Health Catalyst Reviews | Glassdoor

Health Catalyst Reviews

Updated Apr 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
94%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work, maturing well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analytics Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Health Catalyst full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great colleagues and culture (smart, collaborative, transparent, customer focused) Flexible work arrangements Generous benefits Truly cares about improving healthcare through analytics

    Cons

    Teams are spread out across locations and clients (collaboration greatly improving however)

    Continue reading
    Health Catalyst2020-04-01

    Health Catalyst Response

    April 3, 2020CEO

    Thank you for your feedback and review. I agree with your perspective regarding the positives you shared regarding the quality of our team members, flexibility, benefits and mission-orientation. I also agree that we need to keep a focus on effective collaboration across locations and clients. I'm also glad to hear your assessment that you're seeing improvement. We'll keep working to improve. thank you also for your 5+ years of analytics engineering contributions to the company -- you're in such a centrally important role as a primary face of the company to our clients! Best, Dan

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "I’ve never been more grateful or proud to be a part of this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Health Catalyst full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I’ve been fortunate to work at Health Catalyst for a number of years, and the word that comes to mind in describing my situation here is “grateful”. Health Catalyst focuses on its team members as its most valued asset and I’m a firsthand witness to that fact. I don’t think anyone would claim that the company is perfect, but we’re all striving and that really shows. The leadership team is transparent and thoughtful in every decision that they make. They stick to our core principles as they work through various difficult situations and decisions. Health Catalyst benefits and policies are both generous and well thought out, leaving is little need for complaints. Reimbursement is offered for fitness/gym, home office equipment, home internet, cell phone, and further education. The main office has a great gym and there are break rooms stocked with snacks and beverages. During the past few years, the flexible PTO policy, ability to work remotely, and generous paternal leave has been a major stress-reliever for me and my family. There are many opportunities for growth and I’m appreciative that I’ve had the privilege of experiencing a few different roles at the company. I feel that I am generously compensated for all that I do, and that drives me to give my best. My managers care about me as a person and want what’s best for me, inside and outside of work. Most recently, I have been in awe as I have watched how the company has reacted to the ongoing situation with COVID-19 concerns. The team has responded quickly and continues to be agile in this difficult situation. Leadership has expressed that each team member’s well-being is their first and foremost concern. All offices have been shut down, but outreach and connection have multiplied even though we’re all remote. Our leaders are constantly assessing the situation and responding with agile solutions. We’ve been told to take care of ourselves and our families first. As I watch the news and talk to family members and friends, it doesn’t take long to realize that not every company is reacting this way. Some people are being (unnecessarily) forced to choose between risking their health (and that of their loved ones) and not bringing home a paycheck because they feel uncomfortable being in the office. I’m so glad I don’t have to make that choice! Additionally, the team is working on tools to help our clients deal with the overwhelming concerns around the coronavirus, and we all recognize what is most important. I’ve found a sense of comfort and unity from my experiences at work in the midst of all the chaos of the unknown in from of us. It’s amazing to be a part of a company with a mission that matters, and that hopes to make a difference in the world. I’m humbled and grateful to work here and be a part of such a great team!

    Cons

    There really aren’t many. Some roles require many extra hours of overtime work but we’re encouraged to make up for it when things slow down. A lot is expected and it’s up to you to maintain your own work/life balance. There seem to be constant changes and reorganizations, but that’s not surprising in a growing company.

    Continue reading
    Health Catalyst2020-03-21

    Health Catalyst Response

    March 24, 2020CEO

    Thank you for sharing this feedback, and thank you for your commitment and contributions for these past 5+ years. I'm grateful to have you as a teammate, and I'm happy to hear of the many positive aspects of your experience over the past several years. Thank you for your kind words. We do care deeply about each team member and we'll work to keep team members at the center of our efforts as a leadership team. I also empathize with your feedback about high expectations and heavy workloads, which I believe many team members are feeling especially right now as we work to be responsive and helpful to clients in their COVID-19 efforts. I do hope that you and other team members will have opportunities for renewal and rest both along the way and after some necessary spikes in activity. I also appreciate and agree with the challenge of frequent reorganizations. We try very hard to batch these changes together as part of our annual planning process, and then minimize changes outside that cycle. But even an annual cycle that includes changes can be meaningfully disruptive. As you pointed out, we are also trying to be responsive to a dynamic environment and to keep up with the growth of the company as well. These are difficult balances to find, and I know we don't always find the optimal balance. But we'll keep striving to, and hopefully get better and better over time. We'll also continue to be transparent and keep team members as our #1 priority in support of the company's mission. Thank you again for your many years of contributions to that meaningful mission! Best, Dan

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "6 Years In and Still the Best Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Health Catalyst full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The leaders are top-notch. They easily adapt to the situation and initiate necessary changes for the benefit of the employees and the company. i.e. with the COVID-19, the company reacted fast and have everybody do work from home and provided the employees with equipment to WFH.

    Cons

    Too much reorganization going lately. It is becoming hard to keep track of who's who.

    Continue reading
    Health Catalyst2020-03-18

    Health Catalyst Response

    March 19, 2020CEO

    Thank you for sharing this review, and thank you for six years of really meaningful contributions to our company's mission and success! It is so significant what you have given to our company by choosing to come and to stay for so many years. Thank you also for your kind words. We will try to continue to be nimble in the face of this current COVID-19 situation, both to keep our team members safe, as well as to contribute to a positive global response to this challenging circumstance. I'm grateful to be in an organization that can directly support our wonderful health system clients as they are on the front lines of responding to this unique situation. I also appreciate your feedback regarding the challenges associated with our reorganizations. And I acknowledge that we've made some meaningful organizational changes as part of the 2020 planning process, and that every time we make an organizational change it causes disruption to many team members. I apologize for this disruption and challenge. As we've discussed in the past, it is an elusive balance to find between being nimble and changing as we continue to be a fast-growing company, and not changing so much that we can't be productive and effective. Our attempt in finding that balance is, wherever possible, to batch together the organizational changes once a year, in the planning process, and then to hold the organization constant throughout the rest of the year. But we don't do this perfectly today, and there are still circumstances where we need to make changes even outside the annual planning cycle. But please know that we are striving to minimize the number of changes we can make, and I hope that we'll have several months ahead of more constancy regarding our organizational structure, until the next planning cycle, with the one note that it's hard for anyone to predict the full impact of the COVID-19 situation. So we'll keep watching and learning and observing, and strive to find the optimal balance, knowing we won't always get it exactly right. Finally, I appreciate your positive feedback regarding transparency. We'll try to increase transparency and communication particularly during these times of unique challenge and uncertainty, related to the COVID-19 pandemic. Even in times of great uncertainty, there are also things that don't change, like our mission and like the timeless principles we strive to adhere to, and those foundational unchanging elements will help us work through and get through these challenges together. Thank you again for your review and feedback! Best, Dan

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "No company has a better culture and leadership team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Health Catalyst full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Health Catalyst has the best leadership of any company I have ever worked for. They live firmly by their mission statement, and believe strongly in what they are doing. Employees and colleagues are incredibly bright and great at what they do. They care deeply about their employees and try to make sure they feel heard and are happy. You will hear me complain a bit about the bonus structure in the Cons list but overall I STRONGLY recommend Health Catalyst to anyone looking for a great career, and the other incentives, although pretty similar to other surrounding Utah tech companies, are really great.

    Cons

    I don't feel that the bonus structure is created in a way that it is a welcome incentive to work. I am not alone in this feeling, and as the bonus is completely collective, and although leadership may disagree with the following statement, I (and many others) strongly feel completely powerless in moving the needle on the bonus in any way. I have never received a bonus of less then 100% before coming to Health Catalyst because of my strong work ethic, but since coming every quarterly bonus has been more and more disappointing. It is just a bit disheartening when you decide to join a company looking at the total "built in" compensation and I just have not been prepared to receive lower bonus compensations. And here I will make my last point, I don't understand how one of the strongest and fastest growing companies in Utah, posts a company bonus of less then 45%. This would indicate to me personally of a failing grade and that I and others are under preforming which I assure you is not the case. So, don't let this discourage your interest from Health Catalyst. It didn't work out for me, because I had the wrong expectations up front, but it can work out for you, just make sure you "total built in compensation" is salary based and put little stock in the bonus as it may be near non-existent.

    Continue reading
    Health Catalyst2020-03-11

    Health Catalyst Response

    March 19, 2020CEO

    Thank you for this thoughtful review and feedback. I'm very happy to hear of the positive elements of your experience thus far at Health Catalyst, and thank you for your kind words regarding the leadership team. I agree with you regarding the talent and dedication of our teammates, and I'm also happy to hear that the benefits are positive. I also very much appreciate your feedback regarding the bonus structure of the company. And I acknowledge that there is downside to our current bonus structure which, for many years now, has been nearly entirely focused on companywide performance. I believe there are many positives of this team-based approach to bonuses. But there are also downsides, and as we grow and mature as a company, it's important for us to be open to updating and changing "practices" while also remaining true to "principles". Over the years I've tried to think carefully about whether the team-based bonus is closer to a "principle" or a "practice", and we have debated this as a leadership team as well. In a recent 1:1 with a long-time colleague, teammate and fellow-leader at Health Catalyst, we had an interesting and reflective discussion of learnings along the way of our nearly decade-long work together at Health Catalyst. One of the learnings I shared was the realization that almost every topic and decision of significance turned out, when I really understood it, to be along a spectrum, rather than being more "digital" or clear-cut "yes" or "no" or "always" vs. "never." Navigating through where we should fall on a spectrum, with an acknowledgement of ambiguity, judgment, and decisions based on limited data, has been an experience that has repeated itself thousands of times throughout the years. And the structure of the bonus is also on this spectrum. I believe the way we approach the bonus is a practice that can and should be modified over time as our circumstances change. As we make updates to the bonus, we should also be informed by and guided by a balanced view of timeless principles. Perhaps all of this is a convoluted way of sharing with you that I'm open to and in the process of pondering, with active dialogue with our leadership team, how we might consider evolving the bonus structure over time to potentially include some individual-specific components. And I also would like to move towards a more consistent higher-percentage-of-target bonus payout over time, which is also extra challenging as our company also works towards profitability. One of the benefits of moving to an annual bonus payout cadence is that this provides us with some time and space to consider the bonus structure, and to potentially utilize some of 2020 to iterate on some ideas that can inform our structure moving forward. We'll discuss this more in depth during today's All Team Member meeting, and will keep working on this in the weeks and months ahead. I do believe there may well be a place for a portion of the bonus to be based more on items that an individual has more direct control over, with another portion remaining tied to the companywide performance. Finally, thank you for your encouragement regarding transparency. We'll try to actually increase our transparency and frequency of communication in challenging times like our current COVID-19 situation, with weekly all-team-member meetings and written updates from me every few days, in addition to encouraging all managers to conduct weekly video one-on-ones with every team member. We will make it through this and many other challenges, together, in the weeks, months and years ahead. Thank you again for choosing to join Health Catalyst! Best, Dan

    Continue reading
  5. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Can’t wait to see us after this decade."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Health Catalyst full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This is a real special place to work. I absolutely enjoyed working for my community medical center. I joined Health Catalyst to continue do meaningful work, but with a huge multiplier. Now I am a part of something that WILL transform healthcare. I am fortunate to be on the receiving end of so many good things which keeps me in a perpetual state of gratitude. (I don’t have to advocate for adequate equipment, time-off, or wages) My teammates are skilled, kind and enjoyable to be around. Again, this is special.

    Cons

    Well if there are, I have several avenues to voice my opinion and know I will be heard. Oh we need to find another holiday to put on the calendar. (kidding, we have 23 "holidays" this year)

    Continue reading
    Health Catalyst2020-03-05

    Health Catalyst Response

    March 19, 2020CEO

    Thank you for sharing this feedback and for submitting this review during our last All-Team-Member meeting! Sorry I didn't see it pop up while we were in the meeting, but we will absolutely review your feedback during today's All-Team-Member meeting. Thank you also for your many years of contribution to our mission and growth as a company! I'm grateful you took a risk all those years ago, in leaving a health system setting to join us. And I'm energized to hear that you have felt a fulfillment of the "multiplier effect" opportunity that Health Catalyst can offer, to help many health systems become stronger and more effective, through our work supporting them. I'm also encouraged to hear that you feel well taken-care-of at Health Catalyst. That is certainly our objective and goal for every team member to feel this way. I'm also encouraged to hear that you feel comfortable raising concerns or issues through multiple avenues. This is critically important for every team member to feel this way, because this is how we will keep improving, and we will always have areas for improvement, and issues that need to be addressed. Thank you again for so many years of contributions in a centrally-important role, core to the value we try to add to this critical healthcare ecosystem, around data engineering. Best, Dan

    Continue reading
  6. "Amazing company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Research Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Health Catalyst part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Openness, innovative lot of upcoming opportunities

    Cons

    I cannot think of any cons as I enjoyed working here.

    Health Catalyst2020-02-25

    Health Catalyst Response

    March 5, 2020CEO

    Thank you for submitting this review -- I'm glad to hear your experience was positive! Best, Dan

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Data Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Health Catalyst

    Pros

    Insane benefits (remote, various monthly reimbursements), ownership mentality, treated like an adult. I’m happy even though I have only been here a few months. Honestly wasn’t sure if it was just a front or not but people really are as kind as they seem. I truly feel like we are all in this together

    Cons

    It can be scary working for a public company after coming from a non profit healthcare system.

    Continue reading
    Health Catalyst2020-02-24

    Health Catalyst Response

    March 5, 2020CEO

    Thank you for this review and for choosing to join Health Catalyst! I appreciate your feedback on the positives of your experience thus far, and understand your perspective regarding the significant transition from not-for-profit health system to publicly traded company. But hopefully you see the same mission-orientation in both organizations, which should be at the foundation of all of our work, always. Thanks also for your feedback regarding financial planning resources. We have recently added some resources that we'll highlight in today's Q&A session, and you can also always reach out to People Operations about any benefit questions. Thanks again for joining Health Catalyst and for sharing these thoughts. Best, Dan

    Continue reading
  8. "Literally the best company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Fp&A Analyst in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Health Catalyst full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -CEO and executive team are the best leaders I've ever worked with -Culture is a big deal, and the executive team leads the way -Middle management is excellent at helping individual contributors, like myself, to learn, grow, progress and also be held accountable for our work. -There is a high level of transparency in the company, driven by monthly (sometimes more frequent) all-team member meetings. -People I work with are very skilled, but also humble enough to take feedback and improve where possible -Company refers to employees as team members, not family. Which is a far more pragmatic and realistic approach. I think this is a major plus. -Company has a value to 'assume positive intent' which I think helps everyone work harder together for positive outcomes. It's actually something I've incorporated in my personal live and I've seen tremendous improvement in my social and personal interactions as well. -telecommuting is made possible with excellent tech. Management has really committed to make working from home as seamless as working from the office. Excellent for time when staying home is necessary/more convenient. -internal hiring is a major focus so there is lots of opportunity to move/advance as the company continues to grow rapidly.

    Cons

    truthfully not cons, just something to be aware of: -being a public company, there are very real deadlines. This can create very busy times and late nights -there is talent all around you. Which means you will be expected to provide high quality work all the time. No slacking!

    Continue reading
    Health Catalyst2020-02-12

    Health Catalyst Response

    March 5, 2020CEO

    Thank you for providing this detailed review and for sharing a meaningful list of positives in your experience at Health Catalyst. I appreciate also your kind words regarding the leadership team, and we will work hard to live up to your generous feedback. I'm also encouraged to hear of the other positives you've experienced, including transparency, humility, middle-management, telecommuting and a promote-from-within approach at Health Catalyst. Thank you also for being willing to absorb many "spikes" in activity associated with your specific, and critical, role in FP&A, and related to our public-company structure. We'll try to still ensure long-term work-life balance is possible in your position and in every other position at Health Catalyst. Thanks again for your review and for contributing to our company's success! Best, Dan

    Continue reading
  9. "Nothing Comparable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analytics Engineer in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Health Catalyst full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Coming from a military and healthcare background I appreciate the genuineness of emphasis on principles and culture. - So many employers seem hamstrung when it comes to turning buzzwords like transparency and diversity into real values, at Health Catalyst they are part of the every day experience. - As far as creature comforts, I can't imagine my work being better. Any reasonable adjustment to your schedule, workload, or methods are just a heads up or slack message. The benefits and compensation are great. - Health Catalyst has succeeded in treating everyone as a "team member", which feels different from being an employee.

    Cons

    - The cons I've experienced all have to do with the principle of all team members being owners. There is an extreme autonomy to working remotely (which many do), so if you want to sit at your computer too long, you can. If you want to stay in your office all day you can. - I was hired during the holiday season. The holidays are extremely generous at Health Catalyst, so there is not a high level of discussion or coordination (as there were so few people doing work) on those days off. This was an adjustment for me, it may be a 'Pro' for you. As a new employee it felt strange.

    Continue reading
    Health Catalyst2020-02-07

    Health Catalyst Response

    March 5, 2020CEO

    Thank you for this thoughtful review, and thank you for choosing to join Health Catalyst a few months ago! Welcome! Thank you also for your positive comments about our focus on principles and culture, and I'm glad to hear that you've experienced these values being lived not just being talked about. I'm also glad to hear your positive feedback about compensation and benefits -- your perspective is our objective to be each team member's perspective, that you're being compensated fairly and generously, with the company erring in your favor in these important matters. Thank you also for your feedback about remote work -- both the pros and the cons. We'll work to keep improving the remote team member experience, including many regular connection points with other team members, aided by remote-friendly technology options, certainly. Thank you again for choosing Health Catalyst, and for occupying such an important role as a Senior Analytics Engineer! Best, Dan

    Continue reading
  10. "Great company but sometimes difficult clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analytics Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Health Catalyst full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The salary and benefits are fantastic. As a remote employee I greatly enjoy the afforded flexibility. Executive leadership seems to really want each employee to succeed in their roles and to feel fulfilled.

    Cons

    Working remotely is a double-edged sword. It has been much harder than I imagined to stay disciplined and engaged. I recognize my responsibility to grow my own career, however it would be nice to have more support from Health Catalyst. Onboarding was a bit messy so be prepared to deal with ambiguity. It took over a month to figure out who my two managers would be. I also didn't have access to the training environments so I couldn't complete the bootcamp training.  Most of my concerns are about my client placement because unfortunately they have a really negative culture. It seems my existing skill set was used to fill an urgent need rather than being placed somewhere with more opportunity. I've spoken with my team lead about this and I know they are trying to help. I just wish they were more transparent. It feels like there's a lot outside of my control. In the meantime, I'm trying to be better about self care. Usually this means taking more breaks from work because it's hard to get motivated to sit through a learning module or create a personal development plan when I'm unhappy.

    Continue reading
    Health Catalyst2020-02-05

    Health Catalyst Response

    February 6, 2020CEO

    Thank you for sharing this review and feedback. I appreciate it, and I appreciate the insights and the self-awareness reflected in this review. I agree with you that remote work can be very positive, and offering strong support to team members to enable them to work remotely is the right decision. Yet there are real challenges with regards to working remotely, and we as a leadership team are working to consistently understand this dynamic and work to optimize the remote team member experience, including through proactively holding regular feedback sessions with remote team members on their experience. I have appreciated the insights that have come as I've participated in these sessions, and we'll keep listening and working to optimize this experience. I also appreciate and acknowledge that we have client relationships that sometimes present challenges for our team members. Client organizations are much like Health Catalyst -- they are not perfect, and there are certainly situations in which less-than-ideal circumstances arise. Here again, we work hard to try to advocate on behalf of our team members, and we encourage our managers to hold regular 1:1s with team members, to understand what is going well and what challenges are being faced, and then to work hard to optimize the experience within the constraints that we face. Finally, I would encourage you to hang in there. We'll keep working on our side to support you, and we'd invite you to keep moving forward with a longer-term mindset, realizing that at any organization there may well be shorter-term challenges that must be faced. But I sincerely hope that over time you will find that your experience has been strong and worthwhile and positive. We'll keep working hard to enable this! Best, Dan

    Continue reading
Found 318 reviews