Cover image for Hawthorne Gardening Company
Logo
See All Photos

Hawthorne Gardening Company

Engaged Employer

Hawthorne Gardening Company

Add a Review

Hawthorne Gardening Company Reviews

Updated Nov 15, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 67 of over 70 reviews
3.3
48% Recommend to a Friend
63% Approve of CEO

Found 65 of over 70 reviews

3.3
48%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Hawthorne Gardening Company General Manager  Chris Hagedorn (no image)
Chris Hagedorn
37 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Review

    Nov 15, 2022 - Production Supervisor in Vancouver, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay Exceptional 401k match Medical benefits

    Cons

    Poor understanding of production forecasting and product life cycle which caused over production and mass layoffs

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Good pay

    Oct 23, 2022 - Lead Operator in Romulus, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay. Nice Large warehouse.

    Cons

    Slow work. Lots of standing around

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Hawthorne Gardening Company team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great people, fun culture, archaic operations.

    Oct 22, 2022 - Engineer in Vancouver, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The culture is laid back and basically everyone is friendly and has a good attitude. Good mentality in the face of "adversity" - overall just an awesome group of people. Bar none the most laid back job I've ever had. Benefits are really good for a run-of-the-mill company. Expect decent compensation. Work-Life balance was good.

    Cons

    Fundamental disorganization. Zero high level follow through on projects/initiatives which cripples incentive. Things get forgotten every 30 days. No operational standards. Numerous and large blind spots. Decades behind the curve in terms of technology and systems. Literally everything is done brute force (like buying space rather than optimizing inventory) and because of the foundationally flawed infrastructure & blind spots, large scale & expensive initiatives continue to fail epically. Sadly, not currently a place where elegant, intelligent ideas can come to fruition.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Meh

    Oct 4, 2022 - Inventory Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Paid decently, decent Healthcare and holidays off

    Cons

    Management never knew what they were doing, favoritism, and bad management over all

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Nepotism and Ignorance

    Sep 26, 2022 - Warehouse Operator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    We have a terrible coffee machine. And we intentionally slow our work-pace because we'd run out of things to do if we ran full speed.

    Cons

    Severe favoritism, near-total lack of discipline, phobia of rational thought, borderline-provable racism.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Hawthorne Gardening Company Response

    Thank you for sharing your review. We're sorry to hear your negative feedback. If you could please reach out to your HR partner or our HR Hotline 1-888-YOUR HR1 (1-888-968-7471), we would like to learn more. Thank you.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Hawthorne

    Sep 22, 2022 - Inventory Control Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company to work for.

    Cons

    Over expanded, not closing some facilities

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee

    A Father's gift to his Son

    Sep 11, 2022 - Research and Development Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Autonomy for setting your daily routine within reason. Exposure to emerging technologies and methods.

    Cons

    It doesn't appear any of management are intimately familiar with cannabis culture and seem insistent in a business model that gate-keeps access to equipment at a fair value. Any expression of being undervalued is met by gaslight and that the opportunity is once in a lifetime. You will be told of the "family dynamic" they foster as the "kids" starve at the dinner table

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Good Company

    Sep 5, 2022 - Sr. Electrical Engineer in Vancouver, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work life balance is good

    Cons

    Company could be better organized.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work!

    Jul 31, 2022 - Outbound Lead 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Benefits and Job Culture.

    Cons

    Toxic work environment and favoritism

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Not too bad

    Jul 13, 2022 - Inventory Control Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A growing company that is experiencing issues with the growth ebbs and flows of the cannabis industry. Opportunities for growth at the high points of the market.

    Cons

    less opportunities during the ebbs.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 65 Reviews
</>Embed

Hawthorne Gardening Company Reviews FAQs

Hawthorne Gardening Company has an overall rating of 3.3 out of 5, based on over 70 reviews left anonymously by employees. 48% of employees would recommend working at Hawthorne Gardening Company to a friend and 31% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Hawthorne Gardening Company employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Hawthorne Gardening Company. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

48% of Hawthorne Gardening Company employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Hawthorne Gardening Company 3.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.3 for culture and values and 3.0 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Hawthorne Gardening Company to be career development, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be diversity and inclusion, senior leadership, management.

Work at Hawthorne Gardening Company? Share Your Experiences

Hawthorne Gardening Company logo

Hawthorne Gardening Company

or

Hawthorne Gardening Company Careers

Cover image for Hawthorne Gardening Company

Cultivating companies with a love for gardening as green as the gardens they grow. Hawthorne Gardening Co. is a house of brands that...More

  • What We Believe
  • What You'll Get
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Hawthorne Gardening Company

1015 days ago

Health, Safety and Financial Wellness amid Coronavirus Our business is a key part of the supply chain for essential businesses and activities, from home centers and hardware stores to fresh food cultivation and the controlling of rodents and insects. During this time of uncertainty, it's important to know where companies stand before making a job or career change. We're dedicated to the safety of our candidates and associates. That's true whether you're looking for a part-time role to get through this tough season or want to make your next career move. Our coronavirus (COVID-19) response team monitors the impact daily. We have introduced premium pay as a temporary benefit and have taken steps to sanitize facilities and protect our frontline associates. We hope you're healthy and safe, and look forward to connecting with you.
Logo

Hawthorne Gardening Company

1901 days ago

Our Vermicrop team recently held their 3rd annual VermiFest: Our festival for the community! The event is totally free, and attendees get a taste of the Vermi culture. We also show them crazy amounts of Vermi love. We recently held our third VermiFest celebration, and over 350 people from the community attended. It was amazing! This year, we had music, food trucks, candy, bounce houses, balloon animals, and games including limbo, giant Connect Four, corn hole and many other carnival games. We also had a Halloween costume contest, pumpkin decorating, free photos, and great raffle prizes. VermiFest means a lot to our associates and is a highlight of our team’s year. Throughout the event, our volunteers are making sure that our guests are having a great time. And after the event is over, we’re already anxious for the next one. Everyone feels more connected with the community because of VermiFest. Thank you to Vermicrop Director of Operations John Perrino and our Vermicrop associates who make this event possible!
Shared image
See all

Hawthorne Gardening Company Photos

+ Add Photo
Hawthorne Gardening Company photo of: Our friends at Leafly spotted this relic of a backpack on the train in Seattle. Must be at least 5 years old. Anyone else have one of these?
Hawthorne Gardening Company photo of: Always a fun time at the GH headquarters
Hawthorne Gardening Company photo of: Zowee can't help but smile when looking at all that great GH product. Make sure to swing by Ecogarden Supply located at 800 Transfer Rd #3 St. Paul MN 55114
Hawthorne Gardening Company photo of: Zoe visiting Cerritos Hydroponics. Shoutout to Cody and Jack for holding it down.
Hawthorne Gardening Company photo of: We call this one- Focused Primal Rage
Hawthorne Gardening Company photo of: Our team had a great time at CannaCon Boston not too long ago. Thanks to everyone who stopped by the booth
Hawthorne Gardening Company photo of: Keep that CaMg+ in your sights during your next purchase.
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Glassdoor has 70 Hawthorne Gardening Company reviews submitted anonymously by Hawthorne Gardening Company employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Hawthorne Gardening Company is right for you.