Hatch Reviews | Glassdoor

Hatch Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 306 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Hatch CEO John Bianchini
John Bianchini
106 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There is not enough communication from upper management(in 11 reviews)

  • "senior staff reluctant too teach/mentor junior staff due to business, job security(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place with great oppurtunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hatch full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Large network of experts. Good benefits. Decent pay - could be better.

    Cons

    Not all offices, managers, etc. are the same. Some are wonderful to work for/with others are so difficult to work with/for. Not much "culture".

    Hatch2018-11-13
  2. "Good organization, depends on managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Hatch full-time

    Pros

    Large organization, good benefits, good policies

    Cons

    Depending on your manager, may not be a lot of room to grow or move up

    Hatch2018-04-11
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hatch full-time

    Pros

    They're a typical consulting company

    Cons

    Too many politics to deal with

    Hatch2018-01-18
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Designer in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hatch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been at hatch for over a year and it has been great. Being new to the engineering world Hatch has welcomed me with open arms. They have provided me the tools and knowledge to be able to be a productive member of the team. With great resources and procedures available we can provide the best for our clients.

    Cons

    Not to much that I can complain about. One thing I will say is pay is not competitive, many other companies offer more for less experience. Its a choice you have to make, leave and make more money or stay with room to grow with the possibility of more pay down the road.

    Advice to Management

    Juniors are the future of the company. Treat them right and they will stay at this company forever.

    Hatch2017-01-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Structural Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hatch

    Pros

    Learned a lot, felt appreciated and respected as a professional. Got along with colleagues working in challenging projects

    Cons

    No bonuses at all. Had to work very long hours (regular schedule was from 8am to 6.30 pm) and sometimes overtime without pay. Even on Saturdays (paid though).

    Hatch2016-12-05
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Varies by office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hatch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Global company, so if you enjoy packing up and living somewhere new for a year or two, there's opportunity for that. In times of slow down, good people are frequently given the opportunity to go to an office with a higher workload as a way to avoid layoffs. Vacation is better than the US average - you start with three weeks, which is VERY nice.

    Cons

    The corporate culture in Canada really didn't translate to the US branches. Jobs are regularly underbid and it always feels that money is tight. Managers have a habit of taking out their frustrations on their employees. (One in particular was known to be so bad, that after a yelling session, other people from other departments would come over to check in on the unfortunate victim.)

    Advice to Management

    Train your managers better. Some positive reinforcement would go a long way. Also, raise pay levels to be competitive.

    Hatch2016-09-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Former Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Controls Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Hatch full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work for young professionals.

    Cons

    Not diverse in client / industry needs.

    Hatch2016-07-19
  8. Helpful (11)

    "Management not acting in Good Faith"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Electrical Engineer in Trafford, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hatch for more than a year

    Pros

    I felt the Pittsburgh office staff was great, and I enjoyed working with everyone. When the work was there, it was interesting.

    Cons

    The company's "new era" leaves much to be desired for the employee. It currently is catering to the "young professionals", without showing much regard to established engineers and designers. Multiple policy changes from the home office have not been in the employees best interests, and overall there has been a lack of respect for established employees in the past year. The final insult to me (and the one which prompted...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You are breaking my heart. I came to Hatch with every intention of retiring from the company, but the current mindset lacks respect towards the employee. The way you handled my resignation was unprofessional, it was sad that you could not answer my questions directly, and it was not in Good Faith. I hope that the current way of thinking is amended at Hatch soon, but Hatch has burned a bridge with me.

    Hatch2016-07-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Hatch

      Pros

      I worked for Hatch in 2012 and overall have a good experience. My team environment was fantastic.

      Cons

      Managers could use some more training on setting by example.

      Hatch2016-05-30
    • Helpful (3)

      "Senior CAD Technician"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior CAD Technician 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Hatch

      Pros

      Pretty decent benefits. Highly intelligent colleagues. Flexible schedule.

      Cons

      Amount of travel. Poor scheduling. Company structure. Constant change of management and key contributors detracts from effectiveness. Poor choice of design software.

      Advice to Management

      Get rid of microstation as your primary civil design tool.

      Hatch2015-04-29
    Found 306 reviews