Hays Reviews

Updated May 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Hays CEO Alistair R. Cox
Alistair R. Cox
1,638 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast career progression, rewarding position, great people(in 161 reviews)

  • "There are lots of incentives to work towards eg race days or office parties, very sociable and young working environment 'work hard play hard'(in 157 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Certain times of year bring long hours(in 495 reviews)

  • "Not much flexibility around working hours(in 141 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company - with a great mission

      Mar 25, 2021 - Account Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great opportunity to learn and become ingrained in an industry - Not just the staffing business, but the people business, and the industry that you recruit for (Life Sciences, IT, Accounting & Finance, Construction & Property etc.). Hays does its best to align you with your strengths as well. There is a big push to have a separation of duties between true hunters and farmers on the sales side, and specific skillsets on the recruiting side. - Tons of PTO front loaded (4 weeks to start I believe) -Opportunity to see the fruits of your labor, via commission. -Flexible work schedule (remote/office) -Tons of opportunity to join committees with exposure to senior leadership -Office culture (although this varies office to office) -Branding and Name in the Staffing Industry -GREAT learning and development team/programs

      Cons

      - Salaries could be more competitive, especially with the new commission structure. - The new CEM role should be compensated on their KPIs (New contracts signed, # of placements at accounts brought in etc.) - Becoming more of a red tape process as the business is starting to grow in the US - compared to even a few years ago. - 401k match seems non existent

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hays Response

      Director, Engagement & People Experience

      Thank you for your review!

    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Poor management making god awful decisions,

      Apr 29, 2021 - Technical Recruiter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A lot great people work here, solid PTO policy, and decent commission %% compared to other places. If management was not so bad, it would be a good company to work for but unfortunately that is not the case. They will cram your week up by assigning you jobs going absolutely no where or other pointless time-wasting tasks. which it make it extremely difficult to hit your numbers.

      Cons

      Very poor management making horrible decisions. Recruiters are not treated well. A lot of time wasting activities that need to be taken care of. This company absolutely blew my mind recently with their decision making. I don't think any of the Leaders within the organization have actually looked at a single job requisition. They recently brought on a new Account where all of the jobs are prioritized as "Red Hot" by management yet the jobs are the biggest joke you could ever possibly witness as a Recruiter. Management actually wants to build a new team completely dedicated to this account and force their experienced recruiters to spend a large portion of time on it. You will get yelled at by Management if you do not submit daily, very detailed, multiple paragraph, updates to the Account Manager, however, Recruiters are not entitled to any feedback on the candidates submitted. In a time frame of over 2 months, there were close to 200 job requisitions with this particular client, and not one single interview or anything close to it. Not a single placement will ever be made on it as your most experienced recruiters have already pointed out, yet Managers actually want to build a team of multiple people who solely focused on supporting this complete joke of an account as well as force their experienced recruiters to waste a large portion of time on it. It is mind blowing to see high level leaders within such a large organization make such horrible business decisions that will only lose the company money and more employees in the long run. Very long training sessions to experienced recruiters who do not need it. Why is an employee with over 3 years of experience forced to sit through multiple 2+ hour training activities? If the training was actually relevant or helpful, I would understand but it's not. Half of it is spent making fake "role play" phone calls to other recruiters to practice everything they already do on a daily basis, It's just insulting and a waste of valuable time and resources. How can you expect recruiters to get 6 interviews, 8 submittals, and 20 mini profiles per week when in reality they only have about half of the day to actually focus on recruiting.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best Staffing Company

      Apr 30, 2021 - Account Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work and awarded for your efforts

      Cons

      none that i can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hays Response

      Director, Engagement & People Experience

      Thank you for your review!

    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Contingent Workforce Solutions

      Apr 25, 2021 - MSP Program Professional 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are multiple job opportunities.

      Cons

      There are no down-sides that I can think of.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hays Response

      HR Coordinator

      Thank you for your 5 star response! We’re delighted to hear about the numerous job prospects you’ve found with Hays.

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent enough

      Apr 21, 2021 - Recruitment Partner in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Big company, lots of places you can move and still work

      Cons

      Very big, easy to feel like a replaceable cog in the machine

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hays Response

      Director, Engagement & People Experience

      Thank you for sharing your feedback. Wishing you every success in your Hays career!

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Company, Great Career Path

      Jan 14, 2021 - Recruiter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - There are many large staffing agencies, and I've worked at one of the largest here in the US before coming to Hays. Hays does things really well. - Get paid commission for every placement. Competitive base pay - Excellent career growth potential. There are clear lines drawn as to how to get promoted, what you get with a promotion, and where you can go from there. Many promotion opportunities. And they're pretty good about letting you move to another segment (from recruiting to sales, from IT to Finance, from staffing to internal L&D team, etc...) - Pretty good benefits, especially compared to mid-sized staffing agencies - Lots of good people. - A good amount of longevity across the US. Yes, it's a staffing agency, so there is some turnover for those who don't try. But when you see people regularly here 3+ years, it speaks well compared to some other agencies. - Not insanely strict on "butts in seats 8-5 no exceptions" - at least management in this region understand that we're people - as long as you put work in, there's a bit of flex.

      Cons

      - Very metrics-driven. Your manager plays a big role in how important the metrics are, and I'm lucky enough to have a manager that generally lets me work at my pace as long as I get placements. If you want a promotion, you need to hit those metrics though - Lots of busy work, especially with new initiatives rolling out. Lots of clicking through the system, running reports on numbers, etc. This can be seen as a good thing for your career progression though, as it forces you to be a bit more strategic. - Not a great office where I am - some locations have great offices though - Clear promotion path is a double-edged sword. It seems some leaders who were great recruiters are not as strong on the leadership side. - Sometimes unclear messaging on importance of metrics. Overall, they're important, which some people push against.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hays Response

      Director, Engagement & People Experience

      Thank you for the detailed feedback!

    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Frustrated

      Mar 29, 2021 - Director in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people and culture are great.

      Cons

      Don't listen to ideas, don't get paid for the work put in

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hays Response

      Director, Engagement & People Experience

      Thank you for your review

    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Pros and cons but not for me

      Jan 28, 2021 - Recruitment Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent training I met lots of great people and it was the first time I’ve worked in an environment with more people my age (20s) which I found to be positive. Management gave me a lot of time to help develop my confidence and knowledge Great incentives, mainly for those who have worked at the company 2+ years (which is fair enough!) it can be hard when you’re working long hours and not seeing the rewards because of the commission rate and no incentives to begin with You can progress very quickly although I believe it’s a bit of pot luck involved as to what desk you are allocated. Saw very hard workers get disheartened because they were working really hard but the desk was completely cold compared to others who took over a really warm desk from someone else. Success is celebrated and there was a good feeling of working for my own goals but as part of a team

      Cons

      I was never afraid of long hours as I’ve never had a job where I haven’t put the work in and worked considerably extra - but here it really was too much. I worked minimum 7:30-5:30 every day and it was frowned upon to work those hours and not do extra/ take a break at lunch. I get there’s long hours to be expected in recruitment but this was too much and resulted in a high staff turnover because of quick burnout. Starting salary is way too low considering no one will make commission under the commission structure. You won’t make money in your first year because you need to be promoted twice to get to the level where you’re taking commission. It feels tough to earn so little for so many hours and a face paced day. Really high pressure to be expected in most sales/recruitment roles but sometimes the added hours made this feel impossible. Expected to work crazy hours but no consideration given to peoples health and mental well-being which is a mistake. I took annual leave one day for a break and was called 3 times by management about paperwork issues that could have waited until I was back. As mentioned I’m in no way opposed to working hard to develop my desk and business but the hours meant people left as they had no life and were worn out

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Hays Response

      Director, Engagement & People Experience

      Thank you for your detailed review. Wishing you success in your future endeavors.

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      good insights into the industry

      Feb 8, 2021 - Account Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good culture, interesting projects, valued work

      Cons

      job prospects can be better, scope should be more aligned within the team

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hays Response

      Director, Engagement & People Experience

      Thank you for sharing your review. Appreciate the good marks!

    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      okay - hard work

      Mar 18, 2021 - IT Recruiter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      goof benefits - good PTO policy

      Cons

      micromanaged, expected to work a lot - takes a long time to move up in company

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Hays Response

      Director, Engagement & People Experience

      Thank you for your feedback

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,981 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Hays Job Seekers

    Recruitment Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Business Development Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Hays? Share Your Experiences

    Hays logo
    or