KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Health Plan of San Joaquin

Is this your company?

Health Plan of San Joaquin

Add a Review

Health Plan of San Joaquin Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated May 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 of over 87 reviews

3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Health Plan of San Joaquin CEO Amy Shin
Amy Shin
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "people are great(in 4 reviews)

  • "Friendly work environment and employees(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Executive Team lives in a bubble(in 11 reviews)

  • "Stay away as the work environment is very unprofessional though they have values nut no one abides by them(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work environment"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Excellent place to work

      May 17, 2020 - Senior Information Security Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The leadership team has put tremendous effort into creating a work environment the respect staff, and provides an environment that promotes creativity, responsibility and supports open communication. HPSJ is one of the best places I have worked, and recommend the organization to anyone.

      Cons

      No cons, the place is great

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      I wish I could tell you it was better

      Mar 7, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Organization was originally founded for a good reason. Many of us still believe in the organization, its mission, and its potential if it were to have the right leadership.

      Cons

      CEO is her own biggest fan and has great faith in her infallibility in spite of the evidence. An all- star at the blame game. Rules/manages by fear and intimidation. CEO's toxic approach to work and the workplace caused staff to unionize. Nearly four years later and the work environment is still horrible and Commission still doesn't care. Anyone here that dares to speak up is helped to the door sooner than later. To survive we we just keep our heads down and try not to be noticed. Too common to see new employees to regret taking the job within a couple months. So much turnover makes it hard to do my job.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Okay place....

      Nov 6, 2018 - UM/MM in French Camp, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are alot of employees, who are living and working to uphold the company's mission and values. Friendly work environment and employees.

      Cons

      Departments lacking communication. Big issue with management team leading as a leader thus reason for high turnover.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      I have never worked in a place with worse leadership and neither have you

      Jun 12, 2016 -  in French Camp, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Great opportunity to learn how not to lead or behave in work or personal life. Get to observe and learn from watching horrible leadership and behavior from "leaders' creating a toxic culture and environment. Will observe highly paid unprofessional self-serving people and their lackeys bully, disrespect, blame, intimidate, always go for the win-lose outcome, and behave like a tin-pot dictator. 2. With incredible amount of staff turnover, get to meet lots of new people if only for a few days.

      Cons

      Blaming and bullying is what CEO and her lackeys do best. Result is a awful work environment. Employees are afraid, can’t perform near their best, learning doesn’t take place, and risk and innovation don’t happen. But crazy levels of staff turnover, litigation, severance pay , stress leave, and distrust among staff do. HPSJ can’t attract or retain executive and other staff motivated by anything other than dollars. Mission has become irrelevant. Recruiting people with no awareness of or connection to community or a local public health plan. Local plan is local no more. Commission has forgot whose boss or is afraid to lead. Chair and the rest see their responsibility as approving/agreeing with whatever CEO does, seeks and says. No due diligence or accountability for this tax-payer funded agency. And no transparency. Board and its individual members is building a legacy to be ashamed of.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Sad sad situation

      Mar 27, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Was a home grown, innovative, community focused, local business success story where people were proud to work until three years ago.

      Cons

      Amy Shin's been major con since starting as CEO three years ago. Intentionally destroyed a healthy, vibrant, productive workplace through special leadership recipe of equal parts self-interest above all else, bullying, intimidation, ignoring, and disrespecting. Topped that with a helping of total disregard for communities of San Joaquin and Stanislaus. Shin constantly blabbers about why she loves HPSJ. Talk about loving something to death!!! Shin's self-declared love brought HPSJ a toxic work environment. Her special love also brought HPSJ the costs of paying off people being fired, costs of severance packages, costs of defending litigation, costs of recruiting and onboarding staff to replace the 200 + or - who have left since Shin started, cost of lost expertise and knowledge and lost relationships in the community, cost of relocation assistance for executives and others since nobody local wants to work for HPSJ no more, costs of absenteeism and lost productiveness, cost of expensive consultants, and now the cost of negotiator and hundreds of hours of staff time spent on negotiations with union that Shin caused to form because of the terrible work environment she carefully constructed in the first place. With a lover like that, who needs enemies?

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Nightmare on Health Plan of San Joaquin Street

      Sep 21, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      In spite of clueless leadership, still some good skilled people hanging on.

      Cons

      CEO and her minions changed a good place to work into a terrible place to work in two years. Tries to lead through intimidation and blame and shame. Never been around so many scared, down, fearfull, unhappy people on a job. CEO and minions don't have no clue how to lead even in time of strong finances. No vision, no values, and no sense. Show no interest in involving, respecting, listening to or developing staff already here. And don't care about our community at all. Has extinguished all enthusiasm for work. Staff turnover a big bad problem all over. 100 employees have chose to leave the company since CEO started two years ago and that number is getting bigger every week. Losing good skilled people from every level and every department. Some even leave without other jobs. And some within a few days of starting. Just can't take the toxic work environment. And another 30 been fired. And this place only 300 has employees. Stress related absences and behaviors all over the place.

      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Why I left HPSJ

      Feb 1, 2016 - Former Employee in French Camp, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some good people trying to do best in really difficult situation.

      Cons

      More than 2 years of horrible work environment under a brutal self-centered CEO and scared executive team. CEO’s got no interest in corporate values. Don’t respect or value employees or community. Unhappiest, most stressed out, unproductive workplace I ever worked at in my life. Brain drain from everybody leaving took away knowledge and experience. Replacements allmost never as good as those that left or fired for whatever reason. Made really tough to do a good job. Something unusual going on? The only public health plan in the state to not post meeting materials and minutes.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Some areas good, some need an overhaul

      Aug 5, 2014 - Finance in French Camp, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, open door policy, casual work environment. Salaries are decent as well but the location is terrible.

      Cons

      Certain departments are so incredibly dysfunctional and staffed with incompetent people --it's a wonder that they got hired. Consider cleaning house. They had a large embezzlement crime there a few years ago so they went from totally lax standards of oversight to incredibly strict to the point that employees are petrified to stick their necks out for fear of doing the wrong thing. No one will take responsibility for anything.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      The worst place I've EVER WORKED for. I've worked in fast food places with better environments than this.

      Jul 15, 2016 - Accountant in French Camp, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I can't think of a single thing that I'd call a pro for HPSJ. Maybe the only thing I can think of is the pay was good and the benefits. Nothing else is even close to a pro.

      Cons

      Where do I start? The crappy work environment, the micro management of breaks and lunches and clock in and clock outs, the lack of organization, the non-exist of any training, being held accountable for duties you've never been trained for, the lack of Standard Operating procedures, the threats and bullying that happens on a daily basis, the playing favorites to certain employees, being picked on and berated, constantly being pulled in to a meeting addressing the same issue that you've asked for help with daily, the snottiness of long term employees in your department that with hold information and do not want to help train you on something they do but want to hand over to you. Mangers and supervisors not being available to help mentor and train even when you let them know you are struggling. Being told not to take your breaks and told to eat your lunch at your desk. Asking questions but made to feel stupid, being told you have to stay or come in on weekends, the language disconnect from my supervisor that replaced the actual answer with "just do that and thing it". I didn't make it to my probation because I was told my performance wasn't up to par however I had never officially been trained in anything and the item I was working on was given to me with no guidance, no instructions, and I was constantly reminded if I couldn't finish it I would be let go, yet there was no standard operating procedure and no one else including long term employees could reconcile it either. No one sat down with me and went through the step by step process of what my duties were.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Brutal, bumbling, blunders of a tenderfoot CEO who isn't cutting the mustard.

      Jun 29, 2015 -  in French Camp, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice walking trails right outside French Camp office. Gives staff a place to escape from horrible, hopeless, harmful work environment spawned by CEO.

      Cons

      Amy Shin, the CEO, is self-centered, insecure, unprofessional, destructive and in way over her head in a job she wasn't qualified for in a community she couldn’t care less about. Not a leader. But, she sees herself as ruler and we as her subjects. Staff meetings are her embarrassing monthly self-tributes. The Health Commission is unprepared, unqualified, uninterested, and unable to lead a local health plan. It has delegated all of its governance and decision-making responsibilities to Amy and given her its permanent thumbs-up. Commission is now acting as if is afraid Amy Shin will fire, publicly humiliate, outsource, or abuse them if they ask questions or disagree with her. Sure not looking out for the community, the providers, the employees, the members, or the taxpayers. Commission meetings are an embarrassment. If not so sad, would be worth watching simply for the comedy of errors and ineptitude. Amy’s ongoing reign of terror supported by the Commission’s reign of error has resulted in a tyrannical, toxic work environment with startling staff turnover and now a union. Amy has driven the health plan into crisis and dysfunction at every level, but Commission blissfully ignores/is unaware of this massive crisis due to nine months of rate-relief generated income and Amy’s willingness to evade responsibility for crisis she has caused by throwing blame at everything and everyone else everyday.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Health Plan of San Joaquin Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Health Plan of San Joaquin? Share Your Experiences

    Health Plan of San Joaquin logo
    or