Hays plc Reviews in London, England | Glassdoor

Hays plc London Reviews

Updated March 29, 2017
263 reviews

Filter

Filter

London, England (UK)

4.3
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Hays plc CEO Alistair R. Cox
Alistair R. Cox
153 Ratings

263 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • Long hours can be a struggle but the rewards are great (in 300 reviews)

  • Maintaining good work-life balance can be a bit challenging at times (in 72 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great place to work!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Real Estate Agent in London, England (UK)
    Former Contractor - Real Estate Agent in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Hays plc as a contractor (More than a year)

    Pros

    Lovely team and office location

    Cons

    all good, excellent salary and commissions package


  2. "Employment Review"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays plc full-time

    Pros

    Hays is a great company to work for. Since starting my career here I have had the access to continuous training and development, strong guidance from senior management, and an opportunity to work independently as part of a wider business

    Cons

    Due to the nature of our business, there are a lot of grey areas in regards to remits. Constant changes to these remits makes it more challenging to establish oneself.

    Advice to Management

    Although it is a target driven environment, long term planning as opposed to quick business is key. More focus on this is required.

    Hays plc Response

    Mar 29, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your time at Hays. Your comments & advice have been noted and passed onto the London based MDs.


  3. "Excellent career opportunities"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Manager in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Business Manager in London, England (UK)
    Recommends

    I have been working at Hays plc part-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Progression and training. You are supported to achieve your potential through great training and support from experienced consultants allowing you to progress.

    Cons

    Long working hours but you are always busy and the day goes quickly so you find yourself wishing there were more hours in the day.

    Hays plc Response

    Mar 27, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    More than 10 years with Hays and it sounds as if you're still very happy considering the 5* review. I appreciate you sharing your comments and wish you the best in the future.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Over 7 years with Hays and still love my job"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internal Recruiter in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Internal Recruiter in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays plc full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Career progression
    Competitive commission scheme
    Great benefits & incentives

    Cons

    Hard work but what you put into this role is what you get out of it so your hard work pays off.
    Challenging but very rewarding at the same time.
    Competitive but in a good way and the way it should be in a sales environment

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Hays plc Response

    Mar 27, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    And here's to another 7 years! Thanks for taking the time to share your Hays story and all the best with your future career with us.


  6. "Work for Hays"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Maintenance Electrician in London, England (UK)
    Former Contractor - Maintenance Electrician in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays plc as a contractor (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Hays has lots of different trades job. They have big experience in employment. Big agency so they have lots of colleagues.

    Cons

    Not always available the individual colleague. Not always continuous the job supply. Not available electronically the candidates docusign registration form.

    Advice to Management

    Try to make a better connection between the employer and the potential candidates by give it a chance to them.


  7. "Hays are a great choice for anyone looking for a fast paced, challenging and rewarding career."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays plc full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The training that is on offer is brilliant - I do not think I could of done this job without the in-depth training provided. Very clear path for progression and supportive management that want you to succeed.

    Cons

    The hours are long but the job is rewarding!

    Advice to Management

    Reduce work hours ever so slightly - would make a huge difference for commuters.

    Hays plc Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Love reading your review, thank you. I would be interested to know how long you do commute to and from work daily as there are options around reducing this. You can reach me on 0203 465 0202 if you'd ... More


  8. "Great company to start your career at"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - IT Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hays plc full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent training for new colleage starters

    Cons

    Long working hours
    Not great pay (£18000 pa)

    Hays plc Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Thanks for your 5 star review. Noted your comment about working long hours and I will respectfully challenge that. Our contractual hours at 8.30am to 6pm and these are normal by most business ... More


  9. "Senior Consultant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to progress your career, encouraging and high performance atmosphere and multiple projects to get involved in

    Cons

    Occasionally have to work longer than standard hours

    Hays plc Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Thank you for your 5* review - it is appreciated!


  10. "Rewarding"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Intern - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays plc as an intern (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Fast passed and rewarding environment where your hard work is noticed. On-going training that has enabled me to develop my skills consistently.

    Cons

    The recruitment industry is long hours

    Hays plc Response

    Mar 6, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Thank you for your 5 star review. It would be nice to hear more about your experience as an intern at Hays and I would welcome the opportunity to talk. 0203 465 0202.


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Number 1 truly means number 1"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Senior Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays plc full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent career progression
    Clear structure with unrivalled training
    Transparency

    Cons

    This industry requires hard work and a lot of resilience however it also rewards extremely well to those who have what it takes.

    Hays plc Response

    Mar 2, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    It's really great to hear your thoughts on Hays, thanks for sharing.



Showing 263 of 1,348 reviews
Reset Filters