mining.

    Continue reading
    Hatch2014-02-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Engineering job at hatch."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Electrical Engineer in Toronto, ON

    I worked at Hatch

    Pros

    Excellent minds to work with.

    Cons

    Relatively Lower Compensation / Salary

    Continue reading
    Hatch2009-05-12

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews