Hays plc Reviews | Glassdoor

Hays plc Reviews

Updated March 15, 2017
360 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Hays plc CEO Alistair R. Cox
Alistair R. Cox
182 Ratings

360 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • Long hours can be a struggle but the rewards are great (in 300 reviews)

  • Maintaining good work-life balance can be a bit challenging at times (in 72 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Recruiter"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bio-pharmaceutical Recruiter in Howard Beach, NY
    Former Employee - Bio-pharmaceutical Recruiter in Howard Beach, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Hays plc (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great People, fun places to work!

    Cons

    Open Offices setting, Merging with other Company


  2. Helpful (1)

    "researcher"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    competitive yet very good mentor to learn from

    Cons

    stressful and lack of work life balance


  3. "Going places"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hays plc full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Ambitious company with strong market offering and demonstrable global growth in past 5 years.
    Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Internal communication can be an issue.
    Some inconsistencies in working environment and reward globally.

    Advice to Management

    Improved communication would make a massive difference to our global connectivity and increase our ability to adequately service our global clients.

    Hays plc Response

    Aug 17, 2015 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Thank you for your comments and I will ensure your advice is passed onto management to review and action.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Fullfilling Experience"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Recruitment Consultant
    Current Intern - Recruitment Consultant
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hays plc as an intern (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great experience to learn how to deal with pressure, in a very good working atmosphere.

    Cons

    As an intern, you don't get paid that well...


  6. "Good, but still some room for improvement"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Allows a degree of autonomy, some super colleagues, great career opportunities, trying to become truly global

    Cons

    Internal politics, lack of internal communication, some still very 'old school' mentality

    Hays plc Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Appreciate your comments and would very much like to discuss them in more detail. Are you open to a telephone conversation? 0203 465 0202.


  7. "Great Place to Work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays plc full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Meritocracy, you work hard, you progress. Colleagues look out for each other. Company values of expert, inquisitive, enthusiastic and passionate about people are real. Fun!

    Cons

    Its a sales environment, target driven, lean on costs, efficient; not for everyone. Salaries not always market competitive at senior level. Flex benefits package is good. Maternity policy (in the UK at least) shocking.

    Hays plc Response

    Mar 27, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Appreciate your comments, thank you.


  8. "Recruitment Consultant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Autonomy over the desk that I recruit for. I am given the skills and training to be able to go out to the market and to attract the best candidates possible.

    Cons

    Longer working hours than most recruitment companies. I feel that I would be as productive working 9 - 5 as this would force me to manage my time better and to work towards stricter deadlines.

    Advice to Management

    Strongly consider a change in the working hours at Hays. Shorter working days will make us all more productive and provide us with a better work life balance.

    Hays plc Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Hello and thanks for sharing your thoughts. It's no secret that our business hours are 8.30am to 6pm and this is standard across many businesses. We work these hours to mirror our client's hours ... More


  9. "Source Associate"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Hays plc as an intern

    Pros

    Clear KPI, Fun culture, nice people

    Cons

    Competitive and pressure, working styles are far different according to desks, not many cross-function

    Advice to Management

    NA

    Hays plc Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Appreciate you taking the time to complete your review.


  10. "Senior HR Consultant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Hays plc full-time

    Pros

    Sales and Business Development, HR and Recruitment, Training, Chance of Train a Junior Consultant

    Cons

    Working hours, Stress, Highly competitive environment, Monthly ranking

    Hays plc Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    I do have to say, there have been times I've felt stressed but I wouldn't change it because I think I've grown thanks to the experience. Saying that, we all handle stress differently and working in a ... More


  11. "Junior Developer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Web Developer in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Junior Web Developer in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Amazing company to work for

    Cons

    There are none I can think off

    Hays plc Response

    Mar 15, 2017 – Head of Internal Recruitment

    Thanks for your comments.



Showing 360 of 1,339 reviews
Reset Filters