Health Plan of San Joaquin Reviews | Glassdoor

Health Plan of San Joaquin Reviews

Updated Jul 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 73 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
31%
Recommend to a Friend
21%
Approve of CEO
Health Plan of San Joaquin CEO Amy Shin
Amy Shin
20 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Disgraceful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time

    Pros

    Many good staff that are proud of the company and their work in spite of the CEO. CEO is not afraid of making mistakes.

    Cons

    CEO. Mistake master. Blames others for them. Leads by intimidation. Has planted and grown a highly toxic culture during the most prosperous time in the history of Medi-Cal managed care and when we have had no meaningful competition. Will be disaster as we start to face competition. Working for this CEO has taken a personal, professional, and mental health toll on a really large number of past and... present employees. The disturbing amount of staff turnover and people on leave during good financial times should have long ago raised a red flag.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Care. Act.

    Health Plan of San Joaquin2018-10-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Girls Club"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Manager in French Camp, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are great. That’s about it.

    Cons

    The CIO has created a culture of mediocrity by promoting and keeping incompetent look alike staff to create job security for herself. You can miss a large deliverable, and no one will be held accountable. High turnover. A ”girls club.” supported by the CEO. Management hates the union and employees who are pro-union. Revenues are guaranteed by the Medicaid population in two counties. Tax payer money wasted.

    Advice to Management

    You are destroying People’s careers by protecting and supporting employees who are incompetent only to make sure you have allies against the employees who are smarter and more productive. Stop the ”Girls Club” by balancing the female vs. male ratio on the so-called executive team. I wasted several years of career there and I can't get it back.

    Health Plan of San Joaquin2018-09-28
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Health Plan Of San Joaquin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster in French Camp, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The claims team is awesome

    Cons

    Management is horrible. No room for growth.

    Advice to Management

    Get new management

    Health Plan of San Joaquin2018-09-04
  4. "Case Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Case Manager in French Camp, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Health Plan of San Joaquin for less than a year

    Pros

    Passionate about their work.

    Cons

    Overworked. Union. Not enough staff

    Health Plan of San Joaquin2018-05-30
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Do your homework and be cautious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Many great employees. Decent benefits and salary.

    Cons

    Upper management uses bully tactics and does not reinforce positively with their employees. The culture is very different. Employees skill set and/or past experience is not used to full potential. False promises were made at hire. Recruiters will paint a positive picture of company. However, I would interview employees of the department. Read news articles - State Senator conducting an audit of organization.... Take into consideration low reviews of company. Note, the Union is of no help with upper management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If there is a high turnover or many positions open within a department, maybe it is time to look at the management style and what is not working. "A bad manager can take a good staff and destroy it, causing the best employees to flee and the remainder to lose all motivation."

    Health Plan of San Joaquin2018-06-04
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Worst job ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Lathrop, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and state retirement

    Cons

    Constant turnover, especially of management, poor training, secretive and negative culture

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate your hard working employees more

    Health Plan of San Joaquin2018-06-04
  7. "Good mission. Salary undesirable."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Reason for helping community and purpose is 5 star. The attempt of open door policy and acess to upper mgmt is also well done. Staff meeting with whole company are all inclusive, personal, and engaging.

    Cons

    The salary structure is low and undesirable. The main reason why I had to leave was due to salary. Highly structured on time, punching a clock, and must dos related to schedules which seem out dated and unreasonable although some departments have flex time.

    Advice to Management

    Review actual jobs with a person working the job to reexamine pay. Then compare that with wth one who is paid what to get a more accurate view of salaries, jobs, and work done.

    Health Plan of San Joaquin2018-04-08
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A paycheck and that is all

    Cons

    1. Managements are bullies 2. Executives gets big bonuses from tax payers money while medical premiums are high. 3. Low employee morale 4. Heavy workload and low pay 5. High turnover

    Advice to Management

    Listen your employees or else you will lose good employees

    Health Plan of San Joaquin2018-04-27
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Executive Leadership is horrible!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Centrally located to where I live. 2. Staff I managed are resilient 3. Medi-Cal is beneficial for the community

    Cons

    1. Culture is toxic 2. Scare tactic type of leadership 3. Low salaries and compensation is mediocre 4. CEO is a dictator 5. Executive Team lives in a bubble 6. Employment turnover is high

    Advice to Management

    Change the CEO/Executive Team and the culture will change.

    Health Plan of San Joaquin2018-04-19
  10. Helpful (7)

    "New Year. Still here. Tired of working for place led by a domineer."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time

    Pros

    Really big expensive parking lot. All paid for by taxpayers.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, the parking lot might be the CEO’s biggest positive accomplishment in her three years. CEO has had rough time leading us and doesn't want to be here or working in our community. Never been a good fit. Personality, skills, and interests far better suited to be a technical consultant/number cruncher than a leader of an organization and its people. Real bad track record of personnel decisions.

    Health Plan of San Joaquin2018-02-03
Found 73 reviews