Health Plan of San Joaquin Reviews | Glassdoor

Health Plan of San Joaquin Reviews

Updated Jul 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 73 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
31%
Recommend to a Friend
21%
Approve of CEO
Health Plan of San Joaquin CEO Amy Shin
Amy Shin
20 Ratings
Pros
  • "Benefits are great - Cal Pers, a fair amount of vacations, company is open to advancement within(in 4 reviews)

  • "Good retirement benefits if can stay long enough to vest and/or they aren't cut(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Executive Team lives in a bubble(in 12 reviews)

  • "Stay away as the work environment is very unprofessional though they have values nut no one abides by them(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I Don't See the Problem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in French Camp, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Health Plan of San Joaquin

    Pros

    I have been here for a year and I can say, full heartedly, I love my job. I love the feeling I get when I accomplish something at the end of the day. I take pride in my work and I value the fact that my boss acknowledges when I have done a good job. Aside from that, this company has offered me more in benefits than ANY OTHER COMPANY I have worked for (10 companies, all different field types). I am fortunate enough to work for a place that is truly driven by the fact that we serve the underserved. We would not be anywhere without our members. Each provider contract that gets signed, each customer service call that gets answered, every claim that gets paid.....it is all because of our members and our mission.

    Cons

    There are so many people who keep saying negative things about the company. I am not here to slander them. I am here to say that I am sorry you are an unhappy full time paid employee with good benefits. If you don't like your job then freaking quit and allow people who believe in the HPSJ mission to work here. I must confess....the one con that I see at this company is the way that the majority of the pro union staff represent themselves and the discrimination they practice when they are uncertain as to someone's stance on the issue. Play fair or get off of the field.

    Continue reading
    Health Plan of San Joaquin2016-03-03
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Stress, with a side of additional stress and frustration."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time

    Pros

    Pay is competitive. But you pay for the pay.

    Cons

    Constant turnover. New managers expect new employees (under a year) to know everything, get written up if they don’t, for the only end result to make them look good. Managers and Directors aren’t held to same standards as the “workers”. Higher ups can blatantly violate union rules and get away with it. CEO does nothing to curb her Executives, Directors and Managers abuse of power and ridiculous expectations based upon the fear that the house of cards will collapse if everyone leaves. In turn this makes the “worker bees” stress out and forces them to take on FAR too much. Could be a great place to work unfortunately the lack of true leadership has made way for dictators and bullies in management and Executive positions.

    Continue reading
    Health Plan of San Joaquin2019-06-11
  3. "Unprofessional Human Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Systems Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not much to say here.

    Cons

    The urgency when looking for candidates is abysmal.

    Continue reading
    Health Plan of San Joaquin2019-07-02
  4. "good for stockton"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A in Stockton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    room for advancement, good work life balance

    Cons

    benefits need better cheaper benefit options

    Continue reading
    Health Plan of San Joaquin2019-04-27
  5. "Good benefits- Management varies greatly - some great directors..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are better than average. Calpers retirement, 3-4 weeks PTO and personal floating holidays, in addition to standard holidays. Non-union gets bonuses

    Cons

    It's a union shop. with associated challenges. Although many are motivated, most are not rewarded for performance. Several managers and directors do little to nothing, except create work and conflict.

    Continue reading
    Health Plan of San Joaquin2019-02-27
  6. Helpful (2)

    "I wish I could tell you it was better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Organization was originally founded for a good reason. Many of us still believe in the organization, its mission, and its potential if it were to have the right leadership.

    Cons

    CEO is her own biggest fan and has great faith in her infallibility in spite of the evidence. An all- star at the blame game. Rules/manages by fear and intimidation. CEO's toxic approach to work and the workplace caused staff to unionize. Nearly four years later and the work environment is still horrible and Commission still doesn't care. Anyone here that dares to speak up is helped to the door sooner than later. To survive we we just keep our heads down and try not to be noticed. Too common to see new employees to regret taking the job within a couple months. So much turnover makes it hard to do my job.

    Continue reading
    Health Plan of San Joaquin2019-03-08
  7. "Great Opportunities at HPSJ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in French Camp, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits Rewarding work Good geography Competitive salary

    Cons

    Dynamic environment with heavy healthcare regulation Union environment

    Continue reading
    Health Plan of San Joaquin2019-01-28
  8. "Great place to make a difference."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Stockton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Meaningful work Great coworkers Interesting projects

    Cons

    Too much turnover Healthcare landscape constantly changing

    Continue reading
    Health Plan of San Joaquin2019-01-03
  9. "Challenging work but tedious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Credentialing Specialist in Stockton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A good place to learn basic project management. Front line staff are friendly and engaging and willing to help one another.

    Cons

    Management tends to provide minimal guidance for how they want projects to be handled. Sometimes hard to understand long term objectives.

    Health Plan of San Joaquin2018-11-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Okay place...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - UM/MM in French Camp, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are alot of employees, who are living and working to uphold the company's mission and values. Friendly work environment and employees.

    Cons

    Departments lacking communication. Big issue with management team leading as a leader thus reason for high turnover.

    Continue reading
    Health Plan of San Joaquin2018-11-07
Found 73 reviews