Health Plan of San Joaquin "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Health Plan of San Joaquin Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Jul 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
31%
Recommend to a Friend
21%
Approve of CEO
Health Plan of San Joaquin CEO Amy Shin
Amy Shin
20 Ratings
Pros
  • "Benefits are great - Cal Pers, a fair amount of vacations, company is open to advancement within(in 4 reviews)

  • "Good retirement benefits if can stay long enough to vest and/or they aren't cut(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Executive Team lives in a bubble(in 11 reviews)

  • "Stay away as the work environment is very unprofessional though they have values nut no one abides by them(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "I wish I could tell you it was better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Organization was originally founded for a good reason. Many of us still believe in the organization, its mission, and its potential if it were to have the right leadership.

    Cons

    CEO is her own biggest fan and has great faith in her infallibility in spite of the evidence. An all- star at the blame game. Rules/manages by fear and intimidation. CEO's toxic approach to work and the workplace caused staff to unionize. Nearly four years later and the work environment is still horrible and Commission still doesn't care. Anyone here that dares to speak up is helped to the door sooner than... later. To survive we we just keep our heads down and try not to be noticed. Too common to see new employees to regret taking the job within a couple months. So much turnover makes it hard to do my job.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Ask yourself "Why should I care why the CEO loves HPSJ?" When done with that question ask yourself "What possible reason is there for the CEO that is singularly responsible for a toxic workplace telling us why she loves HPSJ at every staff meeting?" And then consider the impact that this ongoing combination of toxic and patronizing behavior continues to have on individual employees and the entire organization.

    Health Plan of San Joaquin2019-03-08
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Okay place...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - UM/MM in French Camp, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are alot of employees, who are living and working to uphold the company's mission and values. Friendly work environment and employees.

    Cons

    Departments lacking communication. Big issue with management team leading as a leader thus reason for high turnover.

    Advice to Management

    Lead by example and listen to your employees, who are performing the daily tasks and work.

    Health Plan of San Joaquin2018-11-07
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time

    Pros

    The benefits are good and competitive with the area but the amount of stress still not worth it

    Cons

    Stay away as the work environment is very unprofessional though they have values nut no one abides by them. They management is all about making money and there is a large turnover for employees.

    Advice to Management

    Employees are asset. Show some respect. Listen to them.

    Health Plan of San Joaquin2018-01-25
  4. Helpful (8)

    "The worst place I've EVER WORKED for. I've worked in fast food places with better environments than this."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in French Camp, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Health Plan of San Joaquin full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I can't think of a single thing that I'd call a pro for HPSJ. Maybe the only thing I can think of is the pay was good and the benefits. Nothing else is even close to a pro.

    Cons

    Where do I start? The crappy work environment, the micro management of breaks and lunches and clock in and clock outs, the lack of organization, the non-exist of any training, being held accountable for duties you've never been trained for, the lack of Standard Operating procedures, the threats and bullying that happens on a daily basis, the playing favorites to certain employees, being picked on and berated,... constantly being pulled in to a meeting addressing the same issue that you've asked for help with daily, the snottiness of long term employees in your department that with hold information and do not want to help train you on something they do but want to hand over to you. Mangers and supervisors not being available to help mentor and train even when you let them know you are struggling. Being told not to take your breaks and told to eat your lunch at your desk. Asking questions but made to feel stupid, being told you have to stay or come in on weekends, the language disconnect from my supervisor that replaced the actual answer with "just do that and thing it". I didn't make it to my probation because I was told my performance wasn't up to par however I had never officially been trained in anything and the item I was working on was given to me with no guidance, no instructions, and I was constantly reminded if I couldn't finish it I would be let go, yet there was no standard operating procedure and no one else including long term employees could reconcile it either. No one sat down with me and went through the step by step process of what my duties were.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Provide the training that a "new" employee needs. Don't pawn them off or put them off because you need to attend a 100 meetings. Provide strong back ground in what's expected and give the items to the employee that you stated were their responsibility. Don't put new employees off time and time again and then expect them to know what they are doing. Training, training, training.....stop playing favorites, speak... clearly and give accurate, clear cut instructions and procedures for the duty you are giving them. You know the way you are supposed to train anyone new to the company.

    Show More
    Health Plan of San Joaquin2016-07-15
  5. Helpful (8)

    "I have never worked in a place with worse leadership and neither have you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in French Camp, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Health Plan of San Joaquin

    Pros

    1. Great opportunity to learn how not to lead or behave in work or personal life. Get to observe and learn from watching horrible leadership and behavior from "leaders' creating a toxic culture and environment. Will observe highly paid unprofessional self-serving people and their lackeys bully, disrespect, blame, intimidate, always go for the win-lose outcome, and behave like a tin-pot dictator. 2. With... incredible amount of staff turnover, get to meet lots of new people if only for a few days.

    Show More

    Cons

    Blaming and bullying is what CEO and her lackeys do best. Result is a awful work environment. Employees are afraid, can’t perform near their best, learning doesn’t take place, and risk and innovation don’t happen. But crazy levels of staff turnover, litigation, severance pay , stress leave, and distrust among staff do. HPSJ can’t attract or retain executive and other staff motivated by anything other than... dollars. Mission has become irrelevant. Recruiting people with no awareness of or connection to community or a local public health plan. Local plan is local no more. Commission has forgot whose boss or is afraid to lead. Chair and the rest see their responsibility as approving/agreeing with whatever CEO does, seeks and says. No due diligence or accountability for this tax-payer funded agency. And no transparency. Board and its individual members is building a legacy to be ashamed of.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Commission needs to step up,wake up, and take charge.

    Health Plan of San Joaquin2016-06-13
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Sad sad situation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Health Plan of San Joaquin

    Pros

    Was a home grown, innovative, community focused, local business success story where people were proud to work until three years ago.

    Cons

    Amy Shin's been major con since starting as CEO three years ago. Intentionally destroyed a healthy, vibrant, productive workplace through special leadership recipe of equal parts self-interest above all else, bullying, intimidation, ignoring, and disrespecting. Topped that with a helping of total disregard for communities of San Joaquin and Stanislaus. Shin constantly blabbers about why she loves HPSJ. Talk... about loving something to death!!! Shin's self-declared love brought HPSJ a toxic work environment. Her special love also brought HPSJ the costs of paying off people being fired, costs of severance packages, costs of defending litigation, costs of recruiting and onboarding staff to replace the 200 + or - who have left since Shin started, cost of lost expertise and knowledge and lost relationships in the community, cost of relocation assistance for executives and others since nobody local wants to work for HPSJ no more, costs of absenteeism and lost productiveness, cost of expensive consultants, and now the cost of negotiator and hundreds of hours of staff time spent on negotiations with union that Shin caused to form because of the terrible work environment she carefully constructed in the first place. With a lover like that, who needs enemies?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Commissioners please take your responsibilities seriously. Be independent, listen, question, and be wise. Future of an organization that has meant so much to so many depends on you.

    Health Plan of San Joaquin2016-03-27
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Welcome to psychopathic, toxic leadership without a clue"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in French Camp, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Health Plan of San Joaquin

    Pros

    Need to go back nearly three years to remember the pros. Seems like forever ago, but used to be a great place to work with a trusted, values-driven leader with integrity.

    Cons

    Sad seeing place I used to love working at be changed into something far less than that by a leader without a clue, her executive team without a spine, and a commission without a care. Is now a terrible work environment. Leadership doesn't take its mission or values serious. No integrity. Doesn't value, involve, or respect employees. Leadership now views community as a marketing target and a place to drive... away from as quickly as possible at the end of the day. With Amy Shin in charge, pretty much every day at HPSJ is a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day. And she loves it. We know. Because she religiously tells us so at every staff meeting.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    To the Commission - Everyone makes mistakes. Some of the mistakes are more significant than others. Like when you hire a really bad CEO that creates a toxic work environment and harms a company's ability to compete in the marketplace in the future and reward her for her effort. No one likes to admit when they’ve made a really big mistake, but it is very important to learn from them and not compound them. It’s... not the mistake that generally breaks you, it’s how you act afterward. So while, Amy is quickly driving the organization into the past tense, the Commission can show it has learned something from its blunder and stop making things far worse by surrendering all authority to her and rewarding her for her ineptitude. Admit your mistakes and quit compounding them. Have higher expectations from highly paid leadership than this garbage fire and step up and change things. It is possible to do far better. In fact it might be nearly impossible to do worse.

    Show More
    Health Plan of San Joaquin2016-03-02
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Why I left HPSJ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee in French Camp, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Health Plan of San Joaquin for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some good people trying to do best in really difficult situation.

    Cons

    More than 2 years of horrible work environment under a brutal self-centered CEO and scared executive team. CEO’s got no interest in corporate values. Don’t respect or value employees or community. Unhappiest, most stressed out, unproductive workplace I ever worked at in my life. Brain drain from everybody leaving took away knowledge and experience. Replacements allmost never as good as those that left or fired... for whatever reason. Made really tough to do a good job. Something unusual going on? The only public health plan in the state to not post meeting materials and minutes.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look at the results from employee dissatisfaction survey that HR conducted and ignored in 2015 and know things not getting better. Ask the 130+ employees leaving since CEO started in 2013 what's up. Time to stop blaming the victims. Just ignoring the problem and giving it a contract extension and big fat raise ain't a solution to anything.

    Health Plan of San Joaquin2016-02-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Nightmare on Health Plan of San Joaquin Street"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Health Plan of San Joaquin

    Pros

    In spite of clueless leadership, still some good skilled people hanging on.

    Cons

    CEO and her minions changed a good place to work into a terrible place to work in two years. Tries to lead through intimidation and blame and shame. Never been around so many scared, down, fearfull, unhappy people on a job. CEO and minions don't have no clue how to lead even in time of strong finances. No vision, no values, and no sense. Show no interest in involving, respecting, listening to or developing... staff already here. And don't care about our community at all. Has extinguished all enthusiasm for work. Staff turnover a big bad problem all over. 100 employees have chose to leave the company since CEO started two years ago and that number is getting bigger every week. Losing good skilled people from every level and every department. Some even leave without other jobs. And some within a few days of starting. Just can't take the toxic work environment. And another 30 been fired. And this place only 300 has employees. Stress related absences and behaviors all over the place.

    Show More
    Health Plan of San Joaquin2015-09-22
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Brutal, bumbling, blunders of a tenderfoot CEO who isn't cutting the mustard."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in French Camp, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Health Plan of San Joaquin for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice walking trails right outside French Camp office. Gives staff a place to escape from horrible, hopeless, harmful work environment spawned by CEO.

    Cons

    Amy Shin, the CEO, is self-centered, insecure, unprofessional, destructive and in way over her head in a job she wasn't qualified for in a community she couldn’t care less about. Not a leader. But, she sees herself as ruler and we as her subjects. Staff meetings are her embarrassing monthly self-tributes. The Health Commission is unprepared, unqualified, uninterested, and unable to lead a local health plan. ... It has delegated all of its governance and decision-making responsibilities to Amy and given her its permanent thumbs-up. Commission is now acting as if is afraid Amy Shin will fire, publicly humiliate, outsource, or abuse them if they ask questions or disagree with her. Sure not looking out for the community, the providers, the employees, the members, or the taxpayers. Commission meetings are an embarrassment. If not so sad, would be worth watching simply for the comedy of errors and ineptitude. Amy’s ongoing reign of terror supported by the Commission’s reign of error has resulted in a tyrannical, toxic work environment with startling staff turnover and now a union. Amy has driven the health plan into crisis and dysfunction at every level, but Commission blissfully ignores/is unaware of this massive crisis due to nine months of rate-relief generated income and Amy’s willingness to evade responsibility for crisis she has caused by throwing blame at everything and everyone else everyday.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent. Do what other public agencies (San Joaquin County for example) do and post all public commission materials including minutes on website for easy access. Staff, providers, and general public should be able to see what is being presented at public meetings and how commission is acting at this public agency. Require that CEO of local health plan care enough about its service area to live in it. ... May prevent risk of something crazy like CEO destroying local relationships being built up over years and seeking to merge HPSJ with a plan closer to CEO's bay area home for no apparent reasons other than to reduce commute time and limit time in service area.

    Show More
    Health Plan of San Joaquin2015-06-30
Found 73 reviews