Haynes International Reviews | Glassdoor

Haynes International Reviews

Updated Aug 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
77%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Haynes International President, CEO, and Director Mark M. Comerford
Mark M. Comerford
8 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Very good place to work and many people retire at this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Haynes International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Solid company with great benefits

    Cons

    Not much on bonuses, if ever

    Haynes International2019-03-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not bad at first, but they seem to be sliding backwards on employee compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Machine Operator in LaPorte, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Haynes International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good, relaxed work environment. Usually a fair bit of overtime available. Good, affordable health insurance. Competitive, company-matching 401k. Company seems stable.

    Cons

    Sometimes too much overtime. Company technically has a "bonus plan," but it was put "on hold" meaning no payouts indefinitely. Wasn't much of a bonus plan anyway, with a typical payout limited to a few hundred dollars at best per financial quarter. Poorly-written employee handbook doesn't adequately define vacation time, leading to disputes on what, exactly, the company provides. Maybe worst thing is lack of sick/personal days - company allows exactly none. Zero. Even with doctor note, any unscheduled, unapproved time off results in employee receiving one point for an attendance violation. Points take an entire to fall off employee's record. Once employee reaches 6 points, further point values are doubled, making it easy to "point out" at 10, at which time employee in terminated.

    Continue reading
    Haynes International2019-08-11
  3. "Not a bad place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Haynes International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay for the area Very friendly Safety oriented

    Cons

    No room for advancement in my position and wish there was more work for me to do.

    Haynes International2018-11-29
  4. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - A Operator in Kokomo, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Haynes International full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits, great choice of jobs, some good people to work with. I had to leave due to medical reasons. My immediate supervisors were very understanding with my situation and did everything possible to accommodate my medical issues. When I did have to retire getting my disability benefits went smooth and easy.

    Cons

    Too much forced overtime, some jobs can be dangerous, physically demanding, and very hot. Some supervisors are terrible to work for (others are great).

    Continue reading
    Haynes International2018-10-05
  5. "Bargaining unit employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Repair Journeyman in Kokomo, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Haynes International full-time

    Pros

    Good wages. Overtime opportunities. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Some management issues. Mostly communication issues.

    Haynes International2017-12-31
  6. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Lebanon, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Haynes International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    they pay well, good benefits

    Cons

    a lot of over time

    Continue reading
    Haynes International2016-08-27
  7. "Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kokomo, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Haynes International full-time

    Pros

    The pay and benefits are good, The work and hours are good, I have had excellent opportunity for growth within my position, and had good opportunity for growth up to my current position.

    Cons

    There are some working relationships that can be frustrating because there are individuals within the organization that are not always interested in doing what is in best interest of the company.

    Continue reading
    Haynes International2016-03-09
  8. "View from an Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Continuous Improvement/Quality Engineering in Kokomo, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Haynes International for less than a year

    Pros

    - Most of the people I met were very friendly and courteous, wanted to make the company better - As an intern, you get a lot of exposure to upper level management - Work was very rewarding and gets you exposed to a true factory setting

    Cons

    - I wish that they had a better system for going between the two main plant areas - A cheat sheet maybe for interns, with terms both internal and industry?

    Continue reading
    Haynes International2016-01-01
  9. "Horrible Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Haynes International

    Pros

    8 to 5 Insurance Benefits offered

    Cons

    No professionalism amongst management No preservation of manpower for the future Low Salary Lack of Common Sense in regards to menial issues No incentive for self progression No line between Salary and Union

    Continue reading
    Haynes International2015-10-07
  10. "Friends of upper management gets the better shifts and hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Kokomo, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Haynes International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pretty much free to do what you want. Vacation time is great. OT paid for weekend work.

    Cons

    If ur not related or go to church with upper management then expect to work the off shifts

    Continue reading
    Haynes International2015-06-29

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 16 reviews