Hays Reviews | Glassdoor

Hays Reviews

Updated December 12, 2017
1,542 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Hays CEO Alistair R. Cox
Alistair R. Cox
865 Ratings

1,542 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • The recruitment industry is long hours (in 343 reviews)

  • Maintaining good work-life balance can be a bit challenging at times (in 93 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (10)

    "Best company I've worked for yet!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Tampa, FL
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Extensive training to help you feel confident in your role. Everyone is welcoming and helpful. Best work life balance I have found at any company. Frequent (sometimes weekly) employee outings really brings the team together.

    Cons

    None thus far- I will update at a later date if I find the need. Some people find the commission structure confusing but it's quite simple once it's explained to you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the awesome team building and communication- it makes all the difference!

    Hays Response

    Sep 17, 2017

    Thanks for your review


  2. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Well-run organization. Strong and fair leadership team. Lots of opportunities if you're willing to dedicate yourself.

    Cons

    Sometimes the hours can be long however the compensation is very good for the industry.

    Hays Response

    Sep 10, 2017

    Thanks for your review.

    High performing individuals can be fast-tracked into management positions and we have lots of opportunities for exceptional people.

  3. "senior recruitment consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Hays full-time

    Pros

    excellent training, social culture, good development opportunity

    Cons

    commission structure could be more competitve

    Advice to Management

    more leadership training for upper management

    Hays Response

    Sep 10, 2017

    Thanks for your review.


  4. "Osha"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - OSHA in Bronx, NY
    Former Employee - OSHA in Bronx, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Hays full-time

    Pros

    To ensure a better future, to stabilize economically and to cover your expenses without any problems and to be in accordance with yourself

    Cons

    I left that job because I need to study to prepare myself for a better future but to work after school to get ahead and to have a stable economy

    Advice to Management

    To do everything that is asked of me at work as long as it is up to me and I can do it well and meet all the necessary requirements in case they give me an order and do my job well

    Hays Response

    Sep 10, 2017

    Thanks for your review.


  5. "Last Resort for Construction Work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in Newport News, VA
    Former Employee - Operations in Newport News, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Hays full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Company has been established for years.

    Cons

    Hard work for low pay.
    Seasonal

    Advice to Management

    Quit thinking you know it all.
    Pay your employees what they are worth.

    Hays Response

    Sep 17, 2017

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your time as a temporary worker


  6. "work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    people are all from similar backgrounds

    Cons

    company is too result driven
    commission complicated

    Hays Response

    Aug 20, 2017

    Thanks for your review.

    We are a very results-driven organisation and that's not for everyone but work hard, achieve results and you get rewarded!


  7. "Overall good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Laborer in Jacksonville, FL
    Former Employee - Laborer in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good staff. Easy to work with

    Cons

    Communication is a key point

    Advice to Management

    Communicate better. It's easier on work

    Hays Response

    Aug 2, 2017

    Thanks for your review

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Human company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Belgium, WI
    Former Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in Belgium, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Hays is an International company but it feels like working for a SME with a direct line to the management/CEO.
    Human oriented, a consultant gets enough time to learn and to grow. No agressive salesapproach. Interesting bonussystem and incentives. At a seniorlevel you get a lot of autonomy. The job is great, you have a lot of contacts with clients, candidates, it's an advisory role. If you're result oriented, then this job is great.

    Cons

    -Limited careerpath possibilities, you can grow to senior consultant and then teamleader (and maybe office manager). As a teamleader, you have to work as a senior consultant and at the same time you have to manage your teammember(s). But if you're not interested in becoming an office manager, you don't have much possibilities to grow. There are no extra dimensions that you can add to your current jobcontent, so you can not really evolve in a horizontal sense.

    -There are very few external trainings, trainings are given by Hays employees.

    -Maybe the traditional way of working: for ex employees have a fixed PC, fixed desk, no working from home...However there's a mindshift going on.

    Conclusion: You can learn everything about recruitment&selection, soft skills, sales and at the same time you can earn a good salary. But you have to be ready to leave your comfort zone if you want to lift your career to the next level. But for those who love R&S, and you keep on being productive, you can stay in your job untill retirement.

    Advice to Management

    Hays has a human oriented culture, that's great. I recommand Hays.
    Some advice:
    More external trainings
    Introduce the 'agile' working methods (not only a laptop for teamleaders for ex)
    Maybe give possibilities to give that extra intellectual dimensions for those consultants that want to grow on the contentlevel

    Hays Response

    May 23, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Thank you for completing a glassdoor review. Your advice to management has been passed onto EMEA.


  9. "Great Training, Outstanding Management, first few weeks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Recruitment Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Associate Recruitment Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Management is outstanding, giving me constant constructive criticism while ensuring that I feel welcome and appreciated. Top notch training process and great benefits

    Cons

    None that I can think of at the moment

    Hays Response

    May 10, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    That is great to hear and I will be sure to pass your comments onto the team. All the best in the future.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Hays full-time

    Pros

    People are mostly nice

    Cons

    It's all about money

    Hays Response

    May 23, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Hi - it's incredibly difficult for me to provide a constructive response when you provide no detail about why you rated your time with us as poorly as you have. If you are open to a phone call to... More


Showing 1,542 of 1,680 reviews
Reset Filters