Hays plc Reviews | Glassdoor

Hays plc Reviews

Updated July 18, 2017
1,380 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

1,380 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Long hours can be a struggle but the rewards are great (in 324 reviews)

  • Maintaining good work-life balance can be a bit challenging at times (in 88 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "AC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Shanghai, Shanghai (China)
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in Shanghai, Shanghai (China)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hays plc full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Hays can help fresh graduates figure out their career path fast

    Cons

    Working under pressure and no work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Keep going. GOGOGO Hays!


  2. "Rewarding Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays plc full-time

    Pros

    I have recently joined Hays and already I can see the difference both I can make to the company but also what the company can do for me in terms of career progression. Hays is a meritocratic organisation which makes you determined to work hard and push yourself to achieve success.

    Cons

    The hours might seem longer than many corporate organisations and it has taken me some time to adjust. However, you do get used to it and it gives you greater opportunity to reach your goals.

    Advice to Management

    No advice as of yet as I haven't been here too long, all the managers I have come into contact with have been very supportive and welcoming and offer a wide variety of support and training.

    Hays plc Response

    Jul 16, 2017

    Thank you for your very balanced review. Appreciate the 5* - thank you!

  3. "Still Loving HAYS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Compliance Specialist in Leicester, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Senior Compliance Specialist in Leicester, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays plc full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    I have worked for Hays for over 7 years and recently returned to the HTS business in Leicester are and I am very proud to say that I have come home.

    HTS is a global operation and you have opportunities to interact with colleagues from other countries and be involved in various projects, some of these tap into your proven experience and some of these take you out of your comfort zone and challenge you in the most positive of ways.

    Targets in HTS will challenge you and are naturally increased when these are consistently achieved, I welcome this as this gives me a sense of achieving the goals of the Talent Solutions business along with challenge myself personally. I have also had the opportunity to set myself some objectives for the first quarter at my end of year review with my line manager.

    We have a wrap up at the end of period to celebrate our success in Leicester, I find this information useful. Some people receive a bottle of wine and we have a draw to win a bigger value prize for achieving or exceeding targets. The head of Leicester even puts on some drinks for us which I feel is a really nice gesture and something I have not experienced in other business I have had the pleasure in working for in the past.

    Every six months there are promotions and these are all based around performance and going that extra mile to achieve the goals of the business and these are very well deserved.

    Our hours have recently changed too which means I get an hour back every day and I very rarely need to stay late. If I do this is of my own free will because I take pride in my work.

    There are so many more positives to HTS but I am very aware that you get out what you put in. Work hard, drive success and you will be rewarded.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons about the HTS business, I just love what we and I do here.

    Advice to Management

    Please keep challenging me, please keep me on my toes with objectives, please allow me to help the business grow.

    Hays plc Response

    Jul 16, 2017

    Thank you for your review


  4. "Constant promotions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Two major promotions were announced today internally proving once again that Hays recognised top performers and offers unlimited career advancement

    Cons

    It's not a con but if you want to be successful you have to work hard for it! No one gets a promotion without earning it

    Hays plc Response

    Jul 12, 2017

    There are definitely a lot of promotions at Hays and always well deserved. Glad you see the opportunity and understand if you work hard you will be rewarded.


  5. "Account executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Positive environment, Great people, potential to be rewarded for your hard work. You really get to know your clients. Work side by side with the company's recruiters.

    Cons

    Significant pressure to get new contacts. Salary is pretty dependent on performance commission. Not really any negatives that you wouldn't expect.

    Hays plc Response

    Jul 10, 2017

    Thanks for your review.


  6. "The best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Associate Director in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays plc full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    An abundance of experts.
    Great support.
    Development opportunities.
    Strong leadership.
    Great benefits.

    Cons

    Literally nothing to put here.

    Hays plc Response

    Jul 9, 2017

    Thank you for your 5 star review!


  7. "New employment at Hays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays plc full-time

    Pros

    Staff very friendly, lovely atmosphere, work hard and play hard

    Cons

    There are no cons about Hays

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    Hays plc Response

    Jul 9, 2017

    Thanks for your positive review

  8. "Positive, but not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Hays plc full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Hays is a good company to work for. The support and training they provide is outstanding and really contributes towards your personal development. Their database, and candidate reach is miles ahead of the competition.

    Cons

    Unless you are billings well the pay isn't the greatest. It's a little too KPI driven which can lead to consultants logging fake activities, I have seen a lot of consultants leave due to high pressure environment - it's really not for everyone. Questionable motivation techniques..

    Hays plc Response

    Jul 22, 2017

    Thanks for your review. The harder you work the more you earn and commission is uncapped and as a result we do have high expectations around KPIs.


  9. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Recruiter
    Current Employee - Associate Recruiter
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Hays plc full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Pay is good, promotion structure is good

    Cons

    management needs work. KPI's are really high and no work life balance

    Advice to Management

    learn to build up your staff not break them down because of KPI's

    Hays plc Response

    Jul 22, 2017

    Thanks for your review. KPIs are a key part of how we manage and support our staff and we do have high expectations at Hays. You do have to work hard in your first 12 months if you want to be... More


  10. ""Great place to be trained and learn""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Bogotá, Bogota (Colombia)
    Former Employee - Consultant in Bogotá, Bogota (Colombia)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Hays plc full-time

    Pros

    - There's great people to work with.
    - The job is very dynamic, is a great place for learning a lot.
    - Good working culture.

    Cons

    - Serious lack of leadership and accompaniment across all areas.
    - Very stressful and demanding work. Lack of work life balance.

    Hays plc Response

    Jul 22, 2017

    Thanks for your review.


Showing 1,380 of 1,495 reviews
Reset Filters