Hays Reviews in Bristol, England | Glassdoor

Hays Bristol Reviews

Updated August 8, 2017
20 reviews

Filter

Filter

Bristol, England (UK)

4.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Hays CEO Alistair R. Cox
Alistair R. Cox
15 Ratings

20 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • The recruitment industry is long hours (in 329 reviews)

  • Maintaining good work-life balance can be a bit challenging at times (in 89 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Unrivalled career progression and reward if you are a top performer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Bristol, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Director in Bristol, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    At Hays you have the ability to develop and progress at the pace you desire. If you are a high performer and are willing and able to push yourself to the your limits, you will be rewarded - both financially, through promotions and amazing incentives which range for token prizes to all expenses paid trips. You are responsible for your own business, therefore you get out what you put in! The training and support provided at all levels is world class.

    Cons

    A career in recruitment is challenging, you have to be motivated and have a positive mind set at all times which isn't for everyone

    Hays Response

    Aug 13, 2017

    Thank you for your review!


  2. "Offering new challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Bristol, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Bristol, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    One of the great things about working with Hays is that they will open the door for future opportunities for staff, who want to stay within the business whether this be moving to a different specialism within the same office, different office or perhaps abroad. The business will support your growth and progression and plans and ultimately leave it in your hands as to how successful you are.

    Cons

    At times, the business can be quite focused on activity numbers as opposed to the relationships that are being built as a result which eventually convert to revenue.

    Hays Response

    May 22, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    You're right when you say we look at activity because we're a performance based business after all. I do think however that we manage our relationships with clients and candidates well too because... More

  3. "Amazing training, support and structured career progression!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Bristol, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Bristol, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Having come from a very different industry where there was minimal training and no career progression I wanted to work for a company where this was clearly structured and you would be support. The initial training is for-nominal and so structured to give you all the tools you would need to become an expert. However this doesn't stop, at every level as you work your way up there is structured training programmes in place. The career progression is endless and it's entirely down to your own performance in a meritocratic culture to get to where you want to be, you are in full control of your career but know you are supported by your managers, directors, colleagues and the business. Not only is there the financial aspect that rewarding but as a corporate business there are many national incentives along with regional and local incentives which makes it a work hard play hard fun culture.

    Cons

    People say that the cons are the long hours and yes they are but I don't see it as long hours as I enjoy my job.

    Advice to Management

    Continue in the development of your staff.


  4. "Hays Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern in Bristol, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Intern in Bristol, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great place to work as an intern due to what the internship gives you exposure to do.
    No day is ever the same.
    Provide support if, and when needed.
    Wonderful culture and everyone is engaged.

    Cons

    Work life balance can be tricky, especially when having to perform university work as well as this job.
    There can be a sense of favouritism from time to time.

    Hays Response

    May 10, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Thank you for completing your glassdoor review. - I appreciate you taking the time and scoring us 5 / 5. I have to admit, I am concerned by your comments about favouritism and would like to speak to... More


  5. "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Bristol, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Bristol, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great environment, supportive management and a fantastic team to work with. You get all the help you might need to do well.

    Cons

    Work-life balance is not great but that is recruitment for you. The stress can get to you but again, it is what you make it.

    Advice to Management

    -

    Hays Response

    May 8, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts on life in Hays Bristol, much appreciated and I will pass your review onto Simon and the team.


  6. "Placement Year Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern in Bristol, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Intern in Bristol, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays (Less than a year)

    Pros

    You are treated as any other member of staff so have full responsibilities.
    Managers/team members always take time out of their day to help you with issues.
    Good work ethic, everyone is motivated and driven which helps drive you to succeed
    Not heavily micromanaged so you are free to run your business as you wish which shows the high level of trust they place on there interns
    Most people in the office are of a similar age which means there are lots of social opportunities outside of work

    Cons

    Hours are long which does compromise work/life balance, however this is expected in this industry
    Pay is low for the amount of hours worked
    Believe interns should earn commission rather than bonus which could help with motivation to hit targets

    Advice to Management

    Can't really fault management, if I ever need anything they are always there to help and have been really supportive

    Hays Response

    May 8, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on working at Hays. The intern programme is very important to us so I am glad you've enjoyed the year. All the best in your final year at... More


  7. "Internship - Bristol Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern in Bristol, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Intern in Bristol, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - You are recognised for hard work and exceptional performance
    - No two days are the same and although the hours are long, the time goes very quickly
    - Great levels of responsibility afforded to you from the outset
    - Client visits and candidate interviews are great for improving interpersonal skills
    - Good social scene as lots of employees are of a similar age and mind-set
    - The training provided is fantastic and you can always ask for more should you need it
    - You're not treated as an intern, you're given the same treatment as a regular associate

    Cons

    - Interns should be allowed to make commission the same way an associate should, I really can't see why this isn't the case
    - Not much else, generally very positive

    Advice to Management

    My experience with management has been nothing but positive, if I've ever had to come to them with advice they have given me the time and helped agree a plan to move forward.

    Hays Response

    May 8, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Thank you very much! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your internship with Hays and we hope to see you back after your graduated and in a fee earning (commission based) role.

    Good luck with... More

  8. "Lovely place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Bristol, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Associate in Bristol, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Lovely place to work, I get fully supported in everything that I want to do. I always know where I stand and how well I am doing. My manager takes time out on a weekly basis to chat about how things are going. I am able to progress quickly here and know what steps need to be taken to achieve promotion.

    Cons

    Its longer hours than a standard 9 till 5- but that is the recruitment industry in general.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for listening and taking feedback on board.

    Hays Response

    Apr 25, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    And thank you for the positive review - it is always appreciated.


  9. "18 months in, a UK transfer, a regional role and loving it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internal Recruiter in Bristol, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Internal Recruiter in Bristol, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I feel very proud to say I work for Hays. Having ran a successful desk in the East of England I took the opportunity to transfer to the West of England and embark on the journey of Internal Recruitment. My role is very challenging and demanding but that's what I love. The overall satisfaction of seeing consultants that I've placed join the business, grow and become successful is very rewarding. Working for Hays is such a supportive and fun culture, the meritocracy environment allows me to develop myself and progress down to my own performance.

    Cons

    I wouldn't say there any cons for working at Hays. You make it your own, of course we are all supported in our roles but the challenge is taking on those tasks that will push you to the next level. It is down to your own performance to get to where you want to be.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Hays Response

    Mar 6, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    It sounds like you're really enjoying your Hays story and it's great to hear - long may it continue!


  10. "Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Bristol, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Bristol, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Happy, motivating place to work.

    Cons

    There isn't anything bad to say.

    Hays Response

    Mar 6, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Thank you for your comments!


Showing 20 of 1,580 reviews
Reset Filters