Hawaii Pacific University Reviews | Glassdoor

Hawaii Pacific University Reviews

Updated Mar 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 93 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Hawaii Pacific University CEO John Gotanda
John Gotanda
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "Other HPU employees are enjoyable to work with(in 8 reviews)

  • "I worked with great people who really cared about the students(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "low pay with no benefits or prospects of advancement(in 12 reviews)

  • "Downtown location is not always pleasant to work at because of the homeless population(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fulfilling Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Academic Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hawaii Pacific University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great supportive colleagues and supportive work

    Cons

    I have no negatives from my experience

    Advice to Management

    Great Ohana Spirit

    Hawaii Pacific University2019-02-28
  2. "Graduate Assistant in Athletic Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hawaii Pacific University part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great learning experience, ability to grow and learn outside your position.

    Cons

    Long hours, low pay if not working a second job.

    Advice to Management

    Work on ways to allows GA's to focus more on coaching, less on administrative duties.

    Hawaii Pacific University2019-03-08
  3. "Very Chill Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Tutor in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hawaii Pacific University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's very chill here, as a student tutor, you'll be giving students tutoring sessions on the subjects of your choice. Very chill, relaxed atmosphere, most of the supervisors are flexible and very nice, wiling to work with your schedule.

    Cons

    Dress code can be a bit out of date and not very gender neutral for college.

    Hawaii Pacific University2019-02-23
  4. "Not the Same"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hawaii Pacific University full-time

    Pros

    Great People. It was a great place to start a career.

    Cons

    Horrible management. Little upward mobility and salaries were well under what other universities offer.

    Advice to Management

    Build trust with employees again.

    Hawaii Pacific University2018-11-06
  5. "Chaotic management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Hawaii Pacific University full-time

    Pros

    Location, location, location (natural beauty of the island)

    Cons

    Location, location, location - downtown (read homeless and drug addicts) High cost of living Chaotic management

    Advice to Management

    While developing your strategies, make sure they are aligned, logical, and consistent

    Hawaii Pacific University2018-09-14
  6. "Supportive Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Hawaii Pacific University full-time

    Pros

    My direct supervisor is supportive and always trying to push me to do better.

    Cons

    While it can be challenging working with other departments in the end I am able to finish my task at hand.

    Hawaii Pacific University2018-05-17
  7. "adjunct"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Adjunct Professor in Honolulu, HI
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hawaii Pacific University for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great students; great environment and assistance provided

    Cons

    class was eliminated and did not believe it should have been done

    Advice to Management

    work with your adjunct

    Hawaii Pacific University2018-05-04
  8. "Wonderful Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professor in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hawaii Pacific University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ohana runs deep. I love working at HPU

    Cons

    A little short staffed so you have a lot of responsibilities

    Advice to Management

    You are getting there. HPU will be great in a few years.

    Hawaii Pacific University2018-04-11
  9. "Student Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Hawaii Pacific University part-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Low pay compared to other jobs

    Hawaii Pacific University2018-03-15
  10. "Adjunct"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hawaii Pacific University part-time

    Pros

    Diverse student body with smaller class sizes (no large lectures)

    Cons

    low pay with no benefits or prospects of advancement

    Advice to Management

    hire more full-time lecturers

    Hawaii Pacific University2018-02-18
Found 93 reviews