Hays Reviews | Glassdoor

Hays Reviews

Updated January 23, 2019
1,994 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Hays CEO Alistair R. Cox
Alistair R. Cox
1,085 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Long Hours but is industry standard" (in 387 reviews)

  • "Work life balance , but thats more the industry you have to work hard but get rewarded for it" (in 111 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "IT Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Recruiter in Miami, FL
    Current Employee - IT Recruiter in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Since my start in September 2018, I have been impressed with Hays' on-boarding process. Considering this is a new industry for me, I have been able to receive ample amount of hands on training and coaching. With most jobs in career, I always reserve any conclusions until 90 days. That means challenging myself to stay open minded and ask a lot of questions. So far, I have concluded that this role fits all of my professional requirements. It challenges me daily, I have continuous support from my leaders and team, and I'm able to see the fruit of my labor. Coming from the Non-profit sector, you tend to rely on the intangibles to hold you over, but after experiencing quick success, with 3 placements in 3 months; which results in supporting 3 different families with new opportunities. I couldn't imagine a better balance.

    Cons

    Although the job will require a lot of sitting, I am able to shift my energy and focus towards the task at hand; finding qualified candidates. Be prepared to work hard to over come natural adversity in this job. That means excepting rejection, challenging your game plan and being patient. TTP (Trust the Process)


  2. "Perfect working envirnment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Hays full-time

    Pros

    Free lunch and snack, drink

    Cons

    Free dinner so gotta stay late

    Hays Response

    Jan 14, 2019 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the feedback, gotta make it happen! :)

  3. "Could be better..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Tampa, FL
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good commissions for how hard you work

    Cons

    not the best health benefits... awful leadership that should of been gone forever ago... CEO is not engaged of US side of things

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your people - grow your people

    Hays Response

    Jan 14, 2019 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your candid feedback.


  4. "Hays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Office Culture
    Commission Structure
    Access to management
    Room for growth within company
    Competitive benefits

    Cons

    No cons to report at this time

    Hays Response

    Jan 2, 2019 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your 5 star review. Glad you're here at Hays!


  5. "Great opportunity to grow professionally and personally"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - Variety of tasks in the day-to-day, from interviewing to business development, to account management, to networking...
    - Lots of opportunity for personal development, whether through international or internal mobility
    - Great work environment (frequently awarded the "Great Place to Work" award in several businesses across the world) and corporate culture
    - Really good work-life balance for this industry

    Cons

    Though we have good internal training, the job can be overwhelming for newcomers.

    Hays Response

    Jan 2, 2019 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review. Your candor is truly appreciated. Agreed, it can be overwhelming in the beginning, but the long term gains are worth it!


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Life Changing Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays (More than a year)

    Pros

    There is so much to be said about Hays as an organization and what it means to work not for them but with them. Almost a year ago i found myself here on Glassdoor reading review after review in hopes it would provide me enough feedback for me to feel comfortable making a decision to accept an offer or not. People can have different experiences and i came across reviews both good and bad. However, after reviewing quite a few of the reviews i had enough information to be comfortable accepting and i look back and i am more than happy that i did. Since starting with Hays i have had the opportunity to work alongside some of the most talented professionals i have ever worked with and they have mentored me and provided me with some of the best development and training EVER! The company culture is the epitome of work hard/ play hard and we truly do both. I have never had more fun with an organization in my life. It is a rare opportunity to find a company in the sales/recruiting industry that doesn't just advertise work hard/play hard but actually lives it. With the training i have received paired with my hunger/urgency to be successful i have come to distinguish myself as a viable part of the company. In under a year my success with Hays has afforded me the opportunity to pay off student loans and purchase a home! This is a high performing culture and if you are hungry Hays is the place to be. At the end of the day performance is critical to your success and the companies success. If you are ready to perform and enjoy doing it Hays is the right place for you. For anyone wondering, i don't get a bonus or any incentive for my review. I merely get to brag about the company i love and my success and everyone loves to brag!

    - Great Holiday/Vacation package
    - Great base pay and lucrative commissions
    - Awesome and high performing team
    - experiencing rapid expansion which allows a ton of opportunity down the road

    Cons

    I have yet to experience anything that i would consider a con. If/when i do i will update the thread.

    Hays Response

    Dec 3, 2018 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Wow! Thank you for your awesome review...so glad you're part of the Hays family!


  7. "Business Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Hays is the leading global specialist recruitment group, and the market leader in places such as the UK, Germany and Australia. We are the experts in recruiting qualified, professional and skilled people across a wide range of specialised industries and professions. We operate across the private and public sectors, dealing in permanent positions, contract roles and temporary assignments.

    Cons

    In terms of cons the only thing i can think of is we do work long hours (on what is considered an average working week). However these do pass quickly as the workload we have keeps us busy.

    Advice to Management

    An effective manager is someone who communicates effectively in person, print, texts, and email. Listening and two-way feedback characterize interactions with others. The manager should also open to receiving feedback from colleagues and reporting staff. Avoid a defensive response and be willing to change your behavior when the feedback is on target. But, mostly, understand and act upon the power of interaction.

    Hays Response

    Dec 3, 2018 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Sharing your thoughts helps us to continue to grow and improve.

  8. Helpful (6)

    "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Hays full-time

    Pros

    Compensation - base isn't great but amazing commission structure

    Cons

    Benefits could be better. Standard 401k, medical, dental, vision, etc. No commuter benefits, no tuition reimbursement, no 'fun' or 'modern' benefits that are attractive.

    Hays Response

    Nov 5, 2018 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your open candor. As we continue to grow and evolve in the US, keep an eye out for changes as we continue to enhance our benefit offerings. We rolled out... More


  9. "Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Good training provided by the firm.

    Cons

    Stressful role as it is sales oriented.

    Hays Response

    Oct 31, 2018 – National Internal Recruitment Coordinator

    Thank you for your review


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to develop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great work atmosphere
    Meet different range of professional
    get to know a variety of industries
    Bonus

    Cons

    Fixed salary
    Management
    Poor work / life balance

    Hays Response

    Oct 8, 2018 – Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review. While we're disappointed to not achieve a 4 or 5 star ranking, it's great to hear you feel we have a number of pros to recommend us.