Haymarket Media Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Haymarket Media Group Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 244 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Haymarket Media Group CEO Kevin Costello
Kevin Costello
101 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Senior management keep chopping and changing their mind - no clear strategy or commitment to a plan(in 15 reviews)

  • "high staff turnover, lower than average salaries, innovation and ideas made by junior staff taken by senior management(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Fabtastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Haymarket Media Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company! Enjoyed working within the company lots of growth potential. If you work hard it's easy to climb up into various roles w more responsibility.

    Cons

    Nothing really bad to say about the company. Not always a lot of room for growth for a mid career sales executive

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on mid career roles and needs; pay attention to what's happening in the market - be open to new ideas and communication. More transparency.

    Haymarket Media Group2015-07-20
  2. "Crazy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Haymarket Media Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You will be working on everything

    Cons

    Sales will lie straight to your face. Like the other reviews said.. Sales are prioritized above all else which means alot of work for everyone else. Departments are way understaffed. Promotions are given to whomever befriends management. No formal training program or realistic workloads which means you will be thrown into the fire. As people leave you will pick up their work. Conference rooms are always lacking.... People dont follow procedures.

    Show More
    Haymarket Media Group2019-06-24
  3. "Not a bad place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Oak Ridge, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Haymarket Media Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and friendly coworkers.

    Cons

    Not consistent with assignments very chaotic.

    Advice to Management

    Really

    Haymarket Media Group2019-04-30
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Nope"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Haymarket Media Group full-time

    Pros

    I worked with a few lovely people.

    Cons

    Incredibly stressful. Sales are prioritized above all else, but the teams that execute on the content to meet views or clicks are constantly understaffed, overworked, and held to ridiculous expectations. The department was disorganized, management were bullies who targeted high-functioning employees for small mistakes but babied and hand-held low performers. There is no room for growth, hiring practices are poor,... and the health benefits are terrible.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to what your employees are saying in their exit interviews and maybe try to take it seriously. You have a turnover problem in certain departments that isn't being addressed.

    Haymarket Media Group2019-04-30

    Haymarket Media Group Response

    May 1, 2019Communications Manager

    Thank you for your review. We take great care in learning from the constructive feedback given in our exit interviews and making improvements based on that feedback. Our greatest asset is our people, and we actively strive to develop a better environment and policies to make our people ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Very Choatic Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 

    I worked at Haymarket Media Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No crazy deadlines that need to be met

    Cons

    No true process or pipeline in place..very disorganized from a management perspective.

    Haymarket Media Group2019-02-24
  6. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Haymarket Media Group

    Pros

    I worked with an amazing team and I am so glad I got to work here

    Cons

    Not a lot of growth but I think if you stick around, you will.

    Haymarket Media Group2018-12-21

    Haymarket Media Group Response

    January 25, 2019Haymarket Media Group

    Thank you for your review! Our most common piece of feedback is the brilliance of our people. Our teams and our working culture is what makes Haymarket a great place to work. As a business, we are proud to offer a wide range of opportunities to develop the talent of our teams and ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Friendly Staff in Paramus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Paramus, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Haymarket Media Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people here are so helpful and friendly. Clients are reasonable people. Diversified projects and client base.

    Cons

    People work in silos. Job responsibilities are blurred. High turnover.

    Advice to Management

    Encourage mandatory, organized training on the systems that are mandatory Outlined processes and standards Team-building, especially outside of client teams to build more of a bond between coworkers.

    Haymarket Media Group2018-09-06

    Haymarket Media Group Response

    September 10, 2018Haymarket Media Group

    Thank you very much for your valuable insight. We continue to strive to improve our on boarding and transition processes as well as employee engagement programs and this is very helpful to know.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Haymarket Media Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay and people overall are nice

    Cons

    product is not easy to sell in this climate

    Haymarket Media Group2018-08-27
  9. "In turnaround mode"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Haymarket Media Group full-time

    Pros

    Summer Fridays and generous time off

    Cons

    a little too much into hierarchy

    Haymarket Media Group2018-05-05
  10. "Fantastic Growth Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Haymarket Media Group full-time

    Pros

    - Great growth opportunities. Started as an entry-level salesperson and was promoted multiple times during my time there. - Solid work/life balance, with fun company social outings including happy hours, holiday parties and annual sales retreats

    Cons

    - Management was a little slow adapting to ever-changing digital trends, but this was improving by the time I left

    Advice to Management

    - Stay cognizant of emerging and changing digital trend that may positively or negatively affect the sales pipeline - Continue to foster a great culture for young professionals

    Haymarket Media Group2018-03-18

    Haymarket Media Group Response

    April 9, 2018Haymarket Media Group

    Thank you for your review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your time at Haymarket and developed whilst here. We're very proud of our various development programmes which gives employees the opportunities to learn and develop whether in their current role or with promotions. The changing ...

    Show More
Found 244 reviews