Health Fitness Reviews | Glassdoor

Health Fitness Reviews

Updated Jul 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 254 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Health Fitness CEO Paul Lotharius
Paul Lotharius
97 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Health Fitness full-time

    Pros

    There is a lot of Career growth

    Cons

    Management team does a great job, no complaints.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    Health Fitness2018-08-01
  2. "Awesome company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Health Fitness full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    highly recommend, great company and upper management!

    Cons

    none loved working for hfit

    Health Fitness2019-04-25
  3. "Good Entry-Level Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Health Fitness Professional in Morrisville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Health Fitness full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Split commission for personal training - 401k & benefits - Free CEC/CEUs - Companies that contract HealthFitness usually have great perks - Can receive scholarships to take courses/get other fitness certifications

    Cons

    - no pay increase for those with Master's Degree or additional certifications - not as many job openings or opportunity to move up within the company

    Advice to Management

    In addition to offering CECs/CEUs it would be nice if HealthFitness would pay to renew certifications (group exercise, personal training, exercise physiologist) since they are required for this position.

    Health Fitness2019-07-10
  4. "Health Fitness Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Fitness Professional 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Health Fitness full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Laid back job Commission on Personal Training 5% increase with a group ex cert

    Cons

    Night shift Odd hours Horizontal Growth -- Barely any vertical growth

    Health Fitness2019-07-09
  5. "Long time employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Coordinator in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Health Fitness full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There is opportunity for growth for those in entry level positions

    Cons

    Salary and compensation below average for area

    Health Fitness2019-05-23
  6. "Great direct supervisor makes this a great company to work for (hourly worker)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Instructor in Boston, MA
      Recommends

      I have been working at Health Fitness part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Excellent direct supervisor and management team at my site, great colleagues

      Cons

      Unclear how to proceed with pay increase request or protocol

      Health Fitness2019-03-14
    • Helpful (1)

      "Wonderful company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Account Manager 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Health Fitness full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great opportunities with a cutting edge company.

      Cons

      Collaboration can be difficult in such a decentralized company.

      Health Fitness2019-02-07
    • "It's a pretty decent company."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Health Fitness Associate (On-Call) in Louisville, KY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Health Fitness part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Easy job, decent pay for what I do, get to workout when not working, nice gym environment, friendly staff

      Cons

      started working regularly now I barely work.

      Advice to Management

      When I was hired, the manager made it seem like i was going to work regularly but after the first month i have worked 2 days in 2 months. So don't put on a front like I am needed when you could easily suffice without me.

      Health Fitness2019-02-08
    • Helpful (1)

      "Layed off, surprised by response"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Health Fitness full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        fun environment to work in

        Cons

        HealthFitness tried to get employees to write and turn in a resignation letters, after jobs were eliminated. Then they lied to unemployment office indicating people quit, to avoid paying unemployment. Poor handling of devoted, long term employees and a difficult situation. Shame on you. Not much support from Human Resources for the humans they employ.

        Health Fitness2019-01-27

        Health Fitness Response

        February 5, 2019VP HR

        Thank you for sharing this feedback so we can address the concern. It appears there may have been some miscommunication during this process and I’d like to learn more about your experience and determine how we can help. Please reach out to me directly via email to HR@hfit.com.

      • Helpful (1)

        "Salary Review"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Health Fitness Specialist in Pleasanton, CA
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Health Fitness full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Great work environment. Good work life balance

        Cons

        Low starting salary but great opportunity for growth

        Health Fitness2018-12-21
      Found 254 reviews