Hays plc Reviews in London, England | Glassdoor

Hays plc London Reviews

Updated February 21, 2017
247 reviews

Filter

Filter

London, England (UK)

4.3
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Hays plc CEO Alistair R. Cox
Alistair R. Cox
145 Ratings

247 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • Long hours can be a struggle but the rewards are great (in 288 reviews)

  • Work/life balance is sometimes questionable (in 71 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "A dynamic and engaging culture"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Dynamic and engaging culture.
    Huge commitment to training and development.
    Opportunity to make a name for yourself early on with a rising stars programme

    Cons

    While an entrepreneurial approach is supported, the actions sometimes required to deliver innovation are not valued and recognised as they fall outside traditional KPIs.

    Advice to Management

    Be careful that business decisions taken locally are not taken in isolation and assessed against local budgets and the constraints that these might impose as sometimes a larger opportunity exists for all if all regions were to participate and contribute.


  2. "Good"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Associate Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hays plc full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Nice colleagues, good location & great training

    Cons

    commission structure is not great (it does increase later)

    Advice to Management

    Promote Hannah Walker

    Hays plc Response

    Feb 20, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Thank you very much for your review from London Victoria.


  3. "A good company to work for"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays plc full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Outstanding training from day one and continuous development. A market leader and established in 33 countries across the globe so excellent opportunities to move abroad.

    Cons

    Although there is the potential to progress quickly, the starting salary is low. It would be good to have more incentives and a financial input from the business.

    Advice to Management

    More incentives

    Hays plc Response

    Feb 20, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    I appreciate you taking the time to complete your review. We do have several incentives running locally in teams, offices, regions and nationally so I would suggest speaking to your manager or ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "6 months in and really enjoying it"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Associate Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays plc full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Management
    How everyday is different
    Training

    Cons

    Long hours can be a struggle but the rewards are great

    Advice to Management

    The support and training has been second to none, never been a time where I've felt like I couldn't ask for advice

    Hays plc Response

    Feb 20, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Wonderful - I'm glad you're enjoying the associate programme at Hays and have an open relationship with your management team. Good luck!


  6. "First 6 Months"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Associate Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great people, good career structure - clear progression route

    Cons

    Can be days which are hard, long hours can be challenging.

    Advice to Management

    More input from employees on what desk they feel will suit them the most. Don't often have a choice of what area they specialise in.

    Hays plc Response

    Feb 20, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    You're right, we determine your desk during the 4 stage internal recruitment process and we consider which specialism or team you'd be best suited to from both a objective and subjective perspective ... More


  7. "London Office"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Associate Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hays plc full-time

    Pros

    There is a chance to progress quickly if your targets are hit. There is a good chance to make decent commission.

    Cons

    Work/life balance is sometimes questionable. Pressure to deliver as expected in a sales environment.

    Hays plc Response

    Feb 20, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience thus far. All the best moving forward and successfully completing your associate programme.


  8. "Recruitment Consultant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays plc full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    If you are successful and motivated, they will support you all the way. The company provides great and in-depth training, which will make you confident in your job. I was promoted after 9 months from Associate to Consultant, which gives you an idea of the speed of development you can have.
    The culture is very positive, upbeat and fun with great incentives. Senior Management are always there to support you and really emphasise on your development, with no blame culture. Top knotch directors who are very transparent with how the business is going.

    Cons

    Can't think of anything right now. If you want to have a career in recruitment, you shouldn't think twice about joining any company other than Hays, as they really do have the best resources and structure available.

    Hays plc Response

    Feb 20, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    I really do appreciate your comments on this 5* review so thanks for taking the time to share and all the best for 2017 and your future at Hays.


  9. "Good place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays plc full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    A good company to work for. You are given a lot of training and support throughout. From the beginning you are given a lot of responsibility and opportunities for progression.

    Cons

    The working hours are long and the base salary is very low. There is no annual increase in salary to take into account inflation.

    Hays plc Response

    Feb 20, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Yes, there is no annual increase in salary however as an associate you can experience 2 very healthy pay rises within 18 months of starting at Hays and that goes hand in hand with promotions - I dare ... More


  10. "Associate Consultant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Associate Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays plc full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Really structured recruitment procces, an assessment center that gives you a great overview of the recruiter's job.
    High quality online training to get to know the organisation during your first days.
    The working environment is very nice, a busy office with lots of things happening around. Everyone is happy to answer you questions and help you develop.
    From the first days you can see that is a meritocratic environment, where hard work pays back!

    Cons

    I would expect a bit more on the job training and mentoring.
    No gym in the office

    Advice to Management

    none

    Hays plc Response

    Feb 14, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    I have to be honest, I don't think we'll be getting a gym in the office any time soon but we do have discounted gym membership with a lot of the leading gyms. You can review options through ... More


  11. "Skies the limited!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Associate Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays plc (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The training program is unparalleled. My time line of progress in the role was clearly outlined from day one with a week to week outline of what I would be doing. Everyone in the team is always happy to ask questions and support you in successes.
    Genuinely, if you want to progress to the top of Hays you can. The harder you work the more you get in return its that simple.

    Cons

    The only con I would say is that if you are unsure about doing recruitment then it is not for you. You need to have commitment to doing the job. If you don't you will not get far.

    Advice to Management

    Always keep an eye on support of junior staff (which is done already)

    Hays plc Response

    Feb 14, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    How great it is to receive your review! Thank you very much indeed and all the best in the associate programme.



Showing 247 of 1,284 reviews
Reset Filters