Hawaiian Electric Company Reviews | Glassdoor

Hawaiian Electric Company Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
16%
Approve of CEO
T Michael May
6 Ratings
  1. "Good Pay and Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Planning Engineer in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hawaiian Electric Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Friendly and Smart People -Good Pay and Benefits

    Cons

    -Very corporate -Not much to complain about

    Advice to Management

    no comment

    Hawaiian Electric Company2019-01-25
  2. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Hawaiian Electric Company part-time

      Pros

      Helpful and understanding supervisors in the legal department. A real team environment.

      Cons

      The work can be dry and stressful due to deadlines.

      Hawaiian Electric Company2019-01-30
    • "Great Career Home"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Hawaiian Electric Company full-time

      Pros

      Very professional and great place to grow your skills and work with awesome people.

      Cons

      None really except that budgetary constraints are controlled by the public utilities commission

      Hawaiian Electric Company2018-12-30
    • "Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Hawaiian Electric Company full-time

      Pros

      Great benefits and people are committed to customers.

      Cons

      Lots of departments to navigate through.

      Hawaiian Electric Company2018-11-03
    • "Instrument controls technician"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Instrument Technician in Kahului, HI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Hawaiian Electric Company full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Lots of overtime. Good benefits

      Cons

      Lots of overtime, management is horrible

      Advice to Management

      Employees are an asset not a liability.

      Hawaiian Electric Company2018-07-12
    • Helpful (2)

      "Not recommend"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Hawaiian Electric Company full-time

        Pros

        Good benefits, some nice colegues

        Cons

        The worst management ever! The manager told me on my first day at work that she don't want to present me to the other teams, because the people in her team are changing very often and she do not want them to get the wrong idea!?! Very old system that is obviously not working!

        Advice to Management

        Be respectful to the employees! Give them a chance to demonstrate their skills and to develop the company. If you keep changing the employees but stuck with the same management model you can't grow...

        Hawaiian Electric Company2018-06-01
      • "County line worker"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - County Line Worker in Ocean View, HI
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Hawaiian Electric Company part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Pay was ok, filled with a bunch of yes people. No care for the customers/locals

        Cons

        Company does not work or listen to customers unique circumstances. Does not care for the people actually paying them every month.

        Advice to Management

        Look at circumstances and listen to customers. Your company reads from a book and shuts the door. Very discouraging considering Hawaii electricity is a monopoly.

        Hawaiian Electric Company2018-02-22
      • "Good company to work for"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Hawaiian Electric Company full-time

        Pros

        Good benefits and competitive compensation.

        Cons

        Not enough vacation time provided. No annual bonus.

        Hawaiian Electric Company2018-01-10
      • Helpful (5)

        "Entry Level Engineer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Entry Level Engineer 
        Recommends

        I worked at Hawaiian Electric Company full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Salary. Benefits. Job security, many stay at HECO for their career.

        Cons

        Older company. Slow to change. Bureaucratic. Divisions do not necessarily collaborate well as they are interested in protecting their area of responsibilities. I was unable to find ways to progress my career and did not have the best leadership. (This probably varies depending on area of company.)

        Advice to Management

        Develop/promote/hire next generation of employees; especially those that show potential. Years of experience does not necessarily make people the best fit nor qualified to become leaders/managers.

        Hawaiian Electric Company2017-11-17
      • "Relatively good place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Hawaiian Electric Company full-time

        Pros

        Compensation is low for mainland standards, high for Hawaii standards. Good job security - I've never heard of anyone being fired.

        Cons

        Management cautious and indecisive to the point of being ineffective.

        Hawaiian Electric Company2017-09-15
      Found 34 reviews