Hays Reviews | Glassdoor

Hays Reviews

Updated April 21, 2018
1,718 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Hays CEO Alistair R. Cox
Alistair R. Cox
938 Ratings

1,718 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • can be long hours if you are struggling (in 355 reviews)

  • Work/Life balance is a struggle as to be expected in recruitment (in 106 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "A great place to work, grow, and raise a family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Recruiter in Tampa, FL
    Current Employee - Technical Recruiter in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Hays is flexible and they really listen

    Cons

    No one is going to push you, we have performance standards to meet but meet those and you can grow and build your business your way.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Hays Response

    Apr 23, 2018 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback!


  2. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I have been working at Hays full-time

    Pros

    The company truly cares about their employees and clients.

    Cons

    No organization is perfect and recruiting is a "people" industry.

    Hays Response

    Apr 9, 2018 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback!

  3. "Love it here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Work hard, play hard environment. Prepare to work your tail off, but the reward is great!! Awesome commission structure, lot of money to be made, great team building activities, extremely collaborative environment. Everyone on my team is willing to help if they can. Being a newbie can be daunting, but having the assistance of great managers and teammates makes the transition easy. Awesome training program!

    Cons

    Long hours, be prepared to put in a lot of work early. Some really long days, but they will pay off in the end.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! The morale of the office and the culture speak for itself.

    Hays Response

    Mar 26, 2018 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your insight! Great things come to those willing to work hard and go that extra mile!


  4. "AWESOME COMPANY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Hays full-time

    Pros

    Great Support!!
    Great Recruiting Staff...Jessica is AWESOME!
    Great Pay!
    Great Benefit Options!
    Great Placements.

    Cons

    Everything is great! I don't have any.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the GREAT work!

    Hays Response

    Mar 26, 2018 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your review! We're glad you like our new benefits, we think they're great too!


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Tampa, FL
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I currently work for Hays and I have never been a part of an organization that truly wants you to succeed and also give you the tools to do so.
    The pay in fantastic and we have a great office atmosphere.
    It is definitely a work hard play hard type of company and colleagues quickly become friends.

    Cons

    If you aren't a hard worker than this is not the job for you. You must be willing to put in the time to reap the rewards!

    Hays Response

    Mar 19, 2018 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. It's awesome to hear from you. Wishing you continued success with Hays!


  6. "Not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time

    Pros

    Great coworkers
    Tampa trip
    End of period meetings

    Cons

    Clearly favorites within the company.
    Training

    Hays Response

    Apr 16, 2018 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    We are sorry to hear Hays wasn't the right place for you. We wish you every success in the future.


  7. "The Leader in Recruitment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Consultant in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Managing Consultant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    1. Hays provides a fantastic platform and tools to develop all of its professional employee. Hays offers opportunities throughout the US but also on a global scale aswell across many industries, there is no limit to what you can achieve!
    2. Excellent training provided to both new employees and also 'veterans' of the business who need refreshers etc. These training programs are very engaging and in the form of face to face, online learning modules.
    3. Great leadership that offers full support every single day.
    4. Hays rewards very well in terms of commission as well as other cash and trip incentives which spurs employee on to perform well.

    Cons

    1. The location of the office is poor.
    2. The office is quite bland, not an 'attractive' work environment, very few amenities located around the office within walking distance.
    3. The hours can be challenging at times but as stated above Hays rewards those that put the work in.

    Advice to Management

    1. Look to relocate the office closer to the DC metro area. I feel as a business we are disconnected to the very busy DC market. Daily commutes are very tough here in the DC area and therefore meeting with candidates and clients is challenging which is having a negative impact on our business.

    Attracting people to join our business is also a challenge due to the location as most people live either downtown DC or in the suburbs in Arlington. I feel we are missing out on talented individuals as they are not prepared to make the hours commute in rush hour from Tysons to DC and vice versa.

    Hays Response

    Mar 19, 2018 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review. Great feedback. It's been taken to heart. Look for exciting news about our DC office in the near future!

  8. "I recommend joining the team if your interested in a staffing career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    I have had the opportunity to work for Hays across 3 different countries now and worked on a variety of desks over that period of time.

    It's a great close-knit team environment, with a successful business model across multiple areas, which provides loads of internal training & support.

    Cons

    As with all staffing firms - it's a sales/performance based role - some people thrive in an environment like this and others, its just not for them.

    If you enjoy sales & having a sense of ownership in your day-to-day environment - it can be a great place to work - if not - then recruitment might not be the career for you.

    Advice to Management

    It's been a great experience being part of the US growth over the last 5+ years.

    Now if we can get some standing desks in the next office - that would be great!

    Hays Response

    Mar 19, 2018 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Totally agree with you on the standing desks! Thank you for your review. It's great to hear from someone that's experienced our culture in multiple countries.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Lots of training and opportunities . Amazing commission structure in some countries . Great USA benefits. Opportunities to work in different countries and business units

    Cons

    Having worked with Hays in two different countries and have friends in 3 other countries working for Hays. Universally their base salaries are low. In big cities it's not livable wage.

    Advice to Management

    Retain your good talent, often tempted away by much higher bases and more flexible working options in UK.

    Hays Response

    Mar 8, 2018 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your pros and cons. Retaining great people is very important to us...stay tuned!


  10. "Greatest place ive worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Flexibility, Competitive and overall great office culture

    Cons

    None really. Hours may be long, but you get what you put into it.

    Advice to Management

    Keep recognizing our success

    Hays Response

    Mar 8, 2018 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review. We're glad you're here and wish you great success in reward for your efforts!


Showing 1,718 of 1,888 reviews
Reset Filters