KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Hayneedle

Is this your company?

Hayneedle

Add a Review

Hayneedle Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Dec 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 of over 204 reviews

3.2
34%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Hayneedle President  Scott Doughman (no image)
Scott Doughman
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work/life balance policies(in 17 reviews)

  • "Fun work environment, relaxed dress code, great prizes for employees(in 17 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Toxic Culture, Low Pay, No Career Growth(in 6 reviews)

  • "No 401K match, becoming more "corporate" than it used to be, lower than average salaries(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Love Coming to Work

      May 23, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Omaha, NE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've worked at Hayneedle for about 8 years. I've held numerous positions within the company & have enjoyed every second of it. They make it a priority to train you & give you the skills you need to succeed & thrive in any area of the company if you have the interest. They care deeply about their employees & want to see them work their way up within the company. Our culture is open, honest & welcoming. Hayneedle values a work life balance, and they value their employees as people, not just numbers. The previous CEO made a point to know everyone's names & what everyone did. All the senior leadership are incredibly open & welcoming. 5 out of 6 of my most recent managers have been women.

      Cons

      There is no parental leave policy, and last I was told by HR, there was no plan to put one in place. (This may change now being owned by Walmart.) For young employees who want to have families, this is a big negative. The pay is a little on the low side.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Hayneedle WAS a great company - Walmart is NOT

      Dec 16, 2020 - Copywriter in Omaha, NE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people Easy work Good work/life balance

      Cons

      Where to begin Walmart had two major lay offs one year after they acquired Hayneedle. The first in May of 2019. The second in January 2020. I was part of the second one. They told us Hayneedle would not be a company anymore. Not sure how there is a posting for my old job. Everyone at corporate was let go or offered other positions at other acquisitions. The call center was still operating, but with minimal employees. They even brought in their own people like our new CEO Shelley (Scott hasn't been the CEO for almost two years now) and they laid her off too. They changed so many things, made us watch propoganda videos, increased our work load, and didn't compensate properly. The bonuses were based off rigged yearly reviews. Fought tooth and nail for decent pay and even a normal job title that fit our job description.

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Decent Pay for Mental Abuse

      Feb 27, 2020 - Customer Care Lead in Omaha, NE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      No physical work. Great break room set up. Good work/life balance policies

      Cons

      Bad management. Dealing with upset customers all day. No room to grow career.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Fun place to work, Lots of changes going on to switch over to Walmart

      Feb 5, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun culture, great coworkers, Good work/life balance

      Cons

      Poor management, Switching to walmart has been messy and stressful with layoffs

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Marketing

      Oct 30, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Loved the atmosphere during my first year and a half. Great people to work with and originally had tons of opportunity. Initially had a great work life balance and was rewarding.

      Cons

      I left that place with PTSD from all the late nights and stress. I now hate and fear my career. They literally will find any way to break your spirit by false milestones. Zero appreciation for your craft. Overall worst job and environment I've been in.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company

      Mar 20, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Collaborative environment, smart people, good work/life balance

      Cons

      Management sometimes out of touch

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Slow advancement

      Mar 4, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Relaxed environment Good work/life balance Summer hours Recently purchased by Jet.com, a soon to be much larger player in online merchandising

      Cons

      Takes a long to advance and with that comes a relatively small pay increases They'll often hire less qualified outside employees instead of hiring from within You'll have to constantly make it known that you want to learn more and advance or you'll never be tasked with anything that will further you're advancement/career

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      I have never enjoyed going to work more....

      Oct 13, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Omaha, NE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great atmosphere, no dress code and the ability to make a difference in the business. Great work/life balance and very laid back. Lots of autonomy as well.

      Cons

      Benefits are a little pricey but I think that is a growing trend among employers

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      I never dread going to work

      Apr 9, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are what make this place great. Creative, smart, driven individuals with a lot of passion for what they do. Competitive salary. Casual, relaxed environment. Great work life balance and flexible hours (within reason). Employee discounts.

      Cons

      You have to be pretty aggressive to get noticed here when it comes to promotions or recognitions. There are a lot of really hard working individuals who don't get the kudos they deserve because they're not the loudest in the room, so to speak.

      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company

      Dec 29, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Omaha, NE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      In the corporate HQ, there is a large bunch of talented individuals. My supervisor treated me very well and I felt like I was fairly compensated. Great flexibility and amazing work-life balance.

      Cons

      In times of lower than expected sales, the sour mood affects everyone. Raises are small and bonuses gone when the company doesn't meet specific targets. Budgets are cut as well, making it harder to progress. Great flexibility, but light on PTO.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Hayneedle Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Hayneedle? Share Your Experiences

    Hayneedle logo
    or