Health Plan of San Joaquin "executive team" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Health Plan of San Joaquin Employee Reviews about "executive team"

Updated Jul 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
31%
Recommend to a Friend
21%
Approve of CEO
Health Plan of San Joaquin CEO Amy Shin
Amy Shin
20 Ratings
Pros
  • "Benefits are great - Cal Pers, a fair amount of vacations, company is open to advancement within(in 4 reviews)

  • "Good retirement benefits if can stay long enough to vest and/or they aren't cut(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Executive Team lives in a bubble(in 11 reviews)

  • "Stay away as the work environment is very unprofessional though they have values nut no one abides by them(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "executive team"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Executive Leadership is horrible!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Centrally located to where I live. 2. Staff I managed are resilient 3. Medi-Cal is beneficial for the community

    Cons

    1. Culture is toxic 2. Scare tactic type of leadership 3. Low salaries and compensation is mediocre 4. CEO is a dictator 5. Executive Team lives in a bubble 6. Employment turnover is high

    Advice to Management

    Change the CEO/Executive Team and the culture will change.

    Health Plan of San Joaquin2018-04-19
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Run from this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time

    Pros

    Coworkers, buidling is nice, the cats outside

    Cons

    Executive team is the worst! So many employees leave this place. Soon there will be no one to hire. The CEO is a terrible boss and so hateful. Bullying happens a lot and co workers are extremely stressed. Coworkers love what they do but we dont have anyone to turn and ask for help. No one can be trusted to fight for us. We received 3% raises. One Supervisor told me they were instructed to do so. The managers... were not even able to help us. They gave us 3% or lower to save enough for upper management to get huge raises. Thats an insult. I come every day to help our custimers. To the people wondering abtout this place. Here is advice: If you get a call to get interviewed turn around and run! if you get hired you will regret taking.the job.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please stop with the spending the publics money on what is not needed. Please take care of us, your employees. You say we made this company great...are u in denial? What company are you working for? Commision Board, please listen. This CEO has everyone scared. All these comments are not exaggerated or made up. Open your eyes. Approving the CEO to receive huge raises and bonuses. She is the main problem. She... is toxic to the workplace. I hope one day you all will finally realize this and let her go. Please investigate her.

    Show More
    Health Plan of San Joaquin2017-04-20
  3. Helpful (10)

    "Where do I start?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff in French Camp, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get paid, but below market.

    Cons

    Every negative comment listed here has some truth to it. High turnover, from director, manager, supervisors, to staff, the only ones not leaving are the executive team. Senior leaders say one thing and do another, they change stories to cover themselves. No training - you get dinged when instructions given are either unclear or contradictory. Union came in for a reason, mistrust of the management, and... for good reasons!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look into the mirror to see why people keep leaving.

    Health Plan of San Joaquin2017-03-18
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Just Listen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in French Camp, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    At this time there are no PROs to list. But I hope soon I can.

    Cons

    Pro-Union supporters and the rest of the staff are at a full blown WAR. There is so much HATRED in this building between coworkers that it is hard to come to work some mornings. I take pride in what I do and do my job with a SMILE. I believe that this company can be great again if staff and the Executive team would just reach an agreement that is best ALL employees. Employees that have been here for a while know... that HPSJ was once an amazing company that was the jewel of San Joaquin County. Benefits were great and staff felt appreciated in a family oriented company. When the new CEO took over we were hopeful things would still be good. However because of a deficit cuts were made to our benefits. Cuts that we thought would only be TEMPORARY. And now that the company is back on its feet employees just want what is due to us for our HARDWORK and DEDICATION. For providing positive TEAMWORK in a still hostile environment. For showing INTEGRITY AND ACCOUNTABILITY for our work and being an amazing STEWARD. We don’t wish to be lied to or BULLIED anymore. This is why the UNION is so important. The negative comments about the staff that are PRO UNION are CHILDISH. Everyone is happy for having a job but EVERYONE also deserves to be treated fairly and with RESPECT. The company needs to come up with a POSITIVE solution that will be good for everyone or the turnover rate will continue rise. People have invested their tears and sweat helping get this company to where it is today and the blatant disrespect for employees needs to cease. We need to come together and practice the values of the company that we preach.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Come to an agreement with the Union or you will CONTINUE to lose good workers.

    Health Plan of San Joaquin2016-03-10
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Welcome to psychopathic, toxic leadership without a clue"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in French Camp, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Health Plan of San Joaquin

    Pros

    Need to go back nearly three years to remember the pros. Seems like forever ago, but used to be a great place to work with a trusted, values-driven leader with integrity.

    Cons

    Sad seeing place I used to love working at be changed into something far less than that by a leader without a clue, her executive team without a spine, and a commission without a care. Is now a terrible work environment. Leadership doesn't take its mission or values serious. No integrity. Doesn't value, involve, or respect employees. Leadership now views community as a marketing target and a place to drive... away from as quickly as possible at the end of the day. With Amy Shin in charge, pretty much every day at HPSJ is a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day. And she loves it. We know. Because she religiously tells us so at every staff meeting.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    To the Commission - Everyone makes mistakes. Some of the mistakes are more significant than others. Like when you hire a really bad CEO that creates a toxic work environment and harms a company's ability to compete in the marketplace in the future and reward her for her effort. No one likes to admit when they’ve made a really big mistake, but it is very important to learn from them and not compound them. It’s... not the mistake that generally breaks you, it’s how you act afterward. So while, Amy is quickly driving the organization into the past tense, the Commission can show it has learned something from its blunder and stop making things far worse by surrendering all authority to her and rewarding her for her ineptitude. Admit your mistakes and quit compounding them. Have higher expectations from highly paid leadership than this garbage fire and step up and change things. It is possible to do far better. In fact it might be nearly impossible to do worse.

    Show More
    Health Plan of San Joaquin2016-03-02
  6. Helpful (4)

    "More turnover than a French bakery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Health Plan of San Joaquin

    Pros

    Good to have a job here while I look for one at a company that cares about and respects its employees and its community.

    Cons

    Sad place led by sad CEO and her sad executive team. Turnover started soon after the CEO began and hasn't slowed down in her three year reign of hell. Seen nothing like it before. Either has worst judgment ever or is intentionally harming an organization to prove she is boss. Morale is rock-bottom, productivity is worse, fear is rampant, poor HR decisions and moves rule the day, blame and disrespecting... employees is at all time high. A once happy, well respected organization isn't that anymore

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Low employee satisfaction and morale, high turnover, reduced productivity, questionable hires and contractors, and long-time unfilled positions shouldn't be metrics leading to big raises and bonuses for execs. An organization is being torn apart in front of the Commission's eyes and they continue applauding. How much more time does she get?

    Health Plan of San Joaquin2016-02-20
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Why I left HPSJ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee in French Camp, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Health Plan of San Joaquin for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some good people trying to do best in really difficult situation.

    Cons

    More than 2 years of horrible work environment under a brutal self-centered CEO and scared executive team. CEO’s got no interest in corporate values. Don’t respect or value employees or community. Unhappiest, most stressed out, unproductive workplace I ever worked at in my life. Brain drain from everybody leaving took away knowledge and experience. Replacements allmost never as good as those that left or fired... for whatever reason. Made really tough to do a good job. Something unusual going on? The only public health plan in the state to not post meeting materials and minutes.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look at the results from employee dissatisfaction survey that HR conducted and ignored in 2015 and know things not getting better. Ask the 130+ employees leaving since CEO started in 2013 what's up. Time to stop blaming the victims. Just ignoring the problem and giving it a contract extension and big fat raise ain't a solution to anything.

    Health Plan of San Joaquin2016-02-02
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Leadership and values matter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in French Camp, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time

    Pros

    With 300,000 members, has big share of MediCal market in San Joaquin and Stanislaus Counties. With new rates from state starting last fall, it is currently doing good financially for now. Some strong, good, dedicated staff members driven by mission and values are hanging on and doing the very best we can under circumstances. Good retirement benefits if can stay long enough to vest and/or they aren't cut. ... Until two years ago was a respected, innovative, financially strong organization, with at least a few interested and involved commissioners, satisfied employees and members and providers, and good rep in community.

    Show More

    Cons

    "Leadership" and values of current CEO/executive team and place transformed turned place into a total mess in less than two years. A long-time positive workplace with good rep and good relations with community and providers is now a toxic, hostile work environment with BAD morale, lack of trust among staff at all levels, finger-pointing everywhere, BAD communication between departments, fear of... risk-taking/innovating, and BAD coordination and collaboration. Big-time performance issues in every department and rep among providers sinking. Cause is a domineering, bully of a CEO without leadership abilities. Made worse because others at all levels of organization now have role model. So there is now a company culture of negative, bullying, finger pointing, blaming, excuse making, ect. Either CEO or others when CEO not around. Most recent employee survey conducted by HR (results Feb 2015) had terrible results. Found staff had no-confidence in CEO and executive team. Results were way worse than even the previously all-time bad survey of 2013 that reflected only 6 months of "leadership" of current CEO and executive team. The Feb 2015 results were MUCH WORSE than national norms on EVERY single one of the multiple measures surveyed. Measures like employee satisfaction, belief and trust in leadership and what they communicate, teamwork and collaboration, career development, and ethics and values. 3 months since staff got the employee survey results and only significant response from CEO so far has been to remove employee satisfaction as corporate metric for all employees (even the CEO and Executive Team responsible for it). Dilbert approved. Staff confidence/ trust of CEO and executive team is worse now than when survey results were released. . Big probs finding, hiring, and keeping staff at all levels. Seems people may not like working for CEO. The first two executive team members hired by CEO either quit or asked to change jobs within 6 months of being hired. Now, having to recruit from way way way out of California for upper management now. Toxic work environment, weak response to the really bad results to the late 2013 employee satisfaction survey conducted under current CEO, and the unanticipated benefits cuts that shocked staff and were poorly announced by CEO near end of 2014 drove staff to consider and then decide to unionize. Management fought, but passed very fast. Union certified last month. Listed as con because of what caused unionizing efforts and uncertainty around it. But, considered pro by majority of staff. Weak, uninformed, rubber stamp health commission.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Health Commission – Time to get serious and start asking questions of staff, providers, and one another or is short-term profit all that matters? Learn what is really going on throughout the organization and act. Stand up and represent the values and long-term interests of the health plan, doctors and other providers, members, the health of the local community, ect CEO and executive team – Thank your lucky... stars for size of last rate adjustment. Elsewise, wouldn't even have short-term profits to boast about. Time to stop blaming the past, current commissioners, former commissioners, the possible union, the now union, current providers, past providers, others, growth and change, stagnancy, conspiracy, ect. For two years staff has been counting on you for thoughtful, inspiring, dignified, leadership it can trust and a commitment to our values. Getting none of it Your "leadership" and values have failed for each of those years. Please get serious, get better, or get out. Leadership and values matter. Try to be open and honest with Commission.

    Show More
    Health Plan of San Joaquin2015-05-07
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Don't committ career suicide, stay far, far away from this place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time

    Pros

    Nice building, although it is next to a cemetery and the county jail. Prisoners get released every morning and try to ask you for money. Technology was decent. It wasn’t the greatest but it wasn’t the worst I’ve ever seen either. They experienced recent growth into a new county.

    Cons

    Weak, disorganized management that micromanage people – HPSJ is filled with weak managers that all have their fair share of poor performance, missed deadlines and failed projects. When upper management barks at these horrible results, it all rolls downhill in the form of micromanaging their staff. This micromanaging will make employees quit or end up getting fired for foolish reasons. Then, when the manager tries to... hire a replacement, they change the job description to look for more experienced and more educated employees because they don’t plan on training new hires. Whatever skills you walk in the door with as a new hire, are the skills you will leave with. Low pay, poor benefits – HPSJ is practically located in Stockton, CA. An area known for gang violence, prostitution, political corruption and bankruptcy. The high paying jobs are in the San Francisco Bay area, which is about an hour’s drive from Stockton. A highly talented person would have to be a fool to leave a high paying Bay Area job to come work for nearly 30% less pay and mediocre benefits. Clock out and continue working – My department manager makes us (the hourly staff) clock out at 5pm and continue to work off the clock until we finish our work. I can't what until the union gets in here so I can file a grievance. Employee Surveys – Every year, HR would try to make us fill out an employee satisfaction survey (that they claim is supposed to be confidential). Every year, the results would be so bad that the Executive Team would get embarrassed by the results and nothing ever happens. The new CEO even claimed that when she came onboard, there would be change if we spoke up and participated in the survey. So much fo that. If you don’t plan on fixing work issues, stop giving the survey! Manual processes – None of the processes are written down. When you start as a new hire, you bounce around from person to person learning different parts of your job. If you don’t write it down, you will struggle because everything is a manual process. The way you’re supposed to do your job here is committed to memory. Nothing is automated. You either learn it or get fired for not learning it. What’s sad is that when someone leaves, all that company knowledge goes right out the door with them. Overworked, heavy workload – At HPSJ, there are 500 things that are priority #1, but then only 3 things that are priority #2 and maybe 1 thing that is priority #3. No matter what department you work in, you are going to feel like a slave. In fact, on Halloween a few year ago, the whole department dressed up in prisoner costumes because that what it feels like. Working at HPSJ was like doing hard time in Alcatraz! Change in focus – The Executive Team changes the company’s focus so much that we never know the goal. First, we were going to be in the Exchange, then we weren’t. Then, we were going to get NCQA certified, then we weren’t. Then, we were going to expand to take on more members, then we weren’t. There used to be a company called Radio Shack that recently had this same problem. If HPSJ continues to change their focus four or five times in the same year, we will face the same fate. Corruption – There’s a whole lot of lying, cheating and stealing going on at this company. Turnover – It’s a revolving door at this company. You may be working on a project with someone in another department and the very next week, you are told that this person is no longer with the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Let the union in so they can show you how to treat your employees!

    Health Plan of San Joaquin2015-04-21
  10. "With Growth Comes Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in French Camp, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This was once a small Mom and Pop Company and the company is growing. In one year this Managed Medi-Cal HMO went from 190,000 to 300,000 enrolled. Great opportunity with people who want a foot in the door in to the managed health insurance business. The Health Plan supports and contributes to the local communities in the counties of San Joaquin and Stanislaus . Company likes to promote from within but hire... talent from outside to meet department needs. With this growth getting enough staff to man positions has been a challenge and management has had to request increase budget to fund positions. Seeks employees who have a strong work ethic and who focus on doing the job to state and inspections standards. Salaries are above industry standard for health insurance company. Company is working toward NCQA rating and inspection is schedule May 2015. Most employees work 8-5 work day. Management and salaried employees tend to work more hours. Current Benefits for time off: 2 weeks vacation, sick time, holidays, float holidays, 3 days CEU. Company matches 401k higher they industry standard.

    Show More

    Cons

    With growth, there is less personnel interactions between CEO and Executive Team but Directors and Managers are available to support and assist staff in focusing on corporate goals. Due to previous executive management before current executive staff, employees where not held to a high standard and check and balances where not established. Now checks and balances are in place for workload and quality of end product... and holding staff accountable to state and inspection standards. With the Plan seeking NCQA rating, the lack of enough manning, staff are struggling to meet timelines set forth by inspection standards. Staff are feeling the strain. Lack of established individual department published orientation program to assure staff are trained to company standard is lacking. Due to continued sign on of insured individuals, workload does not allow for new staff members to have one-on-one training. Most new employees only get at best 3 days of training to learn the job. Fellow staff and supervisors are available to answer questions and give direction as they arise. Also, fellow team members who frequently call in sick cause individual workload to soar and supervisors to struggle to meet productivity levels. The employment package when hired was very generous: 2 weeks vacation, 80 hours admin, and sick time, holidays and float holidays. With this generous time off packages supervisors and managers struggled with manning and staff to complete daily workload. As 1 July 2014, this benefit package was reworked and the average worker lost 12 days, executive staff lost more. Since this date employees who have been with the company a number of years are unhappy and have started engaging in talks with establishing a Union at the health plan.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Establish longer on boarding and orientation timeline. Establish a staff development department to assure training is completed and assist managers and supervisors to develop quality training core documents. Have corporate analyst make accurate estimation of company growth so staff ratios can be funded appropriately. Hold once a month informal company forum to allow employees to discuss concerns. Before making... any changes to company benefits have employees be part of the working group to get buy-in. Get back to basics in the monthly all staff meetings - show statistics and how the budget is being met. What are the projected projects going forward, and how successful or not past projects where.

    Show More
    Health Plan of San Joaquin2015-01-31
Found 73 reviews