Health Plan of San Joaquin Reviews | Glassdoor

Health Plan of San Joaquin Reviews

Updated Jul 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
31%
Recommend to a Friend
21%
Approve of CEO
Health Plan of San Joaquin CEO Amy Shin
Amy Shin
20 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time

    Pros

    The benefits are good and competitive with the area but the amount of stress still not worth it

    Cons

    Stay away as the work environment is very unprofessional though they have values nut no one abides by them. They management is all about making money and there is a large turnover for employees.

    Advice to Management

    Employees are asset. Show some respect. Listen to them.

    Health Plan of San Joaquin2018-01-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Be Careful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - UM Department in French Camp, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the people that work there really truly care about the people they help through that job.

    Cons

    A lot of the people like to start drama, it's never a quiet, easy day at the office.

    Advice to Management

    Interact more with the staff and really find out what is going on there. A lot of people smile in your face and will be all sweet to management but they are really the trouble starters.

    Health Plan of San Joaquin2017-12-12
  3. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time

    Pros

    it is close to home

    Cons

    it is like a startup

    Advice to Management

    needs improvement

    Health Plan of San Joaquin2017-07-23
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Will not mention"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time

    Pros

    It's a job that give me a check

    Cons

    to many to cons to talk about

    Health Plan of San Joaquin2017-07-13
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Hope for change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in French Camp, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Gonna have a big parking lot

    Cons

    Dictator CEO who could care less about our community. Impotent commission. Fear and unhappiness runs deep. Bullying and disrespect are company values. Health of members and community is a distant second to growing membership and financial reserves.

    Advice to Management

    Change

    Health Plan of San Joaquin2017-07-07
  6. Helpful (5)

    "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in French Camp, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nothing too appealing to talk about

    Cons

    There's too many to name

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the employees

    Health Plan of San Joaquin2017-07-05
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Micro Management and Bullies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in French Camp, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time

    Pros

    Close to free way, Jean days, not much else to say positive except learn what you can on your own and use it to get a better job somewhere else

    Cons

    Building has mice, managers are bullies, no formal training (only for management), too many meetings, layoffs are imminent but CEO lies about ACA cutbacks.

    Advice to Management

    Full renovation of upper management needed.

    Health Plan of San Joaquin2017-06-06
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Run from this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time

    Pros

    Coworkers, buidling is nice, the cats outside

    Cons

    Executive team is the worst! So many employees leave this place. Soon there will be no one to hire. The CEO is a terrible boss and so hateful. Bullying happens a lot and co workers are extremely stressed. Coworkers love what they do but we dont have anyone to turn and ask for help. No one can be trusted to fight for us. We received 3% raises. One Supervisor told me they were instructed to do so. The managers... were not even able to help us. They gave us 3% or lower to save enough for upper management to get huge raises. Thats an insult. I come every day to help our custimers. To the people wondering abtout this place. Here is advice: If you get a call to get interviewed turn around and run! if you get hired you will regret taking.the job.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please stop with the spending the publics money on what is not needed. Please take care of us, your employees. You say we made this company great...are u in denial? What company are you working for? Commision Board, please listen. This CEO has everyone scared. All these comments are not exaggerated or made up. Open your eyes. Approving the CEO to receive huge raises and bonuses. She is the main problem. She... is toxic to the workplace. I hope one day you all will finally realize this and let her go. Please investigate her.

    Show More
    Health Plan of San Joaquin2017-04-20
  9. Helpful (5)

    "PAY ATTENTION TO THE RATINGS."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Health Plan of San Joaquin

    Pros

    Some folks can be nice. Some capable people there.

    Cons

    Will work you until you're sick, then get rid of you when you can't think through the burnout. Apply senior level expectations to lower level jobs.

    Advice to Management

    I don't know. What does it say when an organization devoted to health care works it's employees to the point of illness?

    Health Plan of San Joaquin2017-04-15
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Misery and Mayhem!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Health Plan of San Joaquin

    Pros

    French Camp office is a good location for commuters as it is right off the freeway.

    Cons

    A really sad workplace. Unhappy, uncivil, terrified. No cooperation. Many employees seemed to be suffering from PTSD. Place is dominated by a manipulative tyrant of a CEO and her fellow psychopaths. CEO is big into alternative facts. Takes credit for things she has little to do with. Doesn't learn from her mistakes. Plays the blame game for her poor decisions and misjudgment. Calls it accountability. ... Shocking staff turnover. CEO has fired a large proportion of people she hired into the organization. That is if they didn’t grow tired of her act and quit first. Harder and harder to attract even decent talent. Could go on and on, but won't. The con is clear.

    Show More
    Health Plan of San Joaquin2017-04-13
Found 73 reviews