Hatch Mott MacDonald Reviews | Glassdoor

Hatch Mott MacDonald Reviews

Updated May 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 88 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Nicholas DeNichilo
45 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "An excellent company for all levels of your career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hatch Mott MacDonald

    Pros

    - Execellent People - Competative Compensation - Opportunity to Advance - Solid Benefits

    Cons

    - Intensity of workload can shift with market demand

    Hatch Mott MacDonald2016-06-09
  2. "Good company, good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Controls 

    I worked at Hatch Mott MacDonald full-time

    Pros

    Overall good place to work; what you’d expect, typical office setting but with nice, hardworking people.

    Cons

    Typical office environment. Sometimes boring. A lot of contracted management personnel not fully invested in the company.

    Hatch Mott MacDonald2019-05-01
  3. "Draftsman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CAD Drafter in Monroe, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hatch Mott MacDonald full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    benefits & Pay vacation days and working half a day on Friday

    Cons

    Cut-throat environment, buddy system and click

    Advice to Management

    very much the buddy system, if you weren't in there little click you didn't move up nor did you stay long. A bunch of liar's and back stabbers, I worked there for two years and while I was there the vp of the company came in and started screaming and cussing one of my fellow employee's over nothing, then threaten him with violence. 6 months later I was called in to the office and was terminated due to bad behavior. I...

    Show More
    Hatch Mott MacDonald2018-02-26
  4. "Engineer II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Hatch Mott MacDonald full-time

      Pros

      Good benefits, broad area of fields to work in

      Cons

      Big company, can get lost in the shuffle

      Hatch Mott MacDonald2017-11-01
    • "Project Office focus"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Seattle, WA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Hatch Mott MacDonald full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Very interesting and engaging work - tunnels, light rail, urban planning. The staff is competent and professional. Most of the work is done in project offices at the client's worksite. Actual HMM offices are very small on west coast. Many people retire from HMM as it's a good place to work overall. Pay is excellent

      Cons

      Working in clients project offices can be isolating. Moving into management with the stock options is a carrot dangled before project managers that rarely comes to fruition. UK company so benefits are limited.

      Hatch Mott MacDonald2017-10-12
    • "Project manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Hatch Mott MacDonald full-time

      Pros

      Good project team people to work with

      Cons

      Little to no training offered or guidance unless you know where and how to find it.

      Advice to Management

      Pay attention to the entire project team not just the team leads.

      Hatch Mott MacDonald2017-03-05
    • "Good starter for those out of school"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Hatch Mott MacDonald

      Pros

      Flexible career path Access to people in management

      Cons

      Not much emphasis on training (despite their spiel of its importance) Pay is on the lower end of comparable positions in other companies Despite being in many industries, employees are usually bound to one in particular

      Advice to Management

      Emphasize training

      Hatch Mott MacDonald2016-10-06
    • "Project Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Hatch Mott MacDonald

        Pros

        Flexible hours for employees that perform well. Management doesn't micro-manage mid-level employees.

        Cons

        Salaries don't keep the good employees around. Only a few "preferred" employees are well-compensated, leaving others to pursue greener pastures.

        Advice to Management

        Raise pay scale for mid level mangers to keep them around. Not a good business model to have those employees constantly searching job boards.

        Hatch Mott MacDonald2016-09-21
      • "Surveyor"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Hatch Mott MacDonald full-time

        Pros

        Good pay when including per diem.

        Cons

        Had to travel. Management was very removed from the actual work. Treated workers like numbers rather than people.

        Advice to Management

        Be more hands on.

        Hatch Mott MacDonald2016-08-04
      • "Visualization Specialist"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Visualization Specialist in Los Angeles, CA
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Hatch Mott MacDonald full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Freedom to work with software of your choosing. As long as the final result is there they give you the freedom to make creative decisions. Flexible employer and lovely people

        Cons

        If you are not an engineer there is no career path for you. Regarding 3D hatch Mott was always reactionary as a company. There were certain managers that saw the value but that was not across the board

        Advice to Management

        Communication can always be improve. Look forward instead of be reactionary

        Hatch Mott MacDonald2016-06-12
      Found 88 reviews