Haymarket Media Group Reviews

Updated May 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Haymarket Media Group CEO     Kevin Costello
Kevin Costello
139 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible working arrangements are pretty good(in 29 reviews)

  • "Supports flexible working and a great work/life balance(in 28 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Minimal support from Senior management, little room for progression and poor salary(in 17 reviews)

  • "Roles and responsibilities are unclear which leads to confused employees and high turnover (most people stay less than 1-2 years)(in 15 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing people. Inspiring environment.

      May 10, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was a pleasure working with the fellow employees that I’ve worked with. As a hard-working employee, this company truly has made me feel appreciated and valued. Even a year later, I still think about the wonderful experience that I’ve had working at Haymarket. Due to my living circumstances I had to leave and it was very difficult to say goodbye to such a fantastic company. They were always accommodating when it came to contributing to my education and allowing me to take a vacation day when I needed it. Lee, the CEO, is the kind of guy that makes an effort to get to know his employees, and is not somebody that you occasionally see every few months. This company made me feel as though I was family more than anything else, and anyone would be lucky to have the opportunity to be a part of this company.

      Cons

      Unfortunately within my role, it was difficult for me to find a true path and a mentor, as I did have a unique, and newer role with the company. I was a proactive employee that had paved my own path, and eventually, had taken a new opportunity that in turn would provide me with different types of challenges.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A pleasure to work here

      Mar 18, 2021 - Editor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are almost too many to enumerate, but I'll begin with the temperament of the editorial department. From my very first day at Haymarket and thereon, every member in the editorial dept, from the VP of Content to the Senior Editors to the Editorial Assistants, truly made me feel welcome. Everyone, at any point in the onboarding process and general day-to-day, was happy to assist me with any questions I had; there was a true sense of comradeship, causing the dept to feel like a family. Everyone helps each other, there is no sense of competition among editors, but rather a shared sense of being more powerful in what we can collectively achieve as an organization when we work together. Editorial can be a high burnout and cutthroat field at times, and this considered, I appreciated this climate even more. Haymarket is a very employee-first company. Our VP of Content continuously emphasized the importance of mental health and made sure that everyone knew she had a virtual open door policy; we could come to her with any concerns or with any requests for support at any time. I came from a company that saw working from home amid the pandemic as an opportunity to increase the employee workload whenever possible, engendering burnout. Haymarket really makes you feel seen, heard, and valued, and the importance of these qualities, especially during a pandemic, cannot be overstated. Another pro that I greatly valued at Haymarket was the autonomy that came with my role. If I desired to write more, I was offered freelance support that enabled me to de-emphasize editing so I could see a priority feature or other written piece to fruition. It was clear that Haymarket wants you to enjoy the work that you are doing and will help you to ensure that you are doing work that interests you. They invest in their employees and are flexible with certain facets of the roles because they evidently want their employees to grow in them and remain with the company. Further, they do not micromanage their employees. I was trusted to get my work done without anyone looking over my shoulder, which I appreciated. I would recommend Haymarket to anyone of any seniority level.

      Cons

      In truth, I really cannot think of any. I had to leave Haymarket for my own personal reasons and if I could, I would return in a heartbeat.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Experience

      Apr 19, 2021 - Intern in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Independent, given a lot of work

      Cons

      none - I enjoyed it!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      It was a Job

      Apr 27, 2021 - Account Supervisor in Paramus, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Offered Bagels on Fridays and kitchen was nice

      Cons

      Will require you to work 16 hour days and then blame you if an account busts

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great!

      Mar 17, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Leadership is supportive, great place for growth

      Cons

      entry level salary is low

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place

      Jan 26, 2021 - Sales Director in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work. Company definitly works hard to keep employees happy and does things such as holiday party’s, town halls, awards and more to build a great culture.

      Cons

      Not much. Pretty transparent company.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee

      PRI - No Leadership. High Turnover

      Jan 17, 2021 - Not Really Sure in Paramus, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you're friends with the "higher ups" your chances of promotion are much higher.

      Cons

      There is no leadership and new employees are expected to figure everything out themselves. Roles and responsibilities are unclear which leads to confused employees and high turnover (most people stay less than 1-2 years).

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      a Good place to start but not much opportunity to grow

      Dec 16, 2020 - Associate Account Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people Fun environment CEO and Management can be very supportive

      Cons

      Management is unorganized Roles are unfocused

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Decent workplace to get into the industry

      Dec 16, 2020 - Associate Editor in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice team mates and bosses

      Cons

      Not unified vision across publications

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Would not recommend

      Jan 12, 2021 - Paper Pusher in Northbrook, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A few restaurants is in walking distance and there is ample parking.

      Cons

      Quiet, too small, dumpy office facilities, shared bathrooms with medical clinics, thin walls between next door neighbors with lots of noise bleed through, little place to advance, little camaraderie other than a few forced-feeling office activities a couple of times a year, different work-from-home standards between remote and office-based employees, nowhere near public transportation, too much disconnect with New York offices.

      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 343 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Haymarket Media Group Job Seekers

    Account Executive
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Haymarket Media Group? Share Your Experiences

    Haymarket Media Group logo
    or