Hays Reviews | Glassdoor

Hays Reviews

Updated August 17, 2017
1,410 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Hays CEO Alistair R. Cox
Alistair R. Cox
804 Ratings

1,410 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Long hours can be a struggle but the rewards are great (in 325 reviews)

  • Maintaining good work-life balance can be a bit challenging at times (in 88 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Overall good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Laborer in Jacksonville, FL
    Former Employee - Laborer in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good staff. Easy to work with

    Cons

    Communication is a key point

    Advice to Management

    Communicate better. It's easier on work

    Hays Response

    Aug 2, 2017

    Thanks for your review


  2. "work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    people are all from similar backgrounds

    Cons

    company is too result driven
    commission complicated

    Hays Response

    Aug 20, 2017

    Thanks for your review.

    We are a very results-driven organisation and that's not for everyone but work hard, achieve results and you get rewarded!

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Human company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Belgium, WI
    Former Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Belgium, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Hays is an International company but it feels like working for a SME with a direct line to the management/CEO.
    Human oriented, a consultant gets enough time to learn and to grow. No agressive salesapproach. Interesting bonussystem and incentives. At a seniorlevel you get a lot of autonomy. The job is great, you have a lot of contacts with clients, candidates, it's an advisory role. If you're result oriented, then this job is great.

    Cons

    -Limited careerpath possibilities, you can grow to senior consultant and then teamleader (and maybe office manager). As a teamleader, you have to work as a senior consultant and at the same time you have to manage your teammember(s). But if you're not interested in becoming an office manager, you don't have much possibilities to grow. There are no extra dimensions that you can add to your current jobcontent, so you can not really evolve in a horizontal sense.

    -There are very few external trainings, trainings are given by Hays employees.

    -Maybe the traditional way of working: for ex employees have a fixed PC, fixed desk, no working from home...However there's a mindshift going on.

    Conclusion: You can learn everything about recruitment&selection, soft skills, sales and at the same time you can earn a good salary. But you have to be ready to leave your comfort zone if you want to lift your career to the next level. But for those who love R&S, and you keep on being productive, you can stay in your job untill retirement.

    Advice to Management

    Hays has a human oriented culture, that's great. I recommand Hays.
    Some advice:
    More external trainings
    Introduce the 'agile' working methods (not only a laptop for teamleaders for ex)
    Maybe give possibilities to give that extra intellectual dimensions for those consultants that want to grow on the contentlevel

    Hays Response

    May 23, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Thank you for completing a glassdoor review. Your advice to management has been passed onto EMEA.


  4. "Great Training, Outstanding Management, first few weeks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Recruitment Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Associate Recruitment Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Management is outstanding, giving me constant constructive criticism while ensuring that I feel welcome and appreciated. Top notch training process and great benefits

    Cons

    None that I can think of at the moment

    Hays Response

    May 10, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    That is great to hear and I will be sure to pass your comments onto the team. All the best in the future.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time

    Pros

    People are mostly nice

    Cons

    It's all about money

    Hays Response

    May 23, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Hi - it's incredibly difficult for me to provide a constructive response when you provide no detail about why you rated your time with us as poorly as you have. If you are open to a phone call to... More


  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Orlando, FL
    Current Employee - Consultant in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent career pathway and development opportunities locally and globally.
    Great team environment
    Great commission structure.

    Cons

    location of office in Maitland. It should be downtown.

    Hays Response

    May 8, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Thanks for your comments, I have passed them onto our USA management board.


  7. "Trades assistant / Labour"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hays part-time

    Pros

    Great pay, plenty of overtime

    Cons

    not steady, work in poor conditions at times

    Hays Response

    Mar 6, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Hi, please can you give me a call as I do not believe we hire trade assistants / labourers into our business so need some clarification as to if you're a temp on site with our clients / your employer... More

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Caring recruiters and good support from the management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hays (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I am proud to work for a company which has such a great work ethic and really care about their clients and candidates. I think it's one of the best place to work for as a recruitment consultant.

    Cons

    Hays offers a very corporate work environment and sometimes you wish you could have a little bit more flexibility on the way you work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep encouraging your best talent and let's them express their creativity as much as they can!

    Hays Response

    Jan 19, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Thank you very much for taking the time to share your Hays story with us. I am delighted to hear what you have to say and yes, I agree, we are a very corporate working environment but do encourage... More


  9. "Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great environment, very friendly managers and staff. Like a family!

    Cons

    Wages aren't the best but people stay for the environment.

    Hays Response

    Dec 13, 2016 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Thanks for sharing and all the best with your future career.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in China, ME
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in China, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    International Brand;
    Good global presense.

    Cons

    Messy management in China. Recruited lots of the senior levers from outside, forced lots of old employee quit from hays, very tough culture. They recruit lots of ACs and laid off most of them .

    Advice to Management

    Stick to one culture, decrease the turn over rate.

    Hays Response

    Jul 4, 2016 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Thank you for your comments from Asia - your review has been passed onto Hays China senior leadership[ team.


Showing 1,410 of 1,531 reviews
Reset Filters