Health Plan of San Joaquin Employee Reviews about "executive team"

Updated Apr 18, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 of over 87 reviews

3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Health Plan of San Joaquin CEO Amy Shin
Amy Shin
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "people are great(in 4 reviews)

  • "Friendly work environment and employees(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Executive Team lives in a bubble(in 11 reviews)

  • "Stay away as the work environment is very unprofessional though they have values nut no one abides by them(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "executive team"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      With Growth Comes Change

      Jan 31, 2015 - Anonymous in French Camp, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This was once a small Mom and Pop Company and the company is growing. In one year this Managed Medi-Cal HMO went from 190,000 to 300,000 enrolled. Great opportunity with people who want a foot in the door in to the managed health insurance business. The Health Plan supports and contributes to the local communities in the counties of San Joaquin and Stanislaus . Company likes to promote from within but hire talent from outside to meet department needs. With this growth getting enough staff to man positions has been a challenge and management has had to request increase budget to fund positions. Seeks employees who have a strong work ethic and who focus on doing the job to state and inspections standards. Salaries are above industry standard for health insurance company. Company is working toward NCQA rating and inspection is schedule May 2015. Most employees work 8-5 work day. Management and salaried employees tend to work more hours. Current Benefits for time off: 2 weeks vacation, sick time, holidays, float holidays, 3 days CEU. Company matches 401k higher they industry standard.

      Cons

      With growth, there is less personnel interactions between CEO and Executive Team but Directors and Managers are available to support and assist staff in focusing on corporate goals. Due to previous executive management before current executive staff, employees where not held to a high standard and check and balances where not established. Now checks and balances are in place for workload and quality of end product and holding staff accountable to state and inspection standards. With the Plan seeking NCQA rating, the lack of enough manning, staff are struggling to meet timelines set forth by inspection standards. Staff are feeling the strain. Lack of established individual department published orientation program to assure staff are trained to company standard is lacking. Due to continued sign on of insured individuals, workload does not allow for new staff members to have one-on-one training. Most new employees only get at best 3 days of training to learn the job. Fellow staff and supervisors are available to answer questions and give direction as they arise. Also, fellow team members who frequently call in sick cause individual workload to soar and supervisors to struggle to meet productivity levels. The employment package when hired was very generous: 2 weeks vacation, 80 hours admin, and sick time, holidays and float holidays. With this generous time off packages supervisors and managers struggled with manning and staff to complete daily workload. As 1 July 2014, this benefit package was reworked and the average worker lost 12 days, executive staff lost more. Since this date employees who have been with the company a number of years are unhappy and have started engaging in talks with establishing a Union at the health plan.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Run from this place

      Apr 19, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coworkers, buidling is nice, the cats outside

      Cons

      Executive team is the worst! So many employees leave this place. Soon there will be no one to hire. The CEO is a terrible boss and so hateful. Bullying happens a lot and co workers are extremely stressed. Coworkers love what they do but we dont have anyone to turn and ask for help. No one can be trusted to fight for us. We received 3% raises. One Supervisor told me they were instructed to do so. The managers were not even able to help us. They gave us 3% or lower to save enough for upper management to get huge raises. Thats an insult. I come every day to help our custimers. To the people wondering abtout this place. Here is advice: If you get a call to get interviewed turn around and run! if you get hired you will regret taking.the job.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Corporate Greed, Hostile Work environment, Constant changes in work environment

      Jan 7, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in French Camp, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Directly across the street from a grave yard, within walking distance of San Joaquin General Hospital

      Cons

      Executive team and managers consistently practice retaliation, and intimidation of employees. Working conditions are constantly changing, and hostile. RN's are classified as non-exempt, so that the company can force them to work overtime without appropriate compensation, Policies are vague and left up to the interpretation by the managers, and supervisors. The company is being ran by a network of inexperienced executives and consultants that are costing tax payers, and the company millions. New supervisors are encouraged to harass employees. Company cleans house of vested long term employees so that they can bring in new hires for less pay and benefits. Employees are being treated like mules, scheduled breaks, scheduled lunches, forced overtime. Some departments don't allow the employees to get water or go to the bathroom unless they are on their break. The company recently stripped its employees of vacation and holidays, annual cost of living expense raises.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee

      More turnover than a French bakery

      Feb 19, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good to have a job here while I look for one at a company that cares about and respects its employees and its community.

      Cons

      Sad place led by sad CEO and her sad executive team. Turnover started soon after the CEO began and hasn't slowed down in her three year reign of hell. Seen nothing like it before. Either has worst judgment ever or is intentionally harming an organization to prove she is boss. Morale is rock-bottom, productivity is worse, fear is rampant, poor HR decisions and moves rule the day, blame and disrespecting employees is at all time high. A once happy, well respected organization isn't that anymore

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Why I left HPSJ

      Feb 1, 2016 - Former Employee in French Camp, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some good people trying to do best in really difficult situation.

      Cons

      More than 2 years of horrible work environment under a brutal self-centered CEO and scared executive team. CEO’s got no interest in corporate values. Don’t respect or value employees or community. Unhappiest, most stressed out, unproductive workplace I ever worked at in my life. Brain drain from everybody leaving took away knowledge and experience. Replacements allmost never as good as those that left or fired for whatever reason. Made really tough to do a good job. Something unusual going on? The only public health plan in the state to not post meeting materials and minutes.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Just Listen

      Mar 9, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in French Camp, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      At this time there are no PROs to list. But I hope soon I can.

      Cons

      Pro-Union supporters and the rest of the staff are at a full blown WAR. There is so much HATRED in this building between coworkers that it is hard to come to work some mornings. I take pride in what I do and do my job with a SMILE. I believe that this company can be great again if staff and the Executive team would just reach an agreement that is best ALL employees. Employees that have been here for a while know that HPSJ was once an amazing company that was the jewel of San Joaquin County. Benefits were great and staff felt appreciated in a family oriented company. When the new CEO took over we were hopeful things would still be good. However because of a deficit cuts were made to our benefits. Cuts that we thought would only be TEMPORARY. And now that the company is back on its feet employees just want what is due to us for our HARDWORK and DEDICATION. For providing positive TEAMWORK in a still hostile environment. For showing INTEGRITY AND ACCOUNTABILITY for our work and being an amazing STEWARD. We don’t wish to be lied to or BULLIED anymore. This is why the UNION is so important. The negative comments about the staff that are PRO UNION are CHILDISH. Everyone is happy for having a job but EVERYONE also deserves to be treated fairly and with RESPECT. The company needs to come up with a POSITIVE solution that will be good for everyone or the turnover rate will continue rise. People have invested their tears and sweat helping get this company to where it is today and the blatant disrespect for employees needs to cease. We need to come together and practice the values of the company that we preach.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Don't committ career suicide, stay far, far away from this place!

      Apr 20, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice building, although it is next to a cemetery and the county jail. Prisoners get released every morning and try to ask you for money. Technology was decent. It wasn’t the greatest but it wasn’t the worst I’ve ever seen either. They experienced recent growth into a new county.

      Cons

      Weak, disorganized management that micromanage people – HPSJ is filled with weak managers that all have their fair share of poor performance, missed deadlines and failed projects. When upper management barks at these horrible results, it all rolls downhill in the form of micromanaging their staff. This micromanaging will make employees quit or end up getting fired for foolish reasons. Then, when the manager tries to hire a replacement, they change the job description to look for more experienced and more educated employees because they don’t plan on training new hires. Whatever skills you walk in the door with as a new hire, are the skills you will leave with. Low pay, poor benefits – HPSJ is practically located in Stockton, CA. An area known for gang violence, prostitution, political corruption and bankruptcy. The high paying jobs are in the San Francisco Bay area, which is about an hour’s drive from Stockton. A highly talented person would have to be a fool to leave a high paying Bay Area job to come work for nearly 30% less pay and mediocre benefits. Clock out and continue working – My department manager makes us (the hourly staff) clock out at 5pm and continue to work off the clock until we finish our work. I can't what until the union gets in here so I can file a grievance. Employee Surveys – Every year, HR would try to make us fill out an employee satisfaction survey (that they claim is supposed to be confidential). Every year, the results would be so bad that the Executive Team would get embarrassed by the results and nothing ever happens. The new CEO even claimed that when she came onboard, there would be change if we spoke up and participated in the survey. So much fo that. If you don’t plan on fixing work issues, stop giving the survey! Manual processes – None of the processes are written down. When you start as a new hire, you bounce around from person to person learning different parts of your job. If you don’t write it down, you will struggle because everything is a manual process. The way you’re supposed to do your job here is committed to memory. Nothing is automated. You either learn it or get fired for not learning it. What’s sad is that when someone leaves, all that company knowledge goes right out the door with them. Overworked, heavy workload – At HPSJ, there are 500 things that are priority #1, but then only 3 things that are priority #2 and maybe 1 thing that is priority #3. No matter what department you work in, you are going to feel like a slave. In fact, on Halloween a few year ago, the whole department dressed up in prisoner costumes because that what it feels like. Working at HPSJ was like doing hard time in Alcatraz! Change in focus – The Executive Team changes the company’s focus so much that we never know the goal. First, we were going to be in the Exchange, then we weren’t. Then, we were going to get NCQA certified, then we weren’t. Then, we were going to expand to take on more members, then we weren’t. There used to be a company called Radio Shack that recently had this same problem. If HPSJ continues to change their focus four or five times in the same year, we will face the same fate. Corruption – There’s a whole lot of lying, cheating and stealing going on at this company. Turnover – It’s a revolving door at this company. You may be working on a project with someone in another department and the very next week, you are told that this person is no longer with the company.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Welcome to psychopathic, toxic leadership without a clue

      Mar 1, 2016 -  in French Camp, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Need to go back nearly three years to remember the pros. Seems like forever ago, but used to be a great place to work with a trusted, values-driven leader with integrity.

      Cons

      Sad seeing place I used to love working at be changed into something far less than that by a leader without a clue, her executive team without a spine, and a commission without a care. Is now a terrible work environment. Leadership doesn't take its mission or values serious. No integrity. Doesn't value, involve, or respect employees. Leadership now views community as a marketing target and a place to drive away from as quickly as possible at the end of the day. With Amy Shin in charge, pretty much every day at HPSJ is a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day. And she loves it. We know. Because she religiously tells us so at every staff meeting.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Leadership and values matter

      May 6, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in French Camp, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      With 300,000 members, has big share of MediCal market in San Joaquin and Stanislaus Counties. With new rates from state starting last fall, it is currently doing good financially for now. Some strong, good, dedicated staff members driven by mission and values are hanging on and doing the very best we can under circumstances. Good retirement benefits if can stay long enough to vest and/or they aren't cut. Until two years ago was a respected, innovative, financially strong organization, with at least a few interested and involved commissioners, satisfied employees and members and providers, and good rep in community.

      Cons

      "Leadership" and values of current CEO/executive team and place transformed turned place into a total mess in less than two years. A long-time positive workplace with good rep and good relations with community and providers is now a toxic, hostile work environment with BAD morale, lack of trust among staff at all levels, finger-pointing everywhere, BAD communication between departments, fear of risk-taking/innovating, and BAD coordination and collaboration. Big-time performance issues in every department and rep among providers sinking. Cause is a domineering, bully of a CEO without leadership abilities. Made worse because others at all levels of organization now have role model. So there is now a company culture of negative, bullying, finger pointing, blaming, excuse making, ect. Either CEO or others when CEO not around. Most recent employee survey conducted by HR (results Feb 2015) had terrible results. Found staff had no-confidence in CEO and executive team. Results were way worse than even the previously all-time bad survey of 2013 that reflected only 6 months of "leadership" of current CEO and executive team. The Feb 2015 results were MUCH WORSE than national norms on EVERY single one of the multiple measures surveyed. Measures like employee satisfaction, belief and trust in leadership and what they communicate, teamwork and collaboration, career development, and ethics and values. 3 months since staff got the employee survey results and only significant response from CEO so far has been to remove employee satisfaction as corporate metric for all employees (even the CEO and Executive Team responsible for it). Dilbert approved. Staff confidence/ trust of CEO and executive team is worse now than when survey results were released. . Big probs finding, hiring, and keeping staff at all levels. Seems people may not like working for CEO. The first two executive team members hired by CEO either quit or asked to change jobs within 6 months of being hired. Now, having to recruit from way way way out of California for upper management now. Toxic work environment, weak response to the really bad results to the late 2013 employee satisfaction survey conducted under current CEO, and the unanticipated benefits cuts that shocked staff and were poorly announced by CEO near end of 2014 drove staff to consider and then decide to unionize. Management fought, but passed very fast. Union certified last month. Listed as con because of what caused unionizing efforts and uncertainty around it. But, considered pro by majority of staff. Weak, uninformed, rubber stamp health commission.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Where do I start?

      Mar 17, 2017 - Staff in French Camp, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get paid, but below market.

      Cons

      Every negative comment listed here has some truth to it. High turnover, from director, manager, supervisors, to staff, the only ones not leaving are the executive team. Senior leaders say one thing and do another, they change stories to cover themselves. No training - you get dinged when instructions given are either unclear or contradictory. Union came in for a reason, mistrust of the management, and for good reasons!

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Health Plan of San Joaquin Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Health Plan of San Joaquin? Share Your Experiences

    Health Plan of San Joaquin logo
    or